Customer Reviews for

Fall of Giants (The Century Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 2103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(886)

4 Star

(408)

3 Star

(263)

2 Star

(190)

1 Star

(356)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

284 out of 305 people found this review helpful.

Smooth Intellectually Stimulating Easy Read

This is the first book of a new series. Starts with Welsh miners in early 20th century and intermission (ends) in the 1920's. The interaction historically is wonderful, the characters are extremely varied and it's amazing how they tie together. Follett goes into grea...
This is the first book of a new series. Starts with Welsh miners in early 20th century and intermission (ends) in the 1920's. The interaction historically is wonderful, the characters are extremely varied and it's amazing how they tie together. Follett goes into great detail of the characters. The book is very instructional on the politics of the era and the various characters are examples of the points of view of the period and how the politics eventually affect them.

This is not a book you can read 5 pages at a time. Chapters are 50 pages. Find a comfortable chair, a good bottle of wine, and plan on a weekend of wonderful reading. If you're a part of a book club, plan on chapter discussions, they will be extremely stimulating.

IF I had a complaint, it's that the book jumps between the characters. I plan on reading the book a second time, a character at a time.

A definite for your Library. You'll want to keep a copy to reread when the second comes out.

posted by Catbluize on May 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

136 out of 203 people found this review helpful.

I'll wait to take it out from the library...

If Mr Follet and his publishers are making a profit selling this hardcover at $20, they must be making a killing by charging the same for the e-copy. Too bad they have apparently decided to ream those of us (avid) readers with Nooks and Kindles. I hope this decision co...
If Mr Follet and his publishers are making a profit selling this hardcover at $20, they must be making a killing by charging the same for the e-copy. Too bad they have apparently decided to ream those of us (avid) readers with Nooks and Kindles. I hope this decision costs them money in the long term and they learn from their mistaken assumption that we are willing to be taken advantage of in this manner....

posted by fizazz on October 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 106
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    Smooth Intellectually Stimulating Easy Read

    This is the first book of a new series. Starts with Welsh miners in early 20th century and intermission (ends) in the 1920's. The interaction historically is wonderful, the characters are extremely varied and it's amazing how they tie together. Follett goes into great detail of the characters. The book is very instructional on the politics of the era and the various characters are examples of the points of view of the period and how the politics eventually affect them.

    This is not a book you can read 5 pages at a time. Chapters are 50 pages. Find a comfortable chair, a good bottle of wine, and plan on a weekend of wonderful reading. If you're a part of a book club, plan on chapter discussions, they will be extremely stimulating.

    IF I had a complaint, it's that the book jumps between the characters. I plan on reading the book a second time, a character at a time.

    A definite for your Library. You'll want to keep a copy to reread when the second comes out.

    284 out of 305 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Actual Review

    Having had the opportunity to actually read the book, I can tell you that Mr. Follett is spot on yet again. His razor sharp story telling, character development and interwoven storyline are all realized brilliantly. The entanglement of these characters with each other leads to a complex yet seamless journey around the globe. The book is fast paced, almost impossible to put down and sure to be an instant classic! I can not more highly suggest a title, this one was incredible. That being said, while I agree that the eBook price is outrageous, please note that the price is not set by Mr. Follet, it is in fact, set by his publisher. While I can say this book blew me away, I'm do not think I would purchase this title until Penguin decides to stop punishing those of us who have decided to invest in the future of electronic publishing. Book: 5 stars, ebook price: 0 stars.

    150 out of 162 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    Ridiculous Price

    Greed by the publishers take over again. Last Christmas, when I got my Nook, ebooks were about $10, then 4 months later $15, now $20. Love the books by Follett but not at this price. All who read this should put off buying this book until its $10, maybe the publishers may see the error of their ways.

    113 out of 179 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Unfair reviews

    It's unfair to rate this book with one star because you're upset with Barnes & Noble's ebook price. That has nothing to do with a book review.

    89 out of 138 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    Out of my price range

    I like Follett and would love to have downloaded this one, but not for $20. I'll wait until it comes out in paperback.

    82 out of 141 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Engrossing Novel, Worth Every Cent

    To all who have complained about the price of this novel, I will be the first to admit, it is worth every dollar. Fall of Giants falls into the status level of 'Gone with the Wind.' I would have paid $40 to have the experience of reading Margaret Mitchell's timeless classic. Price is relative to all and all will have their different thresholds. I spent twenty dollars to have a fascinating journey into the early 20th century. The same day, I spent twenty dollars on cleaning supplies for my kitchen. Guess which will have the most lasting impact on my life? This is an exceptional story with Follett creating depth into his characters in which very few authors can achieve. The list of characters in the beginning of the novel can be daunting but Follett introduces his characters to the reader as if they were part of your family. You understand their thought process and inner workings to the point where emotions are evoked, similar to the way family members evoke certain emotions at Thanksgiving... for better or worse. This historical fiction has the abilty to open eyes to the complicated yet simplistic world of politics. Find a weekend with no commitments then buy this novel, a bathtub shelf, bubble bath, and a bottle of wine. On Monday, tell me what the price is to your mind and soul, of having the opportunity to enjoy the luxuries of a warm bath with an amazing novel.

    76 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    Are you kidding me?

    I LOVE Ken Follett's writing. He has been a favorite author of mine for 20 years. Have a new iPhone with some book readers loaded on it, looking forward to clearing space in my home but still keep up with the latest from my favorite authors and save a little in the process (my husband has been reading free or deeply discounted ebooks from Baen for years).

    But $20 for a DIGITAL book, that they don't have to print, pack, store, ship, load, unload, inventory, display or bag? When the hardback is $1 more? ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

    Sorry, Mr. Follett. Not in this lifetime.

    62 out of 122 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    This is exactly the place to complain about price

    Nook buyers bought a nook in order to have a chance to read new books at a better price. Perhaps having this book's rating lowered by our protest will catch the publisher's attention and prevent future price-gouging. Or maybe they will lower the price on this one. You can buy the hardback from Amazon for less than the nook price, which is crazy. I'll read it at the library.

    62 out of 117 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    This is a really good entertaining read.

    This ,as other books by KF is a worthwhile read. I suggest borrowing it or get it from libraryor get it used - - the ebook is too expensive! I borrowed it, and it's bulky snd cumberson compared to the nook, but it was free. and definitely worthwhile!!
    On line go to contact us" in customer service - mention the cost of the e books there too!! This is the responce I received when I did. eBooks are an emerging category and many pricing models are being tested
    from both publishers and retailers. What's important for all of our
    customers to know, is that we are committed to providing them with the
    widest catalog of digital books and ePeriodicals, that they can read and
    take with them on more devices than any other ebookstore. However,
    Barnes and Noble does not control the pricing of eBooks. Publishers, for
    the most part, control the pricing of digital books. The move to
    publisher pricing happened very quickly and this change became official
    recently.

    55 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    Great author. Ridiculous price.

    I started buying a lot more ebooks and really enjoy reading them in this format but $19 for one seems very expensive. The reduced price compare to hardcover is one of the reasons I switched over.
    Like others have said I'll pay for the hardcover and pass it on to family and friends that would have purchased the book, which I don't do with ebooks.

    54 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Ridiculous Price

    I won't pay $19.99 for an e-book. I purchased my nook so I would save money on books. I can go to Costco and buy the hardcover version at the same price or perhaps even cheaper. I certainly hope this is not a trend.

    53 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    Anyone want to buy a slightly used Nook?

    I am going to join the many who are disappointed and angry over the price of this ebook. One of the reasons I bought the Nook was for the reduced cost, as the sales person explained to me, of ebooks. The cost for this book is not what I expected to see. I know some of you want to read a review of the book but this is where BN and publishers and writers can obtain some feedback. If this price trend continues, check ebay for some good deals on used Nooks, including mine.

    48 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    Too Much!

    I love my Nook & love K. Follett but $19.95 feels a bit like bait and switch...weren't we told that nook books would be in the $9.95 range? A best seller has been $12.95 but Nook books were never supposed to cost the same as a hardcover. Come on...

    47 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    Unacceptable pricing on e-book.

    Boycott B&N AND publisher.

    44 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    KEN FOLLETT IS ALWAYS THE BEST!!

    I am writing this as a rebuttal for all the NEGATIVE "reviews" that were posted for FALL OF THE GIANTS. Barnes & Nobles, or any other book store, should NOT permit comments re: pricing to be listed as a review. THIS IS NOT A BOOK REVIEW!! PERIOD. END OF STORY. I'm confident we will not be disappointed in this book; so far I've not been disappointed in any of Ken Follett's books. It will be wonderful to read a trilogy about a more modern time that we might be able to relate to. Perhaps some of our ancestors came from some of the places KF wrote written about. I can't wait to get started!! For those of us who plan to enjoy ourselves page by page; HAPPY READING!! :-) As for the rest of the complainers about price, etc., KEEP THESE COMMENTS OUT OF THE BOOK REVIEWS! SEND YOUR COMPLAINTS DIRECTLY TO BARNES & NOBLES; THAT'S WHERE THEY BELONG---NOT HERE! WE NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THE BOOK--NOT THE PRICE!!!

    40 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    Good author- ridiculously priced novel

    Won't pay $20.00 even for a e-book Ken Follet novel.

    36 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    Upset about the price of ebooks

    I echo everyone who has previously commented. I'm angered that the price of the ebook is actually more expensive than the price of the hardcover. That makes absolutely no sense. It has to be cheaper to publish the ebook version than to print out 500 pages for a book. The saddest part is that I saw the ad from B&N about the new Follett book and was really excited because I loved World Without End and Pillars of the Earth. Unfortunately, I refuse to buy an ebook for nearly $20 so I'll have to skip this one.

    35 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    Sad

    I was really excited for this book to come out and was just going to download it to my Nook when... what's that?? $19.99 for an e-book? WHAT THE WHAT?!

    Ken, I'm so sorry to have to give your book 1 star. I know if I could've downloaded it and read it I would give you 5 but I can't do it for the sake of sending a very clear and public message to Penguin Publishers, Barnes & Noble and the generally book reading community. I wish you didn't have to be the poster child for all of our frustrations but sometimes the only way to effect change is to call companies out PUBLICLY.

    We can't afford for a $19.99 ebook price precedent. I can't have all ebook prices going up or my already expensive Nook will be shelved.

    34 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    WHAT!?!?! $19.99 for an E-book????

    There must be a pricing error for this book. If everyone does not stick together and refuse to purchase this book, all E-books will be priced like this in the future. You wanna pay that for all E-books? Very greedy publisher.

    33 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    Greedy publishers are going to have to account for poor online reviews

    You don't like that I'm outraged at this price? Sue me. It is wildly short sighted for both B&N and Penguin to turn off an entire new generation of potential ebook purchasers when there's no motivation to shell out the $ for a reader only to be penalized by paying more for the ebook than hardcover! B&N - Why face the wrath of your customers by appearing to screw them? Better to not offer the ebook version at all. "If you don't like it, don't buy it" - Exactly. I'm not buying it. ANY version. Sorry Ken Follett. You lose. I'll wait and borrow it instead. Yes, just on principle.

    33 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 106