Customer Reviews for

Fall on Your Knees

Average Rating 4.5
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It is not often that I am so moved by a novel...

This novel shook me to the very core of my being. The twists and turns, smatterings of cultural revelations, use of setting as a character in and of itself, and the musings on family (what makes a family and what isn't a family) all merged together to make for an extra...
This novel shook me to the very core of my being. The twists and turns, smatterings of cultural revelations, use of setting as a character in and of itself, and the musings on family (what makes a family and what isn't a family) all merged together to make for an extraordinary novel. The book is really lyrical and dark at the same time. I recommend this book to readers who are ready for heavy content that causes you to think very deeply about the human condition.

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Almost a masterpiece that ends up being pretentious rubbish!

Incest, rape, racism, violence, forbidden homosexuality coupled with religious fanaticism and ridiculous allegory! The story is fascinating at first, and then dissolves into a tragically bleak portrait of the darker side of an unsympathetic group of people that have th...
Incest, rape, racism, violence, forbidden homosexuality coupled with religious fanaticism and ridiculous allegory! The story is fascinating at first, and then dissolves into a tragically bleak portrait of the darker side of an unsympathetic group of people that have the misfortune to be related to one another. There is no doubt that the author is a compelling writer; the prose is often beautiful and brilliant but interactions between the characters are derivative and pretentious; those stories have been done more effectively before. Mostly, it seems as though MacDonald feverishly vomited every "bad" thought she ever had on to the page so that she could exorcise her own demons or come to terms with her own terrifyingly violent battles with horribly dysfunctional family relationships and religion. Granted, that can make for a powerful story, but in this case, it is simply a lurid, unoriginal mess that you are painfully embarrassed upon which to intrude. WARNING: it is likely that once you start the book, you will be unable to put it down. After a while you will keep reading because you have to know how it ends. Then you will shut the book, disappointed and furious that you invested so much time to read the whole silly thing. Despite the often lyrical prose, the book is simply not worth the time and emotional investment the author unsuccessfully attempts to evoke from the reader.

posted by WishICouldWrite on February 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    Beautifully written, but very disturbing

    I found this book to be extremely well written, but dark and very disturbing. It left a pit in my stomach and kept me thinking of the messed up characters well after putting it down. There were points in the novel where I simply HAD to stop reading because I was so disgusted by the storyline and wasn't sure I could finish it. Though Im a firm believer that all stories should be told, (not just light fluffy ones), I would be hard pressed to recommended this book to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Unlike anything

    Fall On Your Knees was unlike anything I've ever read as far as the storyline goes. Just when you think you know, you realize you don't. Some parts were slow going, especially in the beginning but if you stick with it, you won't be disappointed. This book takes you through just about every emotion. Some areas were a little confusing but everything comes brilliantly together in the end. If you enjoy stories about the complicated (and in this book, downright grotesque) relationships within a family, you will really enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2007

    Was good, but could've been better

    I'm not a big reader, but I think the fact that this family was so screwed up is what kept me reading. I do know what could've made it better: Mercedes shouldn't have ruined Frances's plan, and James should have died a horribly painful death. That would've earned the higher rating from me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2007

    GREATT!!

    this book was supprisingly remarkable... for those who enjooy reading.. you just got to give it some time because its slow in some parts but the rest was amazing .. it was a wonderfull story..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2007

    A disturbingly great epic

    This is not a quick read, which is good, because I tend to read good books quickly, and then find myself disappointed when they end... Well, it took me several weeks to finish this one, as it is not just a novel, it is an epic. A disturbingly good one. The characters and storyline are intense, thought-provoking and maybe at times confusing, but she keeps you wondering what will happen next and in the end, everything is wrapped up nicely 'all questions answered' in a memorable ending. As disturbing as Frances's character is, she was the most intelligent of the sisters and my favorite by far. I would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys long novels with a dark/intense plot. This would make an excellent book club book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    Incredible

    Absolutely loved this book. It draws you in and makes you want to turn the page until you figure out ALL the family secrets. Every chapter blew me away and was reminicent of early works of VC Andrews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2003

    Compelling, Haunting Novel

    Most of the readers out here are right about one thing: This novel is indeed haunting. I stayed up all night reading the last couple of chapters of the book; it had taken a totally unexpected twist. The book focuses on incest, interracial intimacy, and lesbianism! I was absolutely shocked about the lesbianism, even though I know this is a lifestyle that has been around since the beginning of time, although it was hidden back in the olden days. Anyway, I was totally thrown off and just a wee bit repulsed, but nevertheless, I could not put this book down. It does drag in the middle of the story though; I thought Francis' anthics were a little silly and annoying, however, she had a reason for her erractic behavior. Kathleen was just too perfect, according to the sick, twisted mind of her father, who put her on an unearthly pedestal, only to have her shatter his heart and unleash his demons..it is definitely food for thought, and you'll be chewing on it long after you've finished this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2003

    Oh my, did that just happen?

    The whole story in itself was shocking, but the last 60 pages just completely blew me away. I was not prepared for such an ending, but the book would not have been half as compelling without it. Not for the faint of heart, and definitely not a book for everyone. I think you have to fall into a certain category of readers to appreciate this book for its content and literary value.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    Mind Opening

    She crammed a lot into this one to make you think. It was unforgettable, shocking and will put some hair on your chest. Force yourself to read this one even if you are the tender-hearted. Fall on Your Knees was my summer read while I travelled through Russia. Everytime I went into one of those Russian Orthodox churches I couldn't help but picture the Piper sisters in the stained glass.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2002

    Tragic yet happy brave yet cowardly

    I absolutely loved Fall on your Knees! It started out a bit slow but once I got past all of the history of the Piper family I was drawn into their world of dark secrets. This was one book I could not put down and I found it to be very honest and real. Ann-Marie MacDonald has created a masterpiece!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2002

    Compelling

    I was ask to do a book report for my English class, and by chance I chose "Fall on your knees". I had no idea what I wonderful book that I was about to fall into! "Fall on your knees" will capture you and take you into the lives of the very disfunctional Piper family. The family has within it insect, and dark secrets from the past. It revolves around 4 sisters and their relationships with their father. At times its hilariously funny, and others its disturbing and shoking. I really do recommend this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2002

    A Literary Find

    This book is a classic. The dark humor, the beautiful syntax, and the plot that enthralls you from the first page all make this book a literary find, indeed. I recommend this book highly, and I wish the author had written more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2002

    Too Tough for Some of Oprah's Fans

    A compelling and thought-provoking read, Fall on Your Knees presents a variety of issues relevant today. While MacDonald is not always successful in the believability area, her character sketches are fantastic. It is unfortunate that so many of the reviewers here were confused by "bad" grammar (it's a realistic portrayal of Cape Breton speech, kids) and by fast forwards and flashbacks (it's not TV, so it doesn't have to have a half-hour storyline). While I disagree with some of the jacket quotes--hilarious and humorous are pretty off-base--it's sad that so many people felt that the book's greatest failing was its sorrow and pain. Life isn't always pretty, and MacDonald conveys this well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    Somewhat A Success

    I read this book at the end of last year and it still haunts me. It is a dark story of a very dysfunctional family. It does take a while to get into and if someone else wouldn't have recommended it so strongly I most likely wouldn't have finished it. For those who said it was confusing and a hard read, I am now a sophomore in high school and I understood it very well after reading the whole thing. I got very caught up in the beginning of how in love you think the two parents are but later in the book you find that very few emotions felt by any of the characters in the book are sincere. This book brought me some what of a wake up call to the incest, rape, and deception possible in a family situation. This book left me feeling slighty depressed after finishing it because of the lack of redemption in the story. I did overall enjoy the book for the simple fact that it was out of the ordinary while I do wish that the author would have explained the Arabic text. This book isn't for anyone who doesn't like to be challenged in their way of thinking or brought to realization that life is sometimes dark and disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    A nice change of pace from my normal type of reading

    I usually read the likes of Nora Roberts, Danielle Steele, VC Andrews, etc. (i.e. mindless, easy-to-read books). This book was very different. It took me awhile to get into the story, but once I did I was hooked. I couldn't wait to see how the lives of the characters unfolded. I cried a lot but enjoyed the subtle humor sprinkled throughout the book. I just gave my copy to a girlfriend and told her to read it right away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2002

    Hummmmm

    The book was very good. I have to be honest though I was interested in the begining but I really was interested during the last 150 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2002

    Mystical and riveting

    Fall on Your Knees vividly paints its characters with both human frailties and strengths. It's hard not to identify with something in each of the four sisters in the story. I read this book a number of months ago, but it's so well written that it has stayed fresh in my mind. It's a story of courage and inspiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2