Customer Reviews for

Fall for Anything

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Black Fingernailed Reviews

    I don't think I've ever been able to become so absorbed with a character as I was with Eddie. While I was reading I became her and was only able to view the story as it happened to her, from her eyes. So trying to distance myself enough to write a review is proving to be a bit of a challenge.

    When Eddie is betrayed by what Culler had been doing all along, I was too because while reading It I wasn't able to read his character for anything other than what Eddie saw him as. Her emotions as she was going through everything in the story where mine while I was reading them. It was like I was reading my own diary.

    The aftermath of her father's suicide is a train wreck. Her life, her mother's life, everything is a mess, and none is able to tell her where to go from here, none is able to tell her why. But at the end Eddie realises something heartbreaking that will ring true to anyone who has lost a parent, or loved one. It's not why did it happen it's how do I move on from here.

    Grief is written so plainly that I want to cry thinking back on it. Summers' captures the feelings and emotions of what it's like when a person dies and the only thing you want is for time to stop, so that it will matter, for life to stop and rewind so you can change it. For your life to be turned upside down, and to have to figure out where you go from here.

    Courtney Summers has written a story which I cannot find one fault in, not a single one. She has written it so relatably that while reading I couldn't tell where Eddie stopped and I began. The characters go through a lot, and so did I while reading it.

    The ending wasn't perfect which is why it was perfect. It wasn't all tied up in a pretty little happily ever after package, it was real and believable and right.

    I can't tell you this book will mean to you what it did to me, but I can tell you it's one you don't want to miss.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review: Fall for Anything by Courtney Summers

    I had pretty high expectations for Fall For Anything...and I was not disappointed at all! It is easily one of my favorite books; I could read it over and over again without getting bored. I love the cover. It is just striking.
    Courtney Summers is probably my favorite author out there. She's been known as the 'Queen of Mean' for writing up compelling mean girls, but that's not what made me love Fall For Anything. No, in this story Eddie is not popular, she hasn't dated the most popular guy in school, and has never bullied. She is vulnerable and broken.
    "My hands are dying." The first sentence of the novel, the four words that stay with me through the whole book. Eddie has not felt alive since her father's suicide. She's a mess, and she wants answers. They even seem close enough to touch when she meets her father's student, Culler Evans. He understands Eddie and her obsession; but is he everything Eddie thinks he is?
    I love all the relationships in Fall for Anything. For example, Eddie's complicated friendship with Milo (and the confusion with Missy) had me completely curious with what would happen next. I also loved the relationships between Eddie and her mother, and Eddie with her father. I even found myself interested in the hate relationship between her and Beth. The characters and their actions felt so real, it made me love the novel even more.
    Furthermore, I have to mention how beautiful Summers' writing is. With Fall for Anything, and all her other books, just the way the story is written makes me want to devour it. They are written in such a way that takes fictional feelings and makes them pulse through me. Fall for Anything is a book that takes a master to create. Courtney Summers is that master

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Intense Story About Grief, Reasons Why, and Moving On - A Must Read

    After Eddie Reeves' father commits suicide, her world turns upside down. She never would have imagined her father ending his life and neither could her mother. Now, the two of them are worlds apart. Eddie leans on her best friend Milo to keep her company, while her mother refuses to leave the house or her father's housecoat. The only outside company they have is Beth, Eddie's mother and a woman who Eddie hates.

    I've never read anything by Courtney Summers before, but Fall For Anything makes me want to pick up Summers previous books, read them, then scour her computer for any forgotten or abandoned manuscripts. That's how good this book is.

    Eddie is quietly intense, in that way that lingers in your head and presses on your thoughts. Her loss is so vast and inescapable, but Summers doesn't make it suffocating or difficult to read. I never felt like the book was weighing me down, only that the death and Eddie's pain was hovering around me, begging me to continue the story.

    Eddie's search for the reason why is played out masterfully and beautifully. Summers has created a character that is completely realistic and lifelike. Everything about Eddie feels real. From her personality, her actions, her emotions, and her grief, she is real. Milo, Eddie's best friend, is undeniably attractive and his relationship with Eddie is far from clichéd (yay!). Then there's Culler Evans. Oh, Culler Evans, how is it that someone who could easily be a pretentious artsy guy, turn out to be the only person who Eddie relates to, therefore someone I care about?

    Like I said, Summers is amazing. And Fall For Anything is a story that will break your heart in seemingly innocent, hidden ways. The story is a search for reasons, for whys, and Eddie will take you on a journey that is unexpected, with twists and turns, ups and downs. Her grief enthralled me and I was fully committed to find out exactly why Seth Reeves decided death was superior to the life he had. I'll be picking up Summers other books ASAP and devouring them just as fast as this one.

    Opening line: My hands are dying. ~ pg. 1

    Favorite lines (I want to quote the entire book, but I'll refrain): Forget sappy messages about overcoming; I want ones that say NOW YOU'LL BE A LESSER PERSON THAN YOU WERE or WE CANNOT POSSIBLY UNDERSTAND or I CAN UNDERSTAND BECAUSE SOMEONE I KNOW DIED TOO or maybe something about how grief can make your skin feel sore and bruised and electric because that's how my skin has felt ever since, except for my hands. ~ pg. 40

    *This is the ARC version and words, sentences, cover art, etc. may change before official publication

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    One of my favorites

    I absolutely love courtney summers books. Falling for anything is a great read, full of emotion and heartache. I really enjoyed it and cant wait to read her next book ,This is Not a Test.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    OMT!!!!!!

    10*s out of five!!!! Extreamly good!!!!! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Ashley B for TeensReadToo

    Eddie Reeves is devastated when her photographer father commits suicide. She is consumed by the question of "why?" He left a note, but there were no answers. She meets Culler Evans, her father's one and only student, and he is consumed by the same questions she is. Culler is mysterious, and seems to know more about her father than she does. Culler shows Eddie his discovery, at the place where her father committed suicide, and from there, they go on a search to find answers. FALL FOR ANYTHING actually had a pretty slow start, unlike Summers' other novels. I was a little disappointed, because it wasn't like her other ones. It was still good, though. I felt a genuine concern for Eddie's character, because of her hurt and depression from her father's suicide. I was worried about her, and I don't often feel that kind of connection with characters. Overall, this was a fairly good story, with a huge twist at the end which I definitely didn't see coming. If you enjoyed Ms. Summers' other novels, check this one out, too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    Two novels later (I still need to read her first one), and I'm quickly becoming a fan of Courtney Summers. Her stories are haunting and very real world.

    Ever have a book that totally works it's way into your brain because of something that has happened to you personally recently? For me this was one of them. No, I didn't recently have someone close to be commit suicide but the death of a friend that came as quite a shock. I don't deal well with death, there I said it. And this book brings up a lot of my fears and other emotions that I can only imagine if I had lost a parent at a young age (although this one also made me think about losing a child).

    Eddie was marvelous. I think I might have cried right along with her. I hated Beth for all the things she was doing, even though I knew it was her own way of coping. I felt sorry for Eddie's mom, because I could imagine what she was going though. And most of all, I wanted Eddie to wake up and realize who she could trust and who she couldn't. Sometimes grief makes you do things you wouldn't normally do.

    I honestly wasn't surprised at the twist in the story. I think I was expecting it. Although the motives given, I honestly questioned. It seemed to convenient for me. I was happy to see Milo stick by her through it all. It must have been hard for him too. His feelings for Eddie mixed in with what happened would be hard for anybody to bear.

    I can't wait to see what Courtney Summers produces for us next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2