Customer Reviews for

Fake Boyfriend

Average Rating 4.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Finding the Perfect Boyfriend...

I'd been eyeing this book for quite some time before I actually read it. I knew it'd be good (Kate Brian is AMAZING), but I had been judging this book by its cover- something I don't usually do. I kept thinking how DUMB the cover looked, and that it'd be about a girl ...
I'd been eyeing this book for quite some time before I actually read it. I knew it'd be good (Kate Brian is AMAZING), but I had been judging this book by its cover- something I don't usually do. I kept thinking how DUMB the cover looked, and that it'd be about a girl stalking a guy or something totally crazy like that. While waiting for some other book to come out, I decided to just buy it. I'm glad I did! It wasn't like anything I've ever read before, and I liked that. This book was unpredictable, which means a lot to me. I get so SICK of predicting books' endings! This is an awesome book, and you won't expect anything that happens while two best friends try to create the perfect boyfriend for their other best friend!

posted by vgsweetpea427 on May 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

i give it 2 stars

Kate Brian really underdid herself with Fake Boyfriend, i've read her Privilege series and its way better..On the other hand, this book really does capture the inside world of young highshcool students and all the drama that really goes on between those halls.Her charac...
Kate Brian really underdid herself with Fake Boyfriend, i've read her Privilege series and its way better..On the other hand, this book really does capture the inside world of young highshcool students and all the drama that really goes on between those halls.Her characters are funny, honest and smart, some not so much, but thats shows how life is in high school...Not really readover and over material, but something i enjoyed for the moment, and probably wont pick it back up ever again...

posted by Black_or_Barrons on December 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    Everything goes perfectly for Isabelle Hunter. It always has. Until the day her on-again/off-again boyfriend, Shawn "Sluttig" Littig, breaks up with her. And just a few months away from her prom. Isabelle has been dreaming of the prom for years. She's so obsessed with the prom she's created a notebook that has every last detail of the dream night planned out. <BR/><BR/>Her friends Lane and Vivi have never approved of Shawn and decide to do whatever they can to keep him out of Isabelle's life permanently. They hatch a plan to create a fake boy on MySpace to divert Isabelle's thoughts from Shawn. Isabelle shows interest in the fictitious Brandon, and so Vivi convinces her younger brother, Marshall, to start chatting with Isabelle on-line. <BR/><BR/>Soon Isabelle thinks Brandon would be ideal to go to the prom with. The only problem is she doesn't know he doesn't exist! So Vivi and Lane have to come up with a real guy, and quick! The two girls go everywhere to meet the right guy, but to no avail. Only after joining Vivi's mom for some play auditions do they spy the perfect guy, Jonathan. After much coercing, they get Jonathan to join forces with them to be the "real" Brandon. The only catch is that soon Jonathan is showing interest in someone else. <BR/><BR/>Of course the reader can figure out that there are going to be complications with the story. Only the twists aren't what one would expect! Isabelle thinks about taking Shawn back, Vivi gets confused when her younger brother starts to get cool, Vivi is crushing on someone she shouldn't, and Lane can't get the nerve to tell her friend Curtis she wants to be more than friends. <BR/><BR/>FAKE BOYFRIEND is another fun read by Ms. Brian. She has hit on another popular topic, using MySpace as the basis for creating a mysterious new boyfriend. The story will not disappoint current fans of Ms. Brian, and should create new ones at the same time!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    MUST READ!!! (:

    The book is about three teenagers who are best friends who help each other out through a tough time. Its a believable plot that could happen to any high school student. the story starts off with two teenage girls named Lane and Vivi who are done with their best friend Isabelle's boyfriend Shawn. Shawn is the only person who can change a smart, confident and arrogant girl to a complete mess. But when Shawn gets caught cheating on Isabelle and dumps her just months before prom, that is the last straw for Lane and Vivi they are done with watching their best friend get heart broken over the same guy. Lane and Vivi decided to make a fake MySpace account for a guy under the name "Brandon", the perfect guy for Isabelle to forget about Shawn. "Fake Boyfriend" is a must read for all high school girls. Its a book filled with drama and sass. I really enjoyed the style the writer choose to write the book in, it made me feel like she was a teen watching this all take place before her eyes. It was very easy for me to believe that the characters were real because they seemed like your everyday teenagers; girls who get upset over their boyfriend and their best friends helping them out and then theirs the jerk who could care less about their girlfriends. The protagonist is the book "fake boyfriend" are Isabelle, Lane and Vivi,three best friends who stick by each others side the whole story and the antagonist in the book is Shawn, Isabelle's ex-boyfriend who cheats on her. The events in the story are very believable because it can happen to any teenager and it has happened before. Its a very inspirational book about love, drama, betrayal, friendship and heart break. The exposition of the book start off rather well, it had me hooked after the second page. while the rising action was slow and a little boring, once the climax came i couldn't put the book down. I really liked that the resolution was completely different then i thought it would be, it was astonishing how i thought she was going to fall for one guy but it turns out to be someone completely different. A few parts in the book i figured were going to happen just like the part of Lane and Vivi getting caught by Isabelle about the fake MySpace account. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys reading about drama, love or friendship. "Fake Boyfriend" was a really good book i enjoyed reading it, its a very good book i would recommend it over many other book about drama and love.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    Best book i've read in a ehile

    This was definately one of the best books i have read in a while! Couldn't put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Cool.

    I want a fake bf. Jk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    31 comments

    How pathetic. I mean kate brian is the author of the private and privelege series and she only gets 31 friggen comments. Thank you for nothing on behalf of kate brian

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    To march 30 ( coincidence my bday is the 29th )

    Ur so right. But its a little better dontcha think?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    $8.99

    This is an expesive boy and i am the 24th reviewer. Thats really sad. :'( MAKE THIS BOOK CHEEPER!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    This is awsome

    I couldnt put the book down it was sooooooooooooo great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Over five stars

    This is up in my top 5 faves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Amazingly Great

    Amazing and Sweet and Kind and All About FRIENDSHIP.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Mother of 4

    The cover does look stupid but its good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    VERY INTERESTING!!!!

    I got this book as a present and my sisters best friend never fails on books for me.....anywas this book was very interesting and your always wanting to find out how the plan works out....and the ending will shock you!! Would recomend to anyone!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    good book for teens

    My favorite chapter in the book Fake Boyfriend is chapter 20. It's my favorite chapter because there is a lot of drama and jealously. In the chapter, "Brandon" takes Izzy to the Prom so that she wouldn't go with her ex boyfriend. Izzy's friend, Vivi is jealous because she has a crush on Brandon also, but Izzy doesn't know that Brandon is fake, he is really a guy named Jonathon that's pretending to be her dream boy so that she wont go to prom with her ex boyfriend. The thing I really enjoyed about the book is that she made it seem like a real life situation. There was not anything that the author did that I didn't enjoy. Overall I really enjoyed this book. I think that this book is most appropriate for young adults because it's full of drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    WOW!!

    I loved this book!! i recommend kids to read this book! awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2008

    Wow

    Okay I just bought this book today and I also just got done reading it. Absolutly amazing! It kinda has a slow pick up at first but that is needed to get to know the characters. There are twist you don't even expect and you don't want the story to end. All I could say when it was over was Oh my God! over and over because it left me speechless..which is very hard to do! It is a must read for all looking for some romance!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    The best book ever

    I loved this book. I usually cant find books that keep me want to turn the page more and more but this book hit the spot. Fake boyfirend is very relateable and it was very easy for me to actually get into the book which was great. Great book i encourage everyone to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    BEST BOOK EVER! :

    this book was the best book wver. there wasnt a dull moment. and those are the types of books i like! trust me this book will make you want to read and read and read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    ~ Very Funny ~

    this book is amazing.... as soon i heard Starbucks in the 1st few pages... i knew this book was interresting to read......the characters in fake boyfriend are very likable & real

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    Fake Boyfreind

    I loved this book it was awesome!!! Most would like!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3