Customer Reviews for

Fall of Giants (The Century Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 2160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(924)

4 Star

(416)

3 Star

(268)

2 Star

(192)

1 Star

(360)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

293 out of 314 people found this review helpful.

Smooth Intellectually Stimulating Easy Read

This is the first book of a new series. Starts with Welsh miners in early 20th century and intermission (ends) in the 1920's. The interaction historically is wonderful, the characters are extremely varied and it's amazing how they tie together. Follett goes into grea...
This is the first book of a new series. Starts with Welsh miners in early 20th century and intermission (ends) in the 1920's. The interaction historically is wonderful, the characters are extremely varied and it's amazing how they tie together. Follett goes into great detail of the characters. The book is very instructional on the politics of the era and the various characters are examples of the points of view of the period and how the politics eventually affect them.

This is not a book you can read 5 pages at a time. Chapters are 50 pages. Find a comfortable chair, a good bottle of wine, and plan on a weekend of wonderful reading. If you're a part of a book club, plan on chapter discussions, they will be extremely stimulating.

IF I had a complaint, it's that the book jumps between the characters. I plan on reading the book a second time, a character at a time.

A definite for your Library. You'll want to keep a copy to reread when the second comes out.

posted by Catbluize on May 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

136 out of 204 people found this review helpful.

I'll wait to take it out from the library...

If Mr Follet and his publishers are making a profit selling this hardcover at $20, they must be making a killing by charging the same for the e-copy. Too bad they have apparently decided to ream those of us (avid) readers with Nooks and Kindles. I hope this decision co...
If Mr Follet and his publishers are making a profit selling this hardcover at $20, they must be making a killing by charging the same for the e-copy. Too bad they have apparently decided to ream those of us (avid) readers with Nooks and Kindles. I hope this decision costs them money in the long term and they learn from their mistaken assumption that we are willing to be taken advantage of in this manner....

posted by fizazz on October 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2168 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 109
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    $$$$$$ Not EBook!

    $19 for an Ebook! You have to kidding me! Will wait on the paperback in a year. B&N don't ruin a good business model.

    30 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    EBOOK IS MORE EXPENSIVE??????????

    I SPENT $200 FOR A READER SO I CAN SPEND MORE FOR NEW BOOKS?

    NO THANKS! DONE WITH NOOK.

    29 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    Too much for an ebook....

    no inventory, no warehouse cost, no shipping cost to stores.... I agree with other Nook owners that this is way too much for an ebook.

    When I bought my Nook books were 9.99 or less! In the last few months the prices have gone up, up, up.... I won't pay this much for an electronic book it's crazy!

    27 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    Too bad Penguin and Follett

    We all know an ebook is cheaper to produce than one with binding. You made a big mistake on this one. $20, really, do you think it is worth that much? I won't be buying Penguin books nor will I be reading one of my favorite authors until this one becomes affordable. Aren't things bad enough right now without you getting greedy?

    27 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    ...BUT -- it really is the cost

    Remarkable to shave a buck or two off the hardcover price ro read this. I'll wait until I can get this and any other Penguin Group book from the local library.

    27 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW

    If just 70% of us stopped paying the high e book prices I wonder what the publishers would do?

    25 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    Costly

    Seems expensive for an ebook. I think I'll wait until the price comes down.

    22 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    Too expensive for an e-book

    This would have been an ideal book to read on my iPad due to it's bulk . Price is unreasonable. I'll wait

    21 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Take your 19.99 for an e-book Penguin and shove it

    Outrageous

    I love Follett (especially the cathedral stuff) but Penguin can go you know what themselves with this outrageous ripoff of a price for an e-book

    no paper cost, no book binding cost, no shipping and delivery costs, they pay Follett about 25 cents a book -- and they think we should pay 20 bucks for the e-book

    I love my nook and love ebooks but the only way to stand up to these THIEVES is to not buy THIS BOOK at THIS PRICE

    go to BN -- download a bunch of classics (all probably better than this thing, anyhow) and enjoy a good read

    DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK

    21 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Get Real!!

    I am now reading only ebooks. I will NOT buy an ebook that has only $2 difference from the hard bound version. That is realy pathetic.
    An ebook does not have to be printed, shipped, stored, and wind up with unsold copies sitting on a shelf. To try to equate the two is foolish. I will wait for it to be sold at a reasonable price.

    21 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Price is way to high for an ebook

    I really wasn not going to bother to post until I saw a previous reviewer telling me I had no right to post about the price... ITS A RIDCIULOUS PRICE FOR AN EBOOK and I hope lots of people take the time to make note of that fact

    21 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    Negative Reviewers Might be Idiots!

    How completely UNFAIR to give negative reviews to a book you haven't even read, only because you have price issues! Take your grievence up with Barnes & Noble, don't punish the author. The last two Ken Follet books I read, Pillars and World, were AWESOME! This is definately not the right forum for airing your financial tightness.

    21 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    to expensive for an ebook

    I would love to buy this book but not for 19.99 for an ebook.

    20 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I agree, Outrageous Price!

    I was really looking forward to this book, but not at this price.
    I'm getting it from my library. So what if I'm 19th on the list for the ebook, I've got plenty of other things to read!

    20 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    Don't buy the high priced ebook!

    Will not buy the ebook at such an outrageous price! Shame on the publishers!

    20 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    No way!

    The price of the ebook is outrageous. More than the hardcover? Really?

    20 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    Disappointed with Price - ebook!

    I can't believe the ebook is $20 what happened to the $9 price. I will not pay that much for ebook. If this is the wave of the future for the nook then it is not worth it. It is crazy! B&N re-think your strategy!

    20 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    I will not reward over-the-top greed!!

    I must add my disappointment in the price to the long list of previous reviewers. I am a huge fan of Ken Follett and when I heard about this book I couldn't wait to download it to my nook. Well, surprise, surprise!! The price is outrageous. I can buy the hardback copy at Borders (which I will definitely do) for less that what B&N wants for the ebook. I hope B&N and Penguin listen to this feedback and act upon it. It's a shame that a wonderful author has to be punished by a greedy publisher and a greedy retail outlet. I'm off to Borders to buy this book!!!

    19 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No way

    Are we paying for the privilege of digital? Do not purchase this book In digital or hard copy format.

    19 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    Crazy $

    Wait until the price comes down.

    19 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 2168 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 109