Customer Reviews for

The Fall of Hyperion (Hyperion Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    Amazing, Simply Amazing

    After finishing Hyperion I immediately bought the next book, Fall of the Hyperion. I expected it to be as good as Hyperion but I was wrong. It was better then it's predecessor. I couldnt put this book down until the very last of it's pages were read. If you've read Hyperion then reading this book is a given. If you havent read Hyperion then read this anyways becuase its just that good.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Blown Away. The best SciFi book I have ever read.

    After reading Hyperion, I thought that was the best book I have ever read. I jumped right into Fall of Hyperion afterwards and not this is the best book I ever read. I know there are 2 more in the series but I'm taking a break to save them for later. The pace, action and story resolution of the characters from the first book are first rate. I read the pages faster than I should have just to get to the next page as fast as I could. There are some great ideas regarding religion and truly universal strategies to achieve a goal. I already bought the rest of the series but saving it because this will wind up being my favorite SciFi series and I don't want to rush it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2000

    Past meets the Future

    This series exemplifies what science fiction should be. A terrific blend of historical literature figures with cutting edge technology. Simmons' monster the Shrike is truely awe inspiring, and subtle as it is only a puppet to the true menace of the technocore. The Fall of hyperion is a necessary addition to any hardcore fans library. Do yourself a favor and pick this one up.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2000

    Staggering!

    The follow up to 'Hyperion,' this book tells us what the series is all about. The villains of the piece, which we were lead to believe were the Ousters and the Shrike in the previous volume, are not the villains at all. The true villians are the TechnoCore. And a better bunch of villains will be hard to find. The Shrike still remains vaguely threatening, but it is not as blood-curdling as it was in the previous volume. Great stuff!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    Sci-fi Intrigue!

    The Fall of Hyperion is in every way just as good as its predecessor, Hyperion. This book completes the engrossing adventure begun in Hyperion. Set in a far-future galaxy when the Earth is gone and people can walk from planet to planet by just taking a few steps, The Fall of Hyperion describes an exciting end-of-the-world-as-we-know-it war. As a sci-fi intrigue story, the plot has unpredictable twists and turns which sweep the reader off his feet into an enthralling new world, only releasing its fascinated victim at the end, when the truth is finally known.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    Good book

    It's definitely worth reading. Mr. Simmons has created an interesting universe to explore. He is a solid writer. This work explores nanotech, AI, time travel, and the building blocks of the universe. He has obviously studied world religions, as he incorporates ideas from most of them. There is an element of mystery. I'm reading the last book in the series now, and I still don't really know what the shrike is. I personally think that’s good, but it might be bad depending on your perspective. The series does a good job of drawing you in. I was torn between rating it a 4 or a 5. I think it's a solid 4.5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Good part two

    Has a good finish to the story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    Dan Simmons has become my go-to author for total reading experience.

    This work is the second, and concluding, book in one of the most complicated and fascinating stories I've read. Being a voracious, and eclectic reader, Simmons stands alone in his ability to combine: the human condition, classical literature, mythology, and science into a work of fiction. I couldn't hardly sit still through the first book, "Hyperion"; tearing into book two immediately. Amazing Mind

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Excellent novel

    The Fall of Hyperion returns to a mysterious yet familiar future. Several new characters give the book its fresh taste, while the old ones continue their memorable quest for satisfaction or death. The writing style brings the 29th century to vibrant life, almost as well as the preceding novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2000

    excellent book

    i loved this book, this and all other books of the hyperion cantos are as far as i'm concerned one of the greatest works of sci-fi ever, if you haven't read i please do, you won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5