BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Falcon at the Portal (Amelia Peabody Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Series is highly recommended!!!

    I love the Amelia Peabody series. I've been to Egypt and now long to go back to experience many of the places she talks about. I love Peabody's relationship with Emerson and can't wait to see if Ramses gets the love of his life. Starting book #12 now...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    wonderful series

    There are 18 books in the series. I am now reading #10 for the third time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Great book

    I would recommend that the Amelia Peabody series is read in sequence. I read this book out of sequence and had to go back and re-read it in sequence. It was much more enjoyable when I re-read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    Great find

    Ditto. A great story, wonderful characters, but a very weak Nefret.....what a disappointment she was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    LOVED IT SO MUCH!!!

    I have read all the reviews of this book on this site, and I have to admit, that this one (Falcon) and the last one (Ape) had me biting my nails! That is a good thing! I started reading the series last year, and have bought almost all of them, and the last two, I read as fast as I could! I love ALL the characters (even the bad ones add to the novels...of course, Sethos is one of my favorites!)and watching the maturity of the 'children' has kept me interested! I love how all of the characters are evolving, getting older, still maintaining the traits we all know and love, yet growing as they mature. Thanks to Elizabeth Peters for these great stories that take us to a wonderful place and time! As someone who loves to write fiction myself, I have learned alot from her writing, how to develop characters and keep readers interested! I have to go now...to start reading 'He Shall Thunder The Sky'!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2002

    Despite Uncertainty, a Great Effort

    I should first say that I'm new to the Amelia Peabody series. FALCON is the second book I read (after THE APE WHO GUARDS THE BALANCE) and I thought that it was even better than APE. Some veterans of the series have remarked that the events in this book (especially the ones concerning Nefret) are out of place for this series, and while I admit that they could be right because I have little prior knowledge of the characters, I thought the events in question were a direct result of what happened, just as it would be in real life. I have never read any book that pulls the reader in quite like a Peabody mystery. While I am ecstatic about the descriptions of Egypt and archaeology (probably because I have decided on Egyptology as a career), there is another element in these books that just takes hold and won't let go. I like to call it 'total immersion' and it's lurking on page 1 in this book. Even with only one book under my belt, I feel a connection with the characters and as if I'm involved in the events. And this is one of those rare books that you like so much you can't put it down, but at the same time you appreciate the words instead of flying through them. Without giving too much away, I can say that with the return of Percy, the romantic tension between Nefret and Ramses stretches to the breaking point, and everything rockets from there. When all is said and done, you might be extremely frustrated and want to slap the two 'children'(and Amelia too, for that matter), but if you stop and think, Amelia's prowess is dull for a reason. Even a well-oiled machine like the Emerson family can grind to a halt if something breaks, so it's obvious that the renowed detective skills of the clan can't be so powerful when there's a distraction elsewhere. Just like any ol' family, huh? Yes, you can figure out the murderer before the Emersons, and yes the cliched 'big misunderstanding' element makes you want to scream at the pages in frustration, but there's a great story in between all of that. How can we complain if all the stuff is there, but with just a little touch of the real world mixed in? Strongly Recommended: Read The Ape Who Guards the Balance before this so you don't cheat yourself out of a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2001

    The Falcon at the Portal, More Than Just Corpses and Intrigue!

    In this latest volume of the Amelia Peabody series Elizabeth Peters returns to her traditional style of plots, archaeology, mysteries, romance, and of course, bodies! Only Elizabeth Peters with her well written dry humor and witty exchanges amongst the Emerson family, could possibly make mureder and perilous situations so entertaining. In this volume, Peters continoues the tantalizing romance between Ramses, the one blood relative of Amelia and her handsome husband Radcliffe, and Nefret, one of the foster children the Emersons adopted years ago. Since Ramses and Nefret are now fully grown, their relationship begins the metamorphosis we have all been waiting for. All of the activity of our favorite turn of the century British excavators comes to a screeching hault when two strangers show up with a young child they say is Ramses' daoughter, and Nefret disappears for several days, only to return married to a fellow archealogist also working in Eygpt that season. For all the Elizabeth Peters fans out there this book is a must have! I fnished it in a few days and absolutely had to read it's sequel 'He Shall Thunder in the Sky', because I was so intrigued by the events in 'The Falcon at the Portal'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2000

    Not always happy, but well plotted and mature

    I discovered the Amelia Peabody books just after Christmas this year, and had acquired and devoured the first ten books within a month. This story was the only one for which I had seen any reviews before reading -- I was afraid I wouldn't like it, but that was definitely not the case. I might not have liked this story as well when I was younger, but even though there are sad parts, it ends hopefully, and it feels more true to life than a sappy happy ending would have. I thought Nephret's actions were in keeping with the way her character had developed -- impulsive, passionate in her loves and hates, with strong feelings about men who frequented 'ladies of the evening' and fathered illegitimate children. She was in the intensely emotional mood that came from suddenly realizing she and Ramses loved each other -- in that state, thinking he had done things she detested, her impulsive action to reject Ramses seems believable to me. I can also see her marriage, since there was a chance she could be pregnant, and she would not have wanted to shame her family - very realistic for this time period. Once married, it was too late to undo, without bringing more shame and heartache to those she cared about. I would like to see this experience helping Nefret to be more in control of her temper and less impulsive, two flaws in her character that always bothered me. She has the chance to mature now, and be a good partner in a marriage, whether it is with Ramses or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2