Customer Reviews for

Faking Grace

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ¿Desperate times call for Desperate measures¿ might be the mantr

    “Desperate times call for Desperate measures” might be the mantra for Maizy Grace Stewart the main character in Tamara Leigh’s novel Faking Grace as she is most definitely desperate. Maizy is an investigative journalist whose lost her prominent job in Seattle and now has fallen to the depths of her journalistic career as she has a part time job with a Nashville newspaper writing lifestyle fluff pieces . A girl can’t pay the rent on a part time salary so here’s where the fun comes in- she finds another part time job that she is applying for where she would be working for Steeple Side Christian Resources- a Christian publication. Here’s the deal- they only hire committed Christians and well Maizy isn’t exactly what you would call committed. And so, to solve her problem, she “brushes up” on Christianity by buying  a copy of “A Dumb Blonde’s guide to Christianity” to make sure she can fake it effectively in order to land the job.  After purchasing a“Jesus is my co-pilot” bumper sticker, and toning down her regular look from edgy to modest, she feels ready to play the part of a “committed Christian”. There’s only one little glitch in her plan- Jack Prentiss- the managing editor who happens to see through Maizy’s little charade (although now she has dropped the Maizy and is going by Grace- a more Christiany  name). Perhaps one of the tip offs  for Jack was Grace “taping” her bumper sticker onto her car for easy removal later. Anyway, Jack, with his cool British accent and suave demeanor is on to her and she knows it. It doesn’t help that he keeps popping up wherever she is and of course the relationship begins.




      And then the conflict- Maizy (Grace) is asked to write an expose on her time at Steepleside by her other employer to show the hypocrisy that takes place there. Maizy is excited, her big shot to return to investigative reporting. But as she gets to know the people at Steepleside and sees both their strengths and their weaknesses she’s not so sure about this whole investigation thing. Will she really be able to stay “Faking Grace” or will she need to extend some and receive some as well?




    In reading Faking Grace there are many hysterical moments as Maizy is trying to fake her way through the Christian world- trying to learn the lingo, talk the talk, and even attend church. As she goes along and sees authentic people with authentic faith she is definitely drawn in to real faith in God and of course, it is life changing. A very poignant scene was when she was volunteering in a soup kitchen and helping to feed the people coming in and she was so touched by a woman who had nothing and yet could still thank God for his provision for her. That really affected Grace and will affect the reader as well.  This was a great contemporary fiction novel with humor, poignancy, and imperfect people meeting their perfect God. Very enjoyable read!




    4 stars








    I was given a free copy of Faking Grace by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    This is the second book I read by Tamara Leigh. The first book I

    This is the second book I read by Tamara Leigh. The first book I read was Perfecting Kate and I loved it. So I was a bit concerned that Faking Grace might not be able to live up to my expectations.

    I had nothing to worry about.

    I think I have found a new favorite author. I love Tamara Leigh's style. Her writing is funny, and witty. Her characters full of flaws and real.

    Through Maizy Grace's eyes we see what many unbelievers see when they look at Christians. They see that we aren't perfect, we don't have it all together, we make mistakes. But we also see that if we show grace to others we can draw them to the foot of the cross, into the loving embrace of the Father.

    This book is so full of conflict I had to keep turning the pages. There is a ticking time bomb that you know will explode in Maizy's face and we are just waiting until it happens and then wondering how she will ever get out it. How will she salvage the friendships she has begun to forge? Can she? Will her friends forgive her?

    There are a few LOL moments, when Maizy uses her new "Christian speak" incorrectly.

    There is just so much truth in this book that it forces us to take a look at our own faith and examine how genuine it really is.

    A copy of this book was given to me by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Tamara Leigh is the author of Perfect Kate (Loved it!!) and Spli

    Tamara Leigh is the author of Perfect Kate (Loved it!!) and Splitting Harriet (Haven’t read, but plan to as soon as possible!). So I was excited to read Faking Grace, which is also part of the Chick lit genre.




    Maizy Grace blew a big story in Seattle, but plans to get back into investigative journalism in Nashville. However, for right now she needs a part time job to pay the bills. It so happens that Steeple Side Christian Resources is hiring, but they only hire committed Christians. Even though Maizy was saved and when she was younger and attended church with her grandma, she is very immature in her faith. So, she decides to go by “Grace”, picks up a copy of The Dumb Blonde’s Guide to Christianity, and tapes (yes, tapes!!) a “Jesus is copilot” bumper sticker on her car as she plans to fake her way through this job till her big break comes. However, what happens when her big break collides with her new friendships and her growing faith?




    I ended up with mixed feeling about Faking Grace. To me the story was slower and harder to get into. I was not expecting that, because it was definitely not my experience with Perfecting Kate. However, in the end, I did enjoy this book – Maizy Grace’s dilemma, all the interesting and humorous experiences that occur, and the relationships that develop. I grew to like the characters, especially the grandmas!! So, even though this isn’t my favorite book, I would still recommend as a fun clean read.








    Disclosure: I received this ebook free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group’s book review bloggers program, BookSneeze. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    A must read

    Very funny, well written, didn't want it to end and stepped on my toes a few times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    great read

    i enjoy all Christian books by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    God Fraud

    This book made me both laugh and ponder at what the average person thinks it takes to become a Christian. I really liked how this book outed all the typical stereotypes of Christianity. All the material symbols that supposedly show how Christian one can be were portrayed in this book. From the fish symbol, to the cross jewelry, to the taped on bumper stickers, Maizy went all out to show others how Christian she was by the way she looked. I chuckled at her attempts to try to fake being a Christian, especially by the things she would say. At the same time though, it made me think about all the people out there who do act in this way. Are their feelings sincere or is it just a show? I would love to get a job working at Steeple Side. It sounds like a really great company to work for and I really enjoyed how it showed that Christians can have fun and be normal too. I really appreciated the scene when Maizy confronts her grandmother and her attitude towards Maizy's mother. Not that I enjoy it when elderly folks get told off, but it was one of those situations where the person is wrong is set right and in a forceful manner. I think that there are a bunch of people who actually do need to read parts of The Dumb Blonde Guide's to Christianity for refresher tips!

    While I enjoyed the book, this was probably the least chick lit-ish out of Tamara's recent books. There just seemed to be more romance in this book. I also felt the storyline to be a bit predictable as I knew what was going to happen about halfway through the story. It didn't bother me because I was having fun reading Maizy's story but nevertheless I figured about the plot rather quickly. So while this book was a great read, Splitting Harriet is still probably my favorite of her books. However this was a great book to read and I highly recommend it. It's a really good book to quell all the rumors of Christian stereotypes and hopefully put them to rest one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2009

    Fun and inspirational

    I can't remember when I've had so much fun being spiritually edified. Faking Grace is my new favorite Tamara Leigh novel (although Stealing Adda still comes in a close second).

    Maizy Grace Stewart is a heartwarming "character," who works as hard at being someone she's not, as she does being the person she can be. Sound confusing? It's not. In fact, Maizy is just like the rest of us. Not perfect, but trying to keep her head about spiritual water.

    Maizy may fake it for a while, but her nemesis/boyfriend Jack Prentiss is the real thing, a strong and attractive hero, like Leigh always creates so well. Jack appreciates Maizy for all she can be--a valuable reminder of God's confidence in each of us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    ¿Christian Chicklit¿¿

    Faking Grace<BR/>Tamara Leigh<BR/>Multnomah, 2008<BR/>ISBN: 9781590529294<BR/>Reviewed by Debra Gaynor for ReviewYourBook.com, 12/08<BR/>5 stars ¿Christian Chicklit¿¿<BR/>Maisy Grace is pretending to be a deeply grounded Christian. By using the ¿Five-Step Program to Authentic Christian Faith¿, she is sure she can convince her fellow employees at Steeple Side Christian Resources. <BR/>Faking Grace has a hilarious plot with spiritual lessons on forgiveness. The characters are delightful. I did not want to lay down this book down. Faking Grace is a fast, easy read. Fix yourself a cup of tea, curl up in a comfy chair, and prepare to laugh out loud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    In Nashville, part time Seattle Sound reporter Maizy Grace Stewart is financially struggling. When Steeple Side Christian Resources offers her a job, Maizy applies and is hired. However, there is one prerequisite to the job one must be a practicing Christian. Maizy barely can spell the word Christian, but figures she can fake piety as good as anyone in the flock, starting with dropping her first name and heeding the guidance of the ¿Dumb Blonde¿s Guide to Christianity¿ reference book even if she is not a blonde or much of a Christian. --- She actually pats herself on the back with her Oscar winning performance until her newspaper editor Linda Stillwater asks her to research drug use among church going Christian teens starting with her church. Then there is Jack Prentiss who works at the paper and goes to the same church. He knows she is a sham and has doubts about her investigation into Steeple Side for an article that exposes their sins. Although uncomfortable with the assignment, Maizy knows this is her opportunity, but she is attracted to Jack who seems to know her too well. ---- The author uses humor as a device to lighten the tale and strengthen the message of everyone needs to forgive and receive forgiveness from their transgressions. Maizy¿s guide book brings amusement to the mix as she applies it as her Gospel although at times it leaves her in odd situations. Jack is a wonderful counterpart as he is not sure whether to strangle or kiss his amazing Grace. Fans will appreciate Maizy¿s FAKING GRACE inspirational romance. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1