Customer Reviews for

Fallen (Lauren Kate's Fallen Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 5392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2926)

4 Star

(1320)

3 Star

(635)

2 Star

(250)

1 Star

(261)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

I loved reading this wonderful book! The cover is so beautiful. Love it.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

78 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

A Bit Of A Let Down.... :(

After I saw the great reviews, alluringly dark book cover and promising summary of the book, it seemed like it was worth the money. Then came the reading.. there were parts throughout the story where I had to drag myself to continue reading and it seemed that the book's...
After I saw the great reviews, alluringly dark book cover and promising summary of the book, it seemed like it was worth the money. Then came the reading.. there were parts throughout the story where I had to drag myself to continue reading and it seemed that the book's direction was at a constant stand-still. If anything, the plot sounded REALLY cool at first but if not for the out-of-motion sequence of events and bland characters, I would have given the book a solid 4 stars.

In general, I recommend this book to anyone who has the patience to read through this one.

posted by TheForbiddenFruit521 on December 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2926 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 147
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I loved reading this wonderful book! The cover is so beautiful. Love it.

    51 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I loved reading this wonderful book!

    31 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fall in love with Fallen

    Lucinda (Luce) is starting at Sword & Cross reform school in Georgia after a mysterious incident at her old school got her kicked out. She makes instant friends with Arriane and Penn, two of the friendlier girls at the school. She also catches the eyes of two different boys right away - one who genuinely seems to like her and another who makes it clear he wants nothing to do with her. It is the latter, named Daniel, whom she can't deny a connection to. But the deeper she digs into these curious feelings, the darker her life becomes.

    I must admit: I was nervous that all the hype for FALLEN was unwarranted. That it would not live up to the exciting things I heard about it. Boy was I proven wrong! Once I had read the first few chapters, I found it very hard to put this book down. I felt the school was both romantic and gothic. I loved the secondary characters of Arriane, Penn, and Miss Sophia. I did not fall for Daniel quite as hard as Luce did, but could absolutely see what made him so alluring. The only odd piece of the story was that for a reform school of crazy/wayward kids, they don't come across any different than any other high school.

    FALLEN was a fantastic start from Lauren Kate. I am looking forward to TORMENT, coming out fall 2010!

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    Best book I have ever read.

    This book is 100% the best book i have ever read. I of course use to be into vampires and such but this book has brought me into a new place where instead of an Edward by my side there is a Daniel. This book keeps you reading until all hours of the night. Me and my friend have discussions on this book to. This book has a strong romance line and very realistic characters. inside all that fiction is actually non-fiction inside. This book i would recommend for strong readers, but 11 year old would enjoy it too. You can read this book anytime and love it! I'm 12 and my friend 13 and we can't stop talking about the book. So if you enjoy romance, reform schools, bad kids, good kids, and most importantly angels then this is your book!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    best book !!

    i have read alot of books and series such as vampire academy , house of night, night world and others like that. and this book was so amazing i will recommend this book to anyone i meet i don't care if its a rip off of another book because this book hooks you and you cant put it down i read it in one day it was so amazing ((:

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    a Page Turner!!

    I usually go for the historical fantasy book and I usually absolutely had books that have a modern setting. However I was hooked on the first page and spent the whole night finishing it. The cover definately makes the book seen darker than it is and the ending I didnt see coming at all!!! Definately give this book a try no matter what your in to.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    Absolutely wonderful

    I loved this book so much, I felt like I can relate to alot of the events in the main charachters life and I will have no problem reading it again. It's thrilling, Edgy and Unforgettable, Lauren Kate is my favorite author of all times.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I thought the book was great and I will read it again,and will read the next one because there will be a next one.

    The book leaves you knowing there will be another.You don't want to put the book down because you what to know whats going to happen.Why is Danial mean to Luse?Why is Cam so nice that you think he's no good?and what are the shadows that keep haunting Luse?And then when you finally get to the end and get the goods,its short and sweet untill the next book explains the rest.About the book,Danial is a fallen angel.Luce has found him time and time again when she's seventeen even thow she doesn't know him when she see's him.There brought together somehow.And from what I tell ,Luce is this special human girl,she's special to the angals anyway,I don't know why untill the next book.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fallen in Love with this book :D (such a cliche of me)

    Dark, Suspenseful, and Romantic. How could you ask for anything more. This book had me on edge, frantically flipping pages to find out what would happen next. I absolutely fell in love with the characters (even the evil ones if I say so myself) and cannot wait to read Torment. The plot was mysterious and lovely at the same time. If you read this book, you'll have to bring it with you anywhere until you finish, so make sure you've got time. And after your done reading, you'll be disappointed, not of the book, but about being finished so suddenly. Any reader of any genre would fall in love with this book. So what the heck, give it a try! I promise you'll love it :D.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great start to a new series.

    From the moment I started this book I couldn't put it down. Upon completing the book you can see that this is just the jump start for a series, leaving the reader with so many questions and hopes what is to come. Not all of the characters are fleshed out but you get just enough from them to get a small sense of who they are and how they will become somewhat vital in the future of the story. It left me wanting more and in steep anticipation for further installments.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS BOOK IS AWESOME!!!!

    i could not put this book down....this book to me is even better than twilight. i cannot wait till the second book of this series comes out!!!! if you loved the house of night series or even twilight i recommend this book!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ...and I thought Twilight was good!

    Fallen was the best book I have read since the Twilight series (when its all said and done it may even be better!). I loved every single detail that Lauren Kate wove into this story. Luce is a great character and Daniel is amazing! I was left with so many questions (in a good way) and the NEED FOR MORE!! If you have any doubt whether this is a book for you just read the first chapter and you will be hooked. September 2010 can't come soon enough!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LOve IT

    It was an amazing book. I literaly stayed up till three in the morning reading. It really does appeal to the twilight audiance. It is a sereis and you will have to wait a year to read the next book tormented. Can't wait.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Left me breathless!!!!

    Fallen. One single word and it had my interest. Fallen is a book about this girl and this one guy...... I'm going to leave it there because I can't give anything away. I knew that the story was going to have something to do with a fallen....insert name here, but I was OK with that because I loved Hush, Hush. This book will capture you form page one! It is breathtaking, romantic, and thrilling, Definitely worth the money. Go out and buy this!!!! "What if the person you were meant to be with, could never be yours?" This quote drew me in!!!! Love love love this book and Daniel!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book! So glad that it is a series!!!!

    Lauren Kate's newest novel, Fallen, creates an epic world of drama, adventure and love that you just can't put down! After a terrible tragedy, Luce is sent to a boarding school. Left feeling abandoned by her family and tormented by dark shadows that no one else can see, Luce attempts to embrace her new school. She soons falls for Daniel, a rebel that ignores her when he is not insulting her; while being romanced by Cam, the charming escape artist. Luce doesn't know that the boys in her life epitomize good and evil, or that her choice could spell the end of the world...

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    A-mazing!!!!

    Lots of people say this book has no character and that its lifeless but that didn't stop me from never putting it down. In my opinion this boom is awesome and I looove it's characters. This is the first book that got me into teen supernatural romance books and I never regretted guying it or the rest of the series so now three almost four years later my copy if this book is still in great shape and I still enjoy reading it. It will always remain special and amazing to me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Would you fall?

    When entering a new school, it's difficult to try to connect with the other students; but when you're entering a reform school after being accused by everyone, including your parents, of murdering your boyfriend in a fire, it is extremely difficult. When Luce Price enters Sword and Cross after a fatal fire that took her boyfriend and her long dark locks, she finds herself alone and questioning her own memory. Luce quickly learns that connections from the outside world are cut besides one measly fifteen minute phone call a week. After orientation she stumbles into a crowd of moody teenagers with major problems. In a few hours Luce lands herself in the most notorious crowd of the school, or so it seems to her. In a day she becomes torn between Cam, who would do anything for her, and Daniel, the boy that flipped her off the first time she saw him. The attraction she feels for Daniel is something deeper and possibly more treacherous than his dangerously good looks, but whenever she tries to take a step towards him, Daniel takes two back. When things change with Luce and Daniel's relationship, everything changes. Luce seems to have to let go completely of everything she knew and thought she knew for someone that can't seem to make up his mind.
    Lauren Kate's second novel shows off her ability to build the suspense until one can't take it anymore. The intimate details Kate gives the reader has them itching and wanting for more. With connections and allusions in the novel that make the reader wish they had read Paradise Lost by John Milton in high school like the kids at Sword and Cross. Kate creates story that has the reader questioning what is really happening till the every last page. Fallen has everything a young-adult romance needs; passion, rebellion, and angst.
    Angels have never been as devious as they are in Fallen. It has the reader asking themselves; would you fall from paradise for your one true love?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well, I liked it.

    I'd been seeing this book pop up on my online recommendations thingy for awhile and just last week, I finally picked it up at the store and started it. At first I was a little skeptical but I really started to like it past the first chapter. It kept going strong throughout the entire book after that and I'm looking forward for the next one!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is amazing

    When i got this book i did not even read the back or anything i just picked it because of the cover and i know that might be kind of childish but that was the way i got and i really didn't expect much from it but it was freaking amazing i got hooked right away this was really the first time i really enjoyed a book. When I finished the book and i saw when the next book was going to be released i was really mad because i had like 5months until it came out because i could not wait that long i loved it that much.

    I JUST REALLY ? THIS BOOK EVERYONE SHOULD READ IT!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!!!!!

    I loved Fallen with all my heart. This book is one of the very few books i can actualy say i have nothing negative to say towards it. First off the plot line of this story was to die for! There was never a dull moment. The characters filled me with intrigue. Even though there characters i liked more than others thats how it is in every book. It was not the usualy setting of a school this school was diffrent. It had darkness to it and that was what interested me the most. This book shows you that even in the darkest of places you may find light!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2926 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 147