Customer Reviews for

Fall of Kings (Troy Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    excellent reading, magnificent characters, a welcome addition to the rest of the Troy series and anyone's personal library. I personally own over 2000 books on all subjects. Gemmell is an automatic pick up author when available.

    I am dying of heart failure.26 heart attacks, 22 angioplasties and 2 bypasses.... I am a vast history reader and Books like those of the Troy Series make what time I have enjoyable and are as historical as i can believe

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing end to the Troy Series

    It is sad to think that this is David Gemmell's last book and that he died before completing it. Fortunately Stella Gemmell did an outstanding job at finishing what her husband started.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Gemmel is the best writer of historical fiction/fantasy who ever lived

    This series is a clever , fast paced retelling of the Illiad.It is more complex and imaginative than the movie "Troy" although it focuses on the same historic event. Fascinating , yet logical explanations are offered on the "legends" of The Trojan Horse, Helen of Troy, and Circe, to name a few. The characters are compelling, flawed yet heroic and we come to relate to them, suffer with them and wish we knew them or were them.
    David Gemmel creates living breathing, complex characters better than any other author in the genre. I flew through the 3 books in the trilogy and was actually depressed when I finished because alas, there will be no more. He died prior to finishing the last book, which was completed by his wife Stella. If you liked this story, go back and read his first book" Legend" and his sagas of the Drenai. I doubt will be another author that moves me as much as this one.
    Xena

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    after reading 1 st book I went out and bought the next 2 they ware also very good.

    very enjoyable read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ANOTHER MASTERPIECE

    Each book of this trilogy has been a masterpiece. Gemmell's characters come to life and there isn't a single boring page in the trilogy. He describes battlefield action and individual conflict like a Steven Pressfield or a Michael Curtis Ford. This series is enriched by Gemmell's imaginative twists to the accepted story. For instance, Odysseus is much more believable as a bard than someone that lived the tales he relates. Gremmell's depiction of the ruse of the Trojan Horse is also much more believable than the standard version. I also prefer Gemmell's portrayal of the epic battle between the heroes Achilles and Hector than the more movie version. The only disappointment associated with this book was learning of the death of David Gemmell even as he was writing it. It is to the credit of Stella Gremmell that the "Fall of Kings" is seamless - the point at which she took over and finished the book is not detectable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rousing Finish to Troy Trilogy

    Fans of the late David Gemmell's popular Troy series are blessed that his wife Stella is a talented researcher and writer who was able to complete this book following his death in 2006. Some liberties are taken with the ancient Iliad tale, but who cares? The characters are sympathetic and the action thrilling. This installment in the series seems to be heavier on blood, gore, and grim deaths than the earlier ones. But this is offset by the moving love story of Andromache and Helikaon (aka Aeneas). The women involved in the siege and fall of Troy are as courageous and heroic as the men. In addition, there is an interesting take on the origin of the Biblical figure Moses. In any case, at the end of the trilogy it was difficult for me to leave so many fascinating characters behind - by the end of this lengthy saga, they have become almost like friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong retelling of the classic saga

    King Agamemnon of Mykene has lined up some powerful allies in his war with King Priam of Troy. Priam also has an alliance to help him in the hostility, the powerful sea captain Helikaon of Dardania, who runs the most powerful ship known to man and Gods. Odysseus regrets the oath he made to Agamemnon as he now knows the monarch is totally greedy, only interested in looting the treasures of Troy many have died and more will for his greed. Helen who is either an abducted prisoner or a willing lover depending on which king speaks is irrelevant except as propaganda. The great warrior Achilles also loathes the deceitful ruthless Agamemnon, but like Odysseus is trapped by his pledge. Meanwhile Priam's sons take over defending their city-state as he shows signs of senile incompetence. As the war closes in on Troy itself, Helikaon escorts Prince Hektor¿s wife Princess Andromache on a quest to Thera. Soon all will meet on the plains outside of Troy with Odysseus coming up with the brilliant stratagem of the Trojan Horse. --- With the death of David Gemmell, fantasy fans lost one of the best historical fantasists of the past decade. His Troy trilogy comes to a mighty conclusion (his wife Stella smoothly completed the project) that will please those who read the previous two books (TROY: LORD OF THE SILVER BOW and TROY: SHIELD OF THUNDER). The key players from Virgil¿s epic poem The Aenid and Homer¿s Odyssey and Iliad come alive due to the creativity of the Gemmell duo. Although newcomers should start with the first tale, the final story is a stupendous ending to a strong retelling of the classic saga. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2