BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Faking It

Average Rating 4
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

My absolute favorite Cruisie novel

The characters are wacky and flawed. I want to rent a room down the hall and join in the fun.

posted by 5833271 on January 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

good....but a few problems

this was. good book. nice story. good ending. but i kept getting hung up on the many awful spelling mistakes and gibberish. whoever put this book into nookbook format screwed up alot. stuff like 'kiUed' and 'itdhjnight' are very common throughout the book. only reason i...
this was. good book. nice story. good ending. but i kept getting hung up on the many awful spelling mistakes and gibberish. whoever put this book into nookbook format screwed up alot. stuff like 'kiUed' and 'itdhjnight' are very common throughout the book. only reason it gets 3 star and not 4 stars. wish i could get my money back because of all the spellig errors. but oh well. im a perfectionist. so those things bother me a lot.

posted by 5204674 on March 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    My absolute favorite Cruisie novel

    The characters are wacky and flawed. I want to rent a room down the hall and join in the fun.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    Cute and funny

    Loved the characters, they were hilarious and well developed- not the "too perfect" characters that are found in some romance novels. The plot was good too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    Quirky, fun

    I think this book is more humorous than it is romantic. I enjoyed reading about all the characters. There's no sexual tension that built up like other romance stories; it was a nice change to see the first time Tilda and Davey got together didn't end in fireworks. The mystery was fun to figure out. It was a fun read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Great characters / quick dialogue / lots of interesting situations

    Loved it. I was so happy when I recognized the character Davy from Crusie's book "Welcome to Temptation." I recommend reading the Temptation book first. Both are fantastic. Couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Krinjh

    Rosary..

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    good....but a few problems

    this was. good book. nice story. good ending. but i kept getting hung up on the many awful spelling mistakes and gibberish. whoever put this book into nookbook format screwed up alot. stuff like 'kiUed' and 'itdhjnight' are very common throughout the book. only reason it gets 3 star and not 4 stars. wish i could get my money back because of all the spellig errors. but oh well. im a perfectionist. so those things bother me a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    Better Than Watching Paint Dry

    The Goodnights have a tradition of dealing forged art. The Dempseys have a tradition of forging bad deals. Put them together, and you get a string of misadventures both families would be proud to claim. Enter Tilda Goodnight, a muralist who brings classic art to Ohio bathrooms. Tilda has a secret, and she'll do what she must to keep it, even if that means breaking into someone's home. When she literally runs into Davy Dempsey during her amateur B & E, she finds an unexpected ally, and more. Together, they search for remnants of Tilda's checkered past and money someone owes Davy. Not much stands in their way just a former lover, a crooked accountant, the FBI, and a hit man. All in a day's con. Criminal activities aside, 'Faking It' is a fun romp with a dysfunctionally loving family and the friends that get pulled into it. The writing features Crusie's trademark wittiness throughout. The characters showed promise, but ultimately, Tilda was a bit of a letdown. Other characters stole scenes that should have belonged to her, as the female lead. Tilda had a martyr complex that created reader sympathy at the beginning, but it wore old by the middle. Fortunately, she pulled out of it for a satisfying end. Davy remained a fun character, even if his motives weren't always in keeping with his goals. Although this wasn't one of Crusie's best efforts, the quality and fun nature of 'Faking It' are reflective of her talent and wit. If you enjoy an offbeat cast with some light-hearted crime and romance, you'll enjoy 'Faking It.' -C.W.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Wonderful read.

    The characters are vivid. They stand right up from the story and grab you from page one. I enjoyed reading the Goodnights and co. Battle through the quirky plotlines. Uproarously funny and unexpetedly honest i would recommnd this to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Loved it

    One of my favorite books that i have read many times. I would love to see this as a movie, I can picture the actors I would choose to play the parts. But maybe not, books are always better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Loved it!!  One of Cruisie's best.  Her characters are wacky and

    Loved it!!  One of Cruisie's best.  Her characters are wacky and fun and the kind of people you'd love to be friends with!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Awesome!

    This was the first book of hers that I read and I just loved it. It is so funny you almost forget about the romance, almost. Because of this book is whyI began reading Janet Evanovich, the characters are awesome and the plot is also well thought out. Love it!! Super funny!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Slaveshine

    Its hard but im used to it.. soo many questions.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    MY FAV

    If you havent read this one you are in for a treat - so long as you love marvelous characters, witty dialogue, some of rhe best erotic scenes written and,well, true love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Great book

    Laughed so much totally love this crazy family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Anonymous

    Not my favorite by her. Still trying to read it but not enjoying it. Just seems jumbled and like it was written too quickly. Bummer! On page 92 now. Maybe it will get better?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Great Book!

    It took me a bit to actually get into this book as it was kind of confusing, but after the first chapter or so I was hooked. I love Jennifer Crusie's humor and her style of writing. Defiantely look forward to reading more from her! Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    1/17/12

    Not as much fun as BET ME.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    How funny

    Really the characters are so over the top, but come across as the people you meet everyday. WONDERFUL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Wonderfully funny

    This is one book I've read more than once. It's fun, funny, with quirky characters that you love from the very beginning with their fast and snappy dialogue. It's just fun and interesting all the way through!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It was okay.

    The book was good, but it took me a while to get through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 168 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9