Customer Reviews for

Fallen

Average Rating 4
( 283 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(151)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Very good

This is my third book that I have read by Karin Slaughter and like with the others could not put it down.

posted by theReader278 on July 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 67 people found this review helpful.

BOYCOTT THIS PRICE!!!

Everyone, please start boycotting the prices greedy bookstores and greedier publishers are charging for nookbooks. B&N told me when I bought my nook last year that e-book prices would be much cheaper. This store needs to stand by what it advertised a year ago.

posted by Bandito on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    This is my third book that I have read by Karin Slaughter and like with the others could not put it down.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Suspenseful and amazing - Karin Slaughter at her best!

    Wow, where do I even begin with this series? Like I've said before, Karin Slaughter is probably my #1 favorite author and any true fan of the Grant County series can tell you these characters are seriously amazing. They feel like old friends now, so every time I read a new installment in the series it's like reuniting with them all over again. In this book, Faith's mother, Evelyn, is kidnapped and everyone is at a loss as to why. The crime scene is bloody and everyone knows if Evelyn isn't already dead she will be soon. Faith is shocked and terrified for her mother and she has to rely on her partner Will and Dr. Sara Linton to help her find Evelyn before it's too late.
    The characters in this series are absolutely amazing. I guess before I go too much further, this review might have some spoilers. There is a MAJOR event that takes place in Beyond Reach that changes everything, so if you haven't read that one yet and plan to in the future, I suggest you don't read this whole review. I guess you take that risk with any sequel to a book though. We see Faith sort of fall apart in this one and not without good reason. She's worried about her mother, but she's also worried about something happening to her kids. She's still a very strong, smart woman though and does anything and everything she can to figure out where her mother is. I'll admit, when both Faith and Will arrived on the scene several books ago, I wasn't too pleased. Not that they weren't well written, just that when I'm used to certain characters, change can be difficult. Now I really love them though. Will is very instrumental in trying to solve this case, since Faith is mostly at home protecting her kids. I love how successful he is despite his battle with dyslexia; he's developed ways of organizing his notes and things so that he's very efficient. He still seems to be embarrassed by his handicap, but not as much so as in previous books (probably because pretty much everyone knows about it now). Amanda Wagner (Will and Faith's supervisor, Faith's sort-of Aunt, and one of Evelyn's closest friends) takes charge of most of the investigation, with Will at her side. I wanted to slap her quite a few times in this book, and I know Will did too, for not being forthcoming with information pertinent to the case. She was trying to protect Evelyn and her secrets, but it seemed like every time Will would find out an important piece of information, Amanda already knew about it and so it wasted a lot of time. Even though she's extremely tough, and even that may be an understatement, we see a much softer side of Amanda in this book. Sara gets dragged into the investigation as well, examining the dead bodies that pop up and giving her two cents on the situation. I love Sara and I hate seeing her working in the hospital environment where I'm pretty sure she's unhappy; she needs to go back to having her own practice. Basically I just want to see her happy again. It's been almost 5 years since the "event that shall not be named" and she's still trying to find some normalcy in her life.
    I loved the twists and turns that are present in all of Karin Slaughter's books. Towards the end I had things figured out, but the ending was still explosive and amazing. Unlike some books, I think this one ended on a very good note so maybe I can rest easy until the next one comes out.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Read

    I was a big fan of Karin Slaughter's early work. While she remains a great writer, for me, her last few novels have fallen a bit short. Fallen has tremendous potential with gripping suspense and characters that stand out. But the cast of characters in this one is quite large and sometimes hard to keep track of. Slaughter's attempt to keep the suspense rendered an often frustratingly vague plot that didn't tie together until the very end. I found the conclusion too convenient in some aspects and a little unbelievable in others.

    This book is part of an ongoing series. Slaughter fills in plenty of details about her characters' pasts, so I don't think it would be a problem for a reader new to her work to follow along

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Outstanding Read

    Without revealing the plot let me say that this book is an excellent read that will keep you from wanting to put it down. Each page is filled with enough to hold your interest. The dialogue is believable and the plot first rate. And there is a nice romantic thread that develops throughout. Karin Slaughter has really grown as an author and I look forward to reading each new release.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Georgia police procedural is the usual gritty, gory and somewhat complicated thriller expected from Karin Slaughter

    Georgia Bureau of Investigations Special Agent Faith Mitchell calls her mom Evelyn, a retired narcotics police officer, who is not answering her phone. Faith sees her mom's door is open with blood on the knob and notices her baby is safely hidden in a nearby shed. Without regard to protocol or her own safety, Mitchell charges into the house where a hostage scenario turns ugly as one person is dead and another individual has a gun pointed at a third party; but mom is not there.

    Faith and her partner Will Trent search for the former's apparently kidnapped mom who allegedly was a dirty cop who may have been a cop killer. Both (more so Will) also spend time with widow Dr. Sara Linton who has seen first hand plenty of horror in Grant County as the former coroner and wife of the late police chief (see Broken and Undone). Meanwhile Faith has become the prime suspect in the shootout at her mom's residence while some other police retirees come to the assistance of Mitchell and Trent.

    The latest Georgia police procedural is the usual gritty, gory and somewhat complicated thriller expected from Karin Slaughter. The story line is action-packed with the underlying theme being family secrets can harm relationships. With a convoluted degree of seemingly no separation between key players, readers will still enjoy Fallen while wondering who's done what to whom.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Don't Bother

    Big dissapointment from a usually good author. Slow moving and underdeveloped. Struggled through and almost gave up at least 3x.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Disappointed, too

    I have read one Karin Slaughter book- Beyond Reach and enjoyed it enough
    to order this book. I read a "lot" and this book will make it's way
    to the library book sale, can't see passing this along to someone who will not like it either. I never write reviews, but this book was so
    mixed up with too many characters, several plots (i.e word "connection, used too many times). Too many off the wall comments, it was like the left hand didn't know what the right hand was doing. Poor, Stupid, dumb Will - I can't imagine a cop with that many mental problems - WOW.
    And on, and on it goes.... I have read all the reviews, can't believe I
    read the same book....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Disappointed!!!

    Ms. slaughter made the characters more dysfunctional in this book than the previous one. I like Will, but I don't like how she continues to weaken his character making him appear to be dumb,weak, and afraid of all the women in his life and definitely afraid to speak up. Amanda and Faith were too overbearing and just rude! Please don't let this happen with Sara. This was a very hard read to me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fallen

    Faith Mitchell, a GBI agent checks on her mother who is watching her child. No answer, and when she goes to investigate, a shoot out occurs, leaving one dead, the mother missing and the baby okay in the shed. Karin Slaughter has created a suspenseful novel filled with fascinating characters that keep this novel moving forward. It is possible her mother who is a retired police officer was a dirty cop and involved with some unsavory people. You won't believe how quickly you will read through this novel. A perfect companion for the beach this summer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    To moon

    I liked it - ebony

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Fallen screams proluge

    All I remember is screams, screams of my friend, boyfriend, sister, and worst of all..... my......... best friend. I don't know why but all i feel is pain that's running through my arms and fire. Fire that's around me. <p>
    Kiley says it's normal to see dreams of loved ones as they die. I really don't remember much but only one thing is clear. The bright grey eyes that lumed over me before i seeped into darkness.<p>
    <p>
    <p>
    Hoped you liked it. If you want more please coment. Thanks, Moon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    you have to read this book

    loved this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Recommend this book. Kept my interest.

    I have been reading this series of books and this one did not disappoint me. Good characters;good plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Killer

    Thx sis" takes then and leaves

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Fall

    Got them out" your gonna get a headache and then itll be over. No more dreams"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Finally!

    Excellent storyline! Wanted to know more about Wil and Sara. Can't wait for next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Ash

    Good night

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Elise

    I am not eavesdropping.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Sheila

    Okay :(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    David

    Got to go i'll be at sailing alone res 1later on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15