Customer Reviews for

Fallen (Lauren Kate's Fallen Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 5429 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2947)

4 Star

(1325)

3 Star

(640)

2 Star

(254)

1 Star

(263)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

52 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Fallen

I was ready to abandon reading this book about one hundred pages in because NOTHING WAS HAPPENING, and I have never not finished a book before. However, after the first half of the book, the pace picked up and I found myself staying up late to finish it. I agree, the en...
I was ready to abandon reading this book about one hundred pages in because NOTHING WAS HAPPENING, and I have never not finished a book before. However, after the first half of the book, the pace picked up and I found myself staying up late to finish it. I agree, the ending is rushed (preparing us for the next book, no doubt) and several things are left unexplained, which is annoying. However, Lauren Kate writes beautifully and makes you feel like Luce feels. It's also different than all the Twilight re-creations going around out there--no vampires here! I would give it a B overall. It's worth the read but you have to push yourself through the first half for sure!

posted by AnastasiaBe on December 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

80 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

A Bit Of A Let Down.... :(

After I saw the great reviews, alluringly dark book cover and promising summary of the book, it seemed like it was worth the money. Then came the reading.. there were parts throughout the story where I had to drag myself to continue reading and it seemed that the book's...
After I saw the great reviews, alluringly dark book cover and promising summary of the book, it seemed like it was worth the money. Then came the reading.. there were parts throughout the story where I had to drag myself to continue reading and it seemed that the book's direction was at a constant stand-still. If anything, the plot sounded REALLY cool at first but if not for the out-of-motion sequence of events and bland characters, I would have given the book a solid 4 stars.

In general, I recommend this book to anyone who has the patience to read through this one.

posted by TheForbiddenFruit521 on December 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    A Bit Of A Let Down.... :(

    After I saw the great reviews, alluringly dark book cover and promising summary of the book, it seemed like it was worth the money. Then came the reading.. there were parts throughout the story where I had to drag myself to continue reading and it seemed that the book's direction was at a constant stand-still. If anything, the plot sounded REALLY cool at first but if not for the out-of-motion sequence of events and bland characters, I would have given the book a solid 4 stars.

    In general, I recommend this book to anyone who has the patience to read through this one.

    80 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    Supernatural Romance

    Before reading this young adult fantasy novel, Fallen, I knew it involved a human falling in love with a fallen angel. While I am extremely not a Goddess-rejecting monotheist, I reminded myself that I love Neil Gaiman's novel Neverwhere and it involves a fallen angel, and the idea of a mortal falling in love with a supernatural piqued my curiosity.

    It didn't take me long to figure out that Fallen caters to fans of Twilight. The main character, Luce, is a teen who has recently been a witness to or perpetrayer of a horrific death, and as a result this top student has been enrolled into a school for problem teens. Like Bella in Twilight, she is in a strange place and starting at a strange school, where she feels vulnerable because she doesn't know the other students. Furthermore, Luce is drawn to a supernatural being, a beautiful young man, even though he treats her badly.

    However, the writing quality is, while poor, much better than that of the Twilight series; it is lively where Twilight is dull and flat. On one hand, Fallen is a page-turner and I was genuinely interested in the characters; on the other hand, the book is full of "sentences" that are in fact fragments, and "paragraphs" often consist of one or two sentences.

    My favorite parts of the book involved Luce and a friend researching Xian mythology in the school library.

    It was a relief to me that Luce is a vegetarian who was brought up agnostic, especially given that the Twilight series is written by a conservative Xian. The book didn't seem to be from a conservative Xian perspective.until the reader learns something very significant toward the end, after getting sucked into the plot. I was deeply disappointed and disgusted when I found out why the author chose to make Luce an agnostic and absurdly makes it out to be a most unfortunate situation. Being brought up to think for herself is infinitely better than growing up brainwashed. For that matter, it seemed odd that the school taught a class called "religion," and it doesn't seem as if any religion other than Xianity is covered by that class.

    The last thing teen girls need is to read novels that lure them in with suspense and romance.only to give them dogma from an essentially patriarchal religion. Luce is a stronger and more interesting character than Bella, although like Bella her obsession with the jerk gets rather trying and I eventually began to wish she had some hobbies. But at least she doesn't cook and clean for her dad, and at least Daniel, the fallen angel, isn't stalking her.

    58 out of 126 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great plot, but that's it :(

    I really expected more out of this book, and am really sad i didn't get it because the plot is fantastic. fallen angels, star-crossed lovers, a confusedly in love protagonist reborn even 17 years to fall in love with the same man. how could this not be an awesome book???

    well, i'll tell you:

    the first 3/4 of the book is basically nothing. You get to know Luce and follow her around her first week at her new reform school. Which is nothing like a reform school should be! you know, like, attempting to REFORM it's students. students cut class and sneak off the "high security" campus with not so much as a wrist slap. it felt very unbelievable and came across as laziness on the author's part. She seemed focused on daniel and luce's ghost of a relationship (which she did a good job on!) but kind of just let the rest of the pieces pick themselves up. This weakened the story a lot.

    Then suddenly the last 1/4 of the book everything happens in a messy whirlwind. Nothing is explained properly, and what is explained is over-explained to an underestimated and slightly irritated reader who would just like to get on with it. She throws bible references at you that should have been slowly revealed throughout the course of the novel so that the reader could stay enticed with this ancient, biblical, fallen angel mystery. But instead you're left even more confused and frustrated when they're half-assedly thrown out there and then never explained. (Feels like improper research to me. Will it be explained in the next book? I'm not wasting money to find out. It should have been explained in this book, or not thrown at you until the second book. Weak attempt at keeping the reader.)

    The author also makes the mistake of making the protagonist Luce little more than a marionette, twisted this way and that by different characters and by the plot and having no real control over the events that transpire. She takes no initiative and has no real end goal except a weak attempt at figuring out why she's suddenly in love with this random guy named Daniel. None of this fallen angel stuff is actually even revealed until the end.

    For all the thoughts of Luce's that the reader is privy to, the book should have been written in first person. The reader stays with her from start to finish (minus the prologue which was probably the best part of the novel - and a very good part!) and hears all of her somewhat tedious and repetitive internal monologue. And because she's a marionette, her thoughts can get a little whiny and pitiable - which is not what any reader wants from their protagonist throughout the entire journey that you are stuck with her! It made me wish that Daniel was the protagonist instead because he was the character with the goal and the only character with real initiative.

    So, all in all, a great idea executed poorly.

    21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    COME ON PEOPLE...REALLY???

    Some of you are being way too generous with your stars. This book was terrible. The plot was so thin you could see right through it, but somehow someway, Kate still manages to be as vauge as possible answering none of the questions presented in the book. In fact if you read the synopsis you won't even have to read the book. The pace was painfully slow and the characters were unimaginitive and hollow. They had no substance and you never really got to know them. Honestly, tell me 3 things about Luce's personality. I gave it two stars only because I finished it and that's not saying much.

    14 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Predictable, Bad Narration

    This book is about fallen angels and humans being in love which if you've read any other fallen angel book you know is a forbidden love. Since I have read so many fallen angel books... i really think this is one I could have skipped, but i heard the sequel is really good, I may give this series a chance. This book is great for younger teens like 13-15 but would probably be too predictable and immature for someone older. I was pulled in by the story line however there wasn't much to it, and the main character is so boring. She never does anything...ever. The people around her have to move the plot along while we never get to know the main character at all, so when bad things happened to her... I really didn't care. I prefer books with really strong main characters who fight to control their own destiny not lay back and watch everyone else.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mediocre

    After finishing this book I realized that I just don't find angels sexy. It doesn't even matter if they are fallen. Besides that this story was empty and flat. The characters were underdeveloped and boring. I did not even understand why an angel was in love with the heroine. Luce did not stand out or shine in any way. The writing was choppy and erratic. I never really knew what was going on and I didn't really care.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Just twilight with angels

    I mean, it's not Twilight bad, but it's not miles better either. The first book is okay, the sequel is really lame, and the third book is just boring. In my opinion, at least.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    Spoiler free review! WHOOO! I'd seen this book at the bookstore

    Spoiler free review! WHOOO!

    I'd seen this book at the bookstore many times and I finally read it to find out what all this hubbub is all about. And it's nothing special. I must confess that I was in a daze for about the whole last quarter of the book. I found myself just wanted it to end, so I could be relieved of this torturous monotony. In short, I didn't care much about what happened to any of the characters. It was really cheesy in a lot of parts and there was so much "Daniel and Luce love each other so much!", without any REAL explanations as to why. I feel that is a fatal flaw of a lot of YA writers these days. All these guys are in love with this one girl FOR NO GOOD REASON. You've got to make this believable people! You don't just love people for no reason. I don't think this was a good book at all, the writing was nothing special, and some ideas in here seemed pretty good, but it was just executed so poorly. Because I believe that we should read both the marvelous and the rubbish, I would say read this book---to know what rubbish looks like and to not regurgitate it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    Flat, boring, dull

    I read this book when it first came out and remembered not really liking it. So when the sequel, Torment, came out I decided to give Fallen a second chance. I still don't like it! The heroine Luce is boring and utterly unremarkable; Hard to believe an angel would fall for her. The writing is very dull and repetitive. Comparisons between Luce's old school and new school...one boy who likes her and the other boy that maybe likes her...it's all a snooze. The story is very underdeveloped and slow. You can read the entire book and still not much is revealed. I thought re-reading Fallen would make me more curious to read Torment...we'll see.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    Horrible! Its a better idea to NOT read this book

    The book Fallen by Lauren Kate consists of a girl named Luce that gets sent to the boarding school Sword and Cross for apparently killing her former boyfriend with a kiss. That is one of the reasons this book is disgusting. It fails to explain to the reader how and why and all the things people tend to wonder about. Luce gets visits from these kinds of ghost/shadow things, at the end of book 1 we are left with the question: are they good or bad? Are they a warning of some sort? Then Luce finds that a guy named Cam expresses that he wants to be more then friends. But even though she has Cam she has this unknown pull to another guy named Daniel who treats her like dirt. Yet she doesn't get the message that she's not wanted and then she starts stalking the fellow! When Cam sneaks Luce and himself to a bar it turns out that Daniel was the one that was the stalker. I don't at all understand what Luce was thinking in the beginning I have to say most people would have gone for Cam. There was also this fire incident that the shadows were leading her out and then she fainted and her friend died. I thought that that had absolutely nothing to do with the story. Once Daniel confessed he was a fallen angle and that they were meant to be a huge fight started out side. They author decided to not give us any specifics or even tell us what the fight/war was about. This was a very poorly written book. Maria Carrillo-Marquina

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    Crestfallen

    Ever since Twilight, every author wants to make a tragic love story, so immortality has become a trite theme in the young adult genre. This concept had refreshing possibilities: a love dying before it blooms only to be reborn and die again and again. However, for more than half the book NOTHING happened, except a rehashing of the main characters' stalker and bipolar tendencies. In fact it was with exactly 150 pages until the end that the plot suddenly moved out of the static exposition phase. Events and information came at Luce from all directions, leaving her and the reader confused and annoyed on the last page.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    Not that Great...

    Fallen by Lauren Kate is a story about a teenager named Lucinda who has her "love at first sight" when she attends Sword & Cross, a boarding school. She believes deep down that she has met Daniel Grigori before, but he keeps denying it. She has a strong attraction to Daniel, even when a boy named Cam is trying to get close to her. She is a confused teenager at a regular high school with an unoriginal plot. As soon as I saw the book at Barnes and Noble, I thought it was going to be a good book. It had a beautiful cover and an interesting synopsis.
    The settings were very random and it bothered me. Here we have a school, then right outside, there is a cemetery. That was the most random thing. Then hormonal-crazed Lucinda and her lover(s) hang out in the cemetery. I did not see this as romantic, even though one of her crushes said it was the only place they could be alone, which made it a little romantic. I guess Sword & Cross is a boarding school for juvenile delinquents? I'm a little confused for what Sword & Cross is for. As I recognize, everyone did something bad to get into Sword & Cross and there are cameras everywhere, spying on everyone at everyone moment.
    Lucinda's insatiable love for Daniel was really annoying. It sounded fake and cliché. I hate the fact that Lucinda sounds like a teenager who knows she's in love, but yet she's confused whether she likes Cam or Daniel. She becomes obsessed about Daniel, and then stalks him. This does not teach our kids how to show we like someone. Whenever she is with Daniel, she always says how beautiful his hair, eyes, or body is. I'm okay with explaining how beautiful someone is, but she brings it up way too often. Even when she glances at him, she starts saying how beautiful his eyes are and how she wants to be with him.
    The plot development was okay. It was like any regular developed book. I never found anything special with this book and I would not recommend this book to anyone. I don't understand why people reviewed it as 4 or 5 stars, but I was rather disappointed with this book. Never judge a book by its cover. It had beautiful cover art, but there was average writing. I think this book is good for reading if you're in junior high, but not when you're an adult.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    okay

    this is a emo and goithic book

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Jake

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    WHAT THE HECK so the book was okay like in the first half. A bit

    WHAT THE HECK so the book was okay like in the first half. A bit boring though. Then like towards the end of the book then EVERYTHING started happening.LITERALLY. It was really confusing. All the actions happened right at the end of the book. This book had a great review and everything but I it was a let down. I am happy I didn't buy the series and just the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    I didn't like this book and can't honestly give it a good rating

    I didn't like this book and can't honestly give it a good rating but I want to say why. There were several things I didn't like about Fallen.  I didn't like Luce. She put herself in dangerous situations a lot so she came across a bit on the ditsy side. I spent most of the story wondering what was going on and what was going to happen as well as who/what Daniel was. 

    The last 100 pages or so answered a lot of my questions but that didn't make the rest of the book any more enjoyable.

    I won this book in a giveaway in February but put off reading it because books with paranormal content are not my favorites but the blurb sounded good and it had so many good reviews that I really thought I would like it. But, sadly, I didn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    I really, really wanted to like this book despite the poor revie

    I really, really wanted to like this book despite the poor reviews I've read and the many people likening it to Twilight (a book I can't stand). So after much debate with myself, I decided to give a shot, and reading the prologue made me hope it was going to be okay. While I wouldn't say that it was god-awful, it was pretty close. Luce is exactly what Miss Sophia calls her -a stupid, selfish, and ignorant heroine. What little personality she has centers around her attraction to Daniel, and the more irritating traits (petty jealous and hatred towards Gabbe, general fickleness between Cam and Daniel, etc.) are more noticeable than the good ones. I was hoping that she would be a strong-minded, funny, and admirable heroine but instead she’s hopelessly insipid. (But she does have more wit than the likes of Bella Swan, so props to her for that.)
    Writing-wise, I wouldn’t say it’s anything special. The pace made the book feel much longer than it is and for much of the book –even the more exciting parts- dragged. And the Biblical references that she throws in the reader’s face are awkward and slanted at best and flat-out wrong at worst.
    Suffice to say, I’m pretty disappointed even though I knew what I was getting into. I wish the story had lived up to the gorgeous cover. I like the idea of the book rather than the book itself, which I guess shows you that a poor execution can really kill a story, no matter how interesting it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Message

    My friend read this and said its a must read! Is this really a good book. I like books that will keep u hooked up for hours and hours! Is this that type of book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    So This book was a re-read for me. I wanted to listen to it befo

    So This book was a re-read for me. I wanted to listen to it before I finished the series, and I knew I didn't have time to fit it in with my other books so I chose instead to listen to it. The first time I read it was when it was in ARC form when it first came out, and since then years and circumstances have changed. The first time I read it I completely loved it. I was taken by the characters and the triangle that was Luce, Cam and Daniel, this time however things changed.

    I wish that I had stayed as in love with it, but the back and forth between Daniel and Cam irked me after awhile. There were only so many times I could listen to her bemoan having to decide between the two boys and make it sound like fun. As someone who was caught in a love triangle, its not as fun as she made it seem. And there certainly wasn't as many presents and flattery thats for sure.

    I remembered a lot of things going into this book, like Cam's status and who all the good guys and bad guys were. I remembered who was important and some of the key events that happened, so mostly I used this as a re-fresher. Knowing everyones true intentions as I went into this made their attempts to get close to Luce very obvious and clear to me that there were no good intentions.

    What I didn't remember was the epilogue and how things turned out with Cam and Daniel, and I had no idea where book two is going to go. As I type this I still haven't really read the description either, but I am looking forward to seeing where its going to go. It does seem like the new book has better ratings than the first.

    I really enjoyed the support cast in this book, so I'm hoping we get more of Aryian, Rollan, and Gabby. I want to know more about their scars and things about them. One thing I loved about this book is that there is so much unspoken history between all the characters and must be a pot full of delicious drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Goodness.. If only I would've kept my receipt! Such a snore fest

    Goodness.. If only I would've kept my receipt! Such a snore fest. Nothing exciting happens at all. Don't waste your time. Wish I had listened to these reviews instead of falling for the trap of the overview. The overview probably being the most interesting thing of the book! >_<

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 254 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13