Customer Reviews for

Fallen

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

amusing historical romance

In 1831 England, Isadore ¿Izzy¿ Temple thought she was having an erotic dream until she heard her bed companion moan. She realizes that a drunken Eppingham Rowley is sharing her bed. When other members of the Ton catch them in bed, the innocent Izzy claims a lov...
In 1831 England, Isadore ¿Izzy¿ Temple thought she was having an erotic dream until she heard her bed companion moan. She realizes that a drunken Eppingham Rowley is sharing her bed. When other members of the Ton catch them in bed, the innocent Izzy claims a lover¿s spat to ease the pressure off of the alcoholic sautéed Eppingham. She also knows she is ruined as far as the Ton is concerned because everyone now believes that she is a FALLEN woman of no virtue except for Eppie, who knows the truth.

Regardless of her defense of him, Eppie does the right thing and marries Izzy. However, he soon finds his intoxicated turn into the wrong bed may have been the best thing that ever happened to him. Izzy brings light to his worried soul and soon he is besotted with love for her.

FALLEN is an amusing historical romance that stars two wonderful characters and secondary players who add depths to the layers of misinterpretation of feelings and relationships. The story line is fun and filled with double meanings and tongue in cheek (not saying whose) retorts that add to the delectation. Celeste Bradley satirizes her sub-genre in a mirthful manner that should bring acclaim and a large contingency of readers to this debut author.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This book was overall pretty decent. I was in love with the firs

This book was overall pretty decent. I was in love with the first half of the book. The relationship that Izzy and Julien has is perfect in all ways. Izzy was a very great character to read about with her wit and connectible ways. With reading the first couple pages, an...
This book was overall pretty decent. I was in love with the first half of the book. The relationship that Izzy and Julien has is perfect in all ways. Izzy was a very great character to read about with her wit and connectible ways. With reading the first couple pages, and really the cover of the book, I expected Izzy not to be as sweet and innocent as she was. I loved how the author not only focused on their story but also of those in their circle. I enjoyed this book until the endless amount of conflict occurred. The conflict was truly pointless for the plot of the book in the fact that is just kept reoccurring in a nasty sequence. I understand the insecurities of the characters causes conflicts but what I do not get is why it happens a good 5 times, with the same exact conflict. I read, skimmed really, through it because of that chemistry from the beginning is what kept me going. 

posted by ForThisMoment on December 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    amusing historical romance

    In 1831 England, Isadore ¿Izzy¿ Temple thought she was having an erotic dream until she heard her bed companion moan. She realizes that a drunken Eppingham Rowley is sharing her bed. When other members of the Ton catch them in bed, the innocent Izzy claims a lover¿s spat to ease the pressure off of the alcoholic sautéed Eppingham. She also knows she is ruined as far as the Ton is concerned because everyone now believes that she is a FALLEN woman of no virtue except for Eppie, who knows the truth. <P>Regardless of her defense of him, Eppie does the right thing and marries Izzy. However, he soon finds his intoxicated turn into the wrong bed may have been the best thing that ever happened to him. Izzy brings light to his worried soul and soon he is besotted with love for her. <P>FALLEN is an amusing historical romance that stars two wonderful characters and secondary players who add depths to the layers of misinterpretation of feelings and relationships. The story line is fun and filled with double meanings and tongue in cheek (not saying whose) retorts that add to the delectation. Celeste Bradley satirizes her sub-genre in a mirthful manner that should bring acclaim and a large contingency of readers to this debut author. <p>Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was overall pretty decent. I was in love with the firs

    This book was overall pretty decent. I was in love with the first half of the book. The relationship that Izzy and Julien has is perfect in all ways. Izzy was a very great character to read about with her wit and connectible ways. With reading the first couple pages, and really the cover of the book, I expected Izzy not to be as sweet and innocent as she was. I loved how the author not only focused on their story but also of those in their circle. I enjoyed this book until the endless amount of conflict occurred. The conflict was truly pointless for the plot of the book in the fact that is just kept reoccurring in a nasty sequence. I understand the insecurities of the characters causes conflicts but what I do not get is why it happens a good 5 times, with the same exact conflict. I read, skimmed really, through it because of that chemistry from the beginning is what kept me going. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    great till the end

    i really enjoyed this book until the end when the friction between Izzy and Julian just kept on and on and on and on and on, etc., etc., etc. I finally put it down sometime before the last chapter and never finished it. Conflict in love stories is good, but when it goes on too long it irritates and bores. Time to move on to another book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2004

    Great read!!!

    This is a great book. I couldn't put it done! Izzy and Julian were great characters. A must read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2001

    Izzy makes my day!

    Having read perhaps five romances in the course of my life, I am far from an expert on the genre; I'm glad to have had the good fortune to find this one! Amusing and passionate, the story of Izzy and Julian has a spark of real, human honesty that so many stories lack...I strongly recommend it to those who enjoy not only a good romance but also a good read. (in addition, the tasteful cover makes this book quite acceptable in public!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2001

    Cool Summer Beach Read

    What a great summer read! Loved the author's use of description and dialog. Julian and Izzy captured my imagination and had me rolling along with them. The adventure and sexual tension between the characters really keeps the story moving. Not a dull moment. Kudos to the author, may she write more of this in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Fallenclan

    Leaders den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Enjoyable Read

    The story line encompassed so much over a long period of time without a loss of interest in the many characters which all blend together with expertise. Hope there is a follow-up on Matthew! Gloria

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    Cute book

    Good book. Simple read. The characters were very like able. Without giving away too much of the plot, hated the resolution to the main character's "problem." That was stupid. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Great story

    Kept going at a good pace Good read Recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Great beginning, disappointing ending

    Have to agree with ForThisMoment's revuew about this book. Really enjoyed the first half. The characters were pleasant and meshed really well together. It was hard to put down the book since I wanted to continue reading about their interactions. The first big conflict isn't too bad and between the garden and the wedding there's a bit too much conflict/distance, yet it would be acceptable if there was some resolution and reconnection after. But the strife merely gets drawn out. The plot becomes a bit stagnant and the story is harder to read. I spent the first half staying up late so I could keep reading. Spent the second half staying up late so I could force myself to finish the book. The ending was disappointing, especially since I'm not a fan of epilogues placed 20 years after the main story. I wanted to give this book 4 or 5 stars when I began, and felt 2 stars would be more apt for the end. So I'm giving it 3 because of how much I liked the beginning and the initial character personalities and interactions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Firekit

    Yawned and padded out

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Spiritheart

    Curled around firekit then fell asleep

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Autumnclan nursury

    Autumnclan bursury

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Jaywing

    She naps thinking about why blood was being harsh.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Warrior den

    A den in the rocks . The inside is big and there is a small stream running though it . The entrance is coverd by brambles to keep out some predators

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Excellant

    Loved every page of it. I hope she writes another book about this family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Good

    The story was good It took a strange turn in the middle and again at the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Silver

    Hands you a million bucks

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2