Customer Reviews for

Faking 19

Average Rating 4
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Amber Gibson for TeensReadToo.com

Alyson Noël took me for a joyride in FAKING 19 into the oh-so-fabulous, wild party life of two beautiful high school seniors in SoCal. At first glance, Alex may seem like she has it all. She's pretty, smart, and her best friend is the most popular girl at school, M. But...
Alyson Noël took me for a joyride in FAKING 19 into the oh-so-fabulous, wild party life of two beautiful high school seniors in SoCal. At first glance, Alex may seem like she has it all. She's pretty, smart, and her best friend is the most popular girl at school, M. But the truth is, Alex has some pretty hefty family problems and she's undergoing a major identity crisis. Oh, and on top of all that, she's failing all of her classes and might not graduate from high school, never mind college.

Alex wasn't always this way. Freshman and sophomore years, she was on top of her game, a straight-A honors student. Those were her glory years. Now, she'd much rather hit the L.A. club scene with M every night instead of worrying about something trivial like her grades. It doesn't matter anyway; her dad won't pay for her to go to college, so what's the point?

One day, when Alex and M are out on the town, they meet a couple of cute, older British guys. Connor and Trevor are attractive and charming, and the girls immediately fall for them. Connor owns a record label and is filthy rich. Alex thinks that he just might be her ticket out of her dull life, and then she won't even need that college education her counselor so desperately wants her to achieve.

But when everything doesn't go exactly as Alex fantasizes, she realizes that the only person she can count on is herself. Ultimately, Alex discovers that there's more to life than who's wearing the prettiest dress or who snags the hottest guy.

Even though this book is about gorgeous teenage girls going clubbing in L.A., Alyson Noël still manages to create characters that I can identify with. Underneath the glamorous exterior, Alex is just another girl struggling to get through her high school years. Along the way, she learns an invaluable rule of life: Success is a gift that you give to yourself.

posted by TeensReadToo on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

interesting

it was ok but there was some graphic sexual parts in this book. not for kids under 12

posted by 5872861 on March 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Amber Gibson for TeensReadToo.com

    Alyson Noël took me for a joyride in FAKING 19 into the oh-so-fabulous, wild party life of two beautiful high school seniors in SoCal. At first glance, Alex may seem like she has it all. She's pretty, smart, and her best friend is the most popular girl at school, M. But the truth is, Alex has some pretty hefty family problems and she's undergoing a major identity crisis. Oh, and on top of all that, she's failing all of her classes and might not graduate from high school, never mind college. <BR/><BR/>Alex wasn't always this way. Freshman and sophomore years, she was on top of her game, a straight-A honors student. Those were her glory years. Now, she'd much rather hit the L.A. club scene with M every night instead of worrying about something trivial like her grades. It doesn't matter anyway; her dad won't pay for her to go to college, so what's the point? <BR/><BR/>One day, when Alex and M are out on the town, they meet a couple of cute, older British guys. Connor and Trevor are attractive and charming, and the girls immediately fall for them. Connor owns a record label and is filthy rich. Alex thinks that he just might be her ticket out of her dull life, and then she won't even need that college education her counselor so desperately wants her to achieve. <BR/><BR/>But when everything doesn't go exactly as Alex fantasizes, she realizes that the only person she can count on is herself. Ultimately, Alex discovers that there's more to life than who's wearing the prettiest dress or who snags the hottest guy. <BR/><BR/>Even though this book is about gorgeous teenage girls going clubbing in L.A., Alyson Noël still manages to create characters that I can identify with. Underneath the glamorous exterior, Alex is just another girl struggling to get through her high school years. Along the way, she learns an invaluable rule of life: Success is a gift that you give to yourself.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    interesting

    it was ok but there was some graphic sexual parts in this book. not for kids under 12

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2005

    I really loved this book

    I thought this book was really great. The story was good and the characters were real and dealt with real issues. Once I started reading it, I couldn¿t put it down. I would highly recommend it.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Terrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I SO would not recomend this book because it is just about sex drugs and drinking. I dont think the author was thinking about younger people that would like it. I am sorry i chose this book.( i am 12) my parents were mad i was reading this book because of the things it said. Do not read this book!!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2005

    Awesome!

    This book was excellent! One of the few books I've started and read until the end, without putting it down! This book is so involved, and I could really relate to Alex, the main character. This is an excellent book for a gift, or for yourself! Read it! It's wonderful! The characters don't go to parties you think are too crazy to be made-up, yet they still have tons of fun, I can't type too much or I'll give you the whole story line! This is an excellent book. I totally recommend it!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    Faking 19 review

    Faking 19 was a pretty good book. It had realistic characters, realistic issues and solutions, and had great life lessons.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    Fantastic young adult book

    Ms. Noel has an incredible way of bringing her characters to life. I swear I was listening in on real conversations, and the story was so fast-paced and entertaining. I can't wait for her next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Taught me a lessen there

    This book is the solid truth. The drugs and the fights were bad for her best friend. Her grades and her future were at risk. This book was amazing and real. A book that everyone NEEDS to read. And when im in trouble or i find a problem hard to solve... i will remember that 'success is a gift you give to yourself.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Loved it!

    For this review I'm goimg to do a bit of a pros amd cons thing. So I'll start with pros. First this book is filled eith extreamly hot guys. How do I know? Read the book. Second, it's one of those books where you can say 'What would I do?' I stayed up until like Midnight reading this. There's also parts in the book where it oes one of those things wherenit goes off on it's own. Like 'I gotta plam but you jave to read the next chapter to find out!' I'll go to cons now. It's a bit inapropriate at times. So I'm going to say it's not for children under 13 unless they're mature and can handle it like myself. I would recomend it. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Faking 19 was a fluffy enjoyable contemporary for the most part.

    Faking 19 was a fluffy enjoyable contemporary for the most part. You've got two seventeen year old girls who hit the clubbing scene and pretend they are nineteen. The two girls, who are best friends, are total opposites. We've got the protagonist, Alex. Rewinding a couple of years back, she was the perfect student. Extracurricular activities, an A student, and just responsible. However, now? she's the opposite. She doesn't care about school, attending classes, bothering to submit her assignments and just as unmotivated as one can get. The other best friend M, is the A student that Alex used to be, on the fastback to princeton. Another difference is that Alex's parents got a divorce and her mom is struggling to make ends meet financially while M is a 90210 rich kid. I really didn't like their friendship; the opening scene shows Alex forgetting to write an important paper for a class and promising herself to write it when she gets back home, now M, who submitted the paper, asks Alex to go out, and Alex tells her she has to write the paper. M, being the good friend she is, tells her to write it after she comes back home! however Alex doesn't end up writing it and keeps on promising herself everyday for the next week!. Does anyone find this annoying? Shouldn't M guide her and motivate her and help her since she want's whats best for Alex? I just felt M was unbelievably selfish while Alex was unbelievably annoying.

    However, ignoring that sorry excuse of a friendship I found the novel to be a cute contemporary and while I had issues with the absentee father and, I did like how Alex's mother realized how her daughter was sinking fast. Also, Alex learned a few lessons the hard way, by dating a 23 year old guy (while pretending she's 19) and then her lie backfires on her. Also, I am glad she realized her friendship needed some mending or a makeover or something. All in all, I liked how Alex figured things on her own and did not have a sudden realization in the last 10 pages. It was a pretty realistic fiction of a girl who lost her way and motivation and dreams. I do recommend it to any realistic fiction lover, but not to the younger YA population.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Freaking Amazing!

    Dude.. I wish this book were a like 600 pages! I read it in like 5 hours and was sooo upset because the wonderful imagination just ended quickly :( but GREAT BOOK! Get it! I love the character shes funny and reminds me of Olive off of Easy A. Haha get the dang book you'll love it :p

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great Book!

    This book was really good. Just like the others I couldn't put it down either. It does have a lot of sex, drinking, and drugs but that is what makes it relatable. I recommend this book for 13 and older.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorites!:)

    I loved this book. It's really funny and kept me reading. I finished this in one night, that's how good this is! Alyson Noel is a very talented author and she brings her characters to life and made me laugh throughout the book! I also thought that the book had a excellent story inside!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    Great Book!

    I loved this book! It had realistic characters and was a really quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    book

    this was a pretty good book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    i couldnt put it down.

    i LOVE this book i read this over the summer and read omost the rest of her books cause how great it was.<BR/><BR/>very exciting and can relate to in some ways.<BR/>funny,admiring,<BR/>it's in some way a drama also.<BR/><BR/>i would recommond this book <BR/>i didnt like reading much before this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    The novel comes across as outdated. It is full of pop culture re

    The novel comes across as outdated. It is full of pop culture references that haven't been relevant for a decade. It's a quick, easy read, and overall quite forgettable.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Soooo

    Very good book i recomend for 12+ but not fpr younger children (as long as yur mature)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Beautiful

    Well written book , it's beautiful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Great book!

    Read this after reading Alyson Noels series "Immortals" and i just fell in love. Im about to buy another book by her. I just love her work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6