Customer Reviews for

Fall of Giants (The Century Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 2161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(925)

4 Star

(416)

3 Star

(268)

2 Star

(192)

1 Star

(360)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

293 out of 314 people found this review helpful.

Smooth Intellectually Stimulating Easy Read

This is the first book of a new series. Starts with Welsh miners in early 20th century and intermission (ends) in the 1920's. The interaction historically is wonderful, the characters are extremely varied and it's amazing how they tie together. Follett goes into grea...
This is the first book of a new series. Starts with Welsh miners in early 20th century and intermission (ends) in the 1920's. The interaction historically is wonderful, the characters are extremely varied and it's amazing how they tie together. Follett goes into great detail of the characters. The book is very instructional on the politics of the era and the various characters are examples of the points of view of the period and how the politics eventually affect them.

This is not a book you can read 5 pages at a time. Chapters are 50 pages. Find a comfortable chair, a good bottle of wine, and plan on a weekend of wonderful reading. If you're a part of a book club, plan on chapter discussions, they will be extremely stimulating.

IF I had a complaint, it's that the book jumps between the characters. I plan on reading the book a second time, a character at a time.

A definite for your Library. You'll want to keep a copy to reread when the second comes out.

posted by Catbluize on May 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

136 out of 204 people found this review helpful.

I'll wait to take it out from the library...

If Mr Follet and his publishers are making a profit selling this hardcover at $20, they must be making a killing by charging the same for the e-copy. Too bad they have apparently decided to ream those of us (avid) readers with Nooks and Kindles. I hope this decision co...
If Mr Follet and his publishers are making a profit selling this hardcover at $20, they must be making a killing by charging the same for the e-copy. Too bad they have apparently decided to ream those of us (avid) readers with Nooks and Kindles. I hope this decision costs them money in the long term and they learn from their mistaken assumption that we are willing to be taken advantage of in this manner....

posted by fizazz on October 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 360 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    Are you kidding me?

    I LOVE Ken Follett's writing. He has been a favorite author of mine for 20 years. Have a new iPhone with some book readers loaded on it, looking forward to clearing space in my home but still keep up with the latest from my favorite authors and save a little in the process (my husband has been reading free or deeply discounted ebooks from Baen for years).

    But $20 for a DIGITAL book, that they don't have to print, pack, store, ship, load, unload, inventory, display or bag? When the hardback is $1 more? ARE YOU KIDDING ME?

    Sorry, Mr. Follett. Not in this lifetime.

    63 out of 127 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    This is exactly the place to complain about price

    Nook buyers bought a nook in order to have a chance to read new books at a better price. Perhaps having this book's rating lowered by our protest will catch the publisher's attention and prevent future price-gouging. Or maybe they will lower the price on this one. You can buy the hardback from Amazon for less than the nook price, which is crazy. I'll read it at the library.

    62 out of 121 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    Great author. Ridiculous price.

    I started buying a lot more ebooks and really enjoy reading them in this format but $19 for one seems very expensive. The reduced price compare to hardcover is one of the reasons I switched over.
    Like others have said I'll pay for the hardcover and pass it on to family and friends that would have purchased the book, which I don't do with ebooks.

    55 out of 116 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Ridiculous Price

    I won't pay $19.99 for an e-book. I purchased my nook so I would save money on books. I can go to Costco and buy the hardcover version at the same price or perhaps even cheaper. I certainly hope this is not a trend.

    53 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    Anyone want to buy a slightly used Nook?

    I am going to join the many who are disappointed and angry over the price of this ebook. One of the reasons I bought the Nook was for the reduced cost, as the sales person explained to me, of ebooks. The cost for this book is not what I expected to see. I know some of you want to read a review of the book but this is where BN and publishers and writers can obtain some feedback. If this price trend continues, check ebay for some good deals on used Nooks, including mine.

    48 out of 94 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    Too Much!

    I love my Nook & love K. Follett but $19.95 feels a bit like bait and switch...weren't we told that nook books would be in the $9.95 range? A best seller has been $12.95 but Nook books were never supposed to cost the same as a hardcover. Come on...

    48 out of 96 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    Unacceptable pricing on e-book.

    Boycott B&N AND publisher.

    44 out of 94 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    Good author- ridiculously priced novel

    Won't pay $20.00 even for a e-book Ken Follet novel.

    36 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    Upset about the price of ebooks

    I echo everyone who has previously commented. I'm angered that the price of the ebook is actually more expensive than the price of the hardcover. That makes absolutely no sense. It has to be cheaper to publish the ebook version than to print out 500 pages for a book. The saddest part is that I saw the ad from B&N about the new Follett book and was really excited because I loved World Without End and Pillars of the Earth. Unfortunately, I refuse to buy an ebook for nearly $20 so I'll have to skip this one.

    35 out of 77 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    Sad

    I was really excited for this book to come out and was just going to download it to my Nook when... what's that?? $19.99 for an e-book? WHAT THE WHAT?!

    Ken, I'm so sorry to have to give your book 1 star. I know if I could've downloaded it and read it I would give you 5 but I can't do it for the sake of sending a very clear and public message to Penguin Publishers, Barnes & Noble and the generally book reading community. I wish you didn't have to be the poster child for all of our frustrations but sometimes the only way to effect change is to call companies out PUBLICLY.

    We can't afford for a $19.99 ebook price precedent. I can't have all ebook prices going up or my already expensive Nook will be shelved.

    34 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    Greedy publishers are going to have to account for poor online reviews

    You don't like that I'm outraged at this price? Sue me. It is wildly short sighted for both B&N and Penguin to turn off an entire new generation of potential ebook purchasers when there's no motivation to shell out the $ for a reader only to be penalized by paying more for the ebook than hardcover! B&N - Why face the wrath of your customers by appearing to screw them? Better to not offer the ebook version at all. "If you don't like it, don't buy it" - Exactly. I'm not buying it. ANY version. Sorry Ken Follett. You lose. I'll wait and borrow it instead. Yes, just on principle.

    34 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    WHAT!?!?! $19.99 for an E-book????

    There must be a pricing error for this book. If everyone does not stick together and refuse to purchase this book, all E-books will be priced like this in the future. You wanna pay that for all E-books? Very greedy publisher.

    33 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    EBOOK IS MORE EXPENSIVE??????????

    I SPENT $200 FOR A READER SO I CAN SPEND MORE FOR NEW BOOKS?

    NO THANKS! DONE WITH NOOK.

    29 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    Too much for an ebook....

    no inventory, no warehouse cost, no shipping cost to stores.... I agree with other Nook owners that this is way too much for an ebook.

    When I bought my Nook books were 9.99 or less! In the last few months the prices have gone up, up, up.... I won't pay this much for an electronic book it's crazy!

    27 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    Too bad Penguin and Follett

    We all know an ebook is cheaper to produce than one with binding. You made a big mistake on this one. $20, really, do you think it is worth that much? I won't be buying Penguin books nor will I be reading one of my favorite authors until this one becomes affordable. Aren't things bad enough right now without you getting greedy?

    27 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    ...BUT -- it really is the cost

    Remarkable to shave a buck or two off the hardcover price ro read this. I'll wait until I can get this and any other Penguin Group book from the local library.

    27 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW

    If just 70% of us stopped paying the high e book prices I wonder what the publishers would do?

    25 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    Costly

    Seems expensive for an ebook. I think I'll wait until the price comes down.

    22 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    Too expensive for an e-book

    This would have been an ideal book to read on my iPad due to it's bulk . Price is unreasonable. I'll wait

    21 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Take your 19.99 for an e-book Penguin and shove it

    Outrageous

    I love Follett (especially the cathedral stuff) but Penguin can go you know what themselves with this outrageous ripoff of a price for an e-book

    no paper cost, no book binding cost, no shipping and delivery costs, they pay Follett about 25 cents a book -- and they think we should pay 20 bucks for the e-book

    I love my nook and love ebooks but the only way to stand up to these THIEVES is to not buy THIS BOOK at THIS PRICE

    go to BN -- download a bunch of classics (all probably better than this thing, anyhow) and enjoy a good read

    DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK

    21 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 360 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 18