Customer Reviews for

Fall of a Kingdom (Farsala Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not Quite Sure

I like this book but I think it leaves a bit to be desired. Soraya is capable of greatness and great kindness but is held pack by her anger, vanity, and down right bratiness. Jiaan is sweet, handsome, and brave but has been beaten down so much by others that he does no...
I like this book but I think it leaves a bit to be desired. Soraya is capable of greatness and great kindness but is held pack by her anger, vanity, and down right bratiness. Jiaan is sweet, handsome, and brave but has been beaten down so much by others that he does not think he is capable of being a true leader and excellent warrior he is. Kavi I at least understand but he thinks to quickly and not enough and ends up regreting things when all he really wants is peace. The author has the power in the next installments of the trilogy to make Soraya the amazing warrior princess she was born to be, to make Jiaan the confident commander and superb warrior his father would be proud of, and to make Kavi a master spy and a man with his heart to a cause instead of a confused traitor who has a good heart but dosen't know how to use it. I also really want to see team work between the three main characters and love between them. Also while I love action and politics I think Bell did a little to much setting up for the story in this first book instead of actually telling it. However I can't wait to read the others and hope that they are a bit better than this one.

posted by Anonymous on June 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wow this is great not.

This series starts out great!!! But the last book is a disappointment if you don't mind that then this is a great book.

posted by Plastik289 on April 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    My favorite series

    Im very picky when it comes to what i read but i absolutely loved this one! I told multiple friends to read it, who liked it. Hilari really thought everything through, making the country and world highly believable. Loved the characters, really got me into the plot. I enjoyed who she wrote it as it is, not trying to pretty up or censor facts of war. I would say READ IT!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    Fall of a Kingdom was a title I picked up for its cover art. I had the book for about three months before I actually got into the story. I found the story a bit slow in the beginning, but then what story isn't? Once I got to know the characters the story took off I couldn't wait to read what happened next to each of the characters. I loved how Bell wrote each chapter from the view of one of her three main characters, Jiann, Soraya, and Kavi. Honestly the story only gets better and more interesting as the trilogy unfolds. I enjoyed this book but the 2nd and 3rd in the series are truly amazing works of art that every reader of fantasy should read. 5 stars for the Farsala Trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    love it

    Really love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2008

    Fall of a Kingdom Rules

    Do you want to read about a great fantasy battle? Do you want to read about a battle that could just be the end of a kingdom? Well then this book is for you. I really liked this book. The only weakness of the book is its beginning. This is one of Hilari Bell¡¯s better books. You won¡¯t want to miss reading the war of Farsala, and the great Hrum which you will find out about in the book. Read the awesome book, ¡°Fall of a Kingdom¡± today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    Best Book of the year

    I thought it was a wounderful and inspiring book and i encourage lots of young people to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    Absolutely wonderful!

    I could barely put this book down! I started reading it the twenty-eigth of November and finished it the next day. The book draws you in and keeps you there, the action around you wonderful, saddening, painful, joyous and exciting. I would easily recommend this book to anyone looking for a good medieval book to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    Thrilling

    This book is outstanding! Yeah it is a bit boring at the beggining but man it gets way better. Kavi is by far the best character in the book. When will the third come out?!?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2006

    Great Books by a Great Author

    Fall of a Kingdom and Rise of a Hero are now in my top 10 list of books that I have read. Fantasic plot draws you right into the Farsala universe. A must read for any fantasy buff. Can't wait for third book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2006

    One of the best book series ever!

    Oh my gosh! This book was so great because the reader could feel the characters' emotional plights and understand them. Also, since the book is written in 3 of the characters' points of view, each one of them knows different things. The reader wants to let each one of the characters know what is going on because they have the wrong impression and you feel nad for them. The author writes so well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2006

    Wonderful!

    This was a wonderful book that I had a very hard time putting down, and luckily I didn't have to put it down to often. I can't wait to read the second and third books, Hilari Bell is becoming one of my top authors. I first read her book the Goblin Wood and I came upon this one upon coincidence but I am very glad I stumbled upon it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    Bookworm

    This book was...outstanding man! You've got to read it! Action, adventure, trust, everything you find in a good book. Here it is! This was a crazily, awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    Amazing!

    A friend requested this book to me and I couldn't put it down! Bell was a new author to me and it was wonderful reading what she could do. I have not yet read the other books in the trilogy but I will soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2005

    One of my Top Five Favorites!

    These books are some of the best I¿ve ever read. I most love them for their rich characters. Hilari Bell¿s three main characters are delightfully clever and among the most realistic of any in all the books I¿ve ever read. You experience their circumstances and the effects of the choices they make along with them. Her intricate plot lures you right into the world of Farsala. The changes Jiaan, Kavi and Soraya undergo are skillfully and thought-provokingly brought about by Bell, and she weaves them subtly throughout circumstances of war and intrigue. I can¿t say enough about these books to do them justice! I strongly recommend this book and its sequel, Rise of a Hero, to anyone who loves riveting, lifelike fantasy-adventure, and I am dying for the third book in the trilogy to come out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2005

    great book

    bell does a wonderful job of setting up a fantastic trilogy. jiaan, kavi, and soraya are wonderful center pieces in this book. she really has created a wonderful tale of war, politics, and the ability to thrive where others would fold. oh yeah the hrum army is evil i know it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2005

    Amazing!

    This book was simply amazing! The characterization is detailed, but still leaves you guessing what will happen next. The other thing that impressed me, was adding magic without making it, for lack of a better word, cheezy. This is one of the best books you will ever find yourself reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    A Must Read!!!!!

    This is one of the best fantacy books since the lord of the rings. It is a must read for any fan of the genre. I personaly can't wait to read other titles from Bell

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    LOVE it (proceeds to moonwalk around the room)

    people hear my words (or read them if u're a detail person) this is by far one of the best books I've ever read, (and that IS saying a lot since I've read more books in my embryonic years than most people have in their lives) so if u read this book I hope u like it or I'll be forced to think u're weird,(sigh) and we wouldn't want that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2005

    Excellent

    This is the same book as Flame by her, just a different title. It is an excellent book. If you want the synapsis, read Flame's review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2005

    Amazing! Wonderful! Superb!

    I cannot say enough good things about this book. It was incredible! I loved the characters and how they changed throughout the book! The pace was perfect, too. It didn't move too slowly or too quickly. Nor was it too childish or too difficult to read. It is the perfect book, the best book I have ever read! I can't wait to read book 2 of this trilogy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2