Customer Reviews for

The Fallen Angel (Gabriel Allon Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 198 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I won't go over the plot line, etc. since you can get all of tha

I won't go over the plot line, etc. since you can get all of that from the product detail and other reviews. But as someone who has read all of Daniel's novels, I would rate this one up there right at the top (The Defector is still my all-time favorite, but this one is ...
I won't go over the plot line, etc. since you can get all of that from the product detail and other reviews. But as someone who has read all of Daniel's novels, I would rate this one up there right at the top (The Defector is still my all-time favorite, but this one is very, very, very close). What I especially liked about this installment of the Gabriel Allon series was that the characters seemed more alive and vivid then perhaps any of the previous books. As always, the reader feels like they are really in the locations of the action, which includes a couple of my favorite places: Rome and Jerusalem. And as is also always the case with a Silva novel, the story is based on current events that Daniel has researched extensively. Also, I should add that, unlike some thrill writers, Daniel actually uses the English language very well - clear, yet elegent. All-around, this book is as close to perfect as one could hope for!!

posted by ScottBrazil on July 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is a deeply hyped book, which I thought was about artwork a

This is a deeply hyped book, which I thought was about artwork and mystery in the Vatican. It's not...it's the problems we all see in TV on the cable news stations....very boring and disappointing. If you want to try and understand the cobwebs of the Hebrews and Musli...
This is a deeply hyped book, which I thought was about artwork and mystery in the Vatican. It's not...it's the problems we all see in TV on the cable news stations....very boring and disappointing. If you want to try and understand the cobwebs of the Hebrews and Muslims fight over the Middle East...this might answer it...but not really. It's someone's best guess....and shows that all the financial ruins of every country, is tied up with one-up-man-ship on a global scale. They get in bed with evil to catch evil and it's not working. Ho-hum and no one knows any answers. Watch the news...it's just as convoluted. And it's real.

posted by Tessa11111 on August 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    The fallen angle

    I really want to reaad this so diespreatly.

    4 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Fallen Angel - Great Read

    I highly recommend this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Fenne 壯

    "Yesm bios at a book called Malice: Faithful and the Fallen."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Great fast moving read

    I have read several of the books by this author, but by no means all, yet I still followed the story and the characters with ease. I will now go back and read some of his earlier works to catch up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Very Good

    I enjoyed most of the buildup to what I knew was going to happen near the finish.

    Too many connections to make (Pope / mafia type / antiquities thefts and threats against Israel)

    I may have read too many of Mr. Silva's Gabriel Allon series (all of them except the newest one). I do not think this was his best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Medecine cat den

    Medecine cat den

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Is this

    Is this like the weeping angels from doctor who?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    awesome

    love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Best Allon adventure in a while!

    Th two books before this one were getting very formulaic: damsel in distress, she dies, Allon nearly dies. This one was a little different. I especially enjoyed the scenes in Isrrael.y

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    A Must Read

    There was no disappointment in the story, dialogue or the interplay between all the familiar characters. I always find myself comparing
    Gabriel to Lucas Davenport of the Prey novels: they are both always torched inside by their humanity, yet still retain their willingness to step outside the bounds most of us think we would keep, so we get to keep believing in good over evil.





    d

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Excellent !!

    If your a fan of Gabriel Allon or new to this series. Fallen Angel was breath taking. This is one of my favorite series. I'm not Jewish or ever been to Israel but man they seem to be the only people on earth that get what we're up against with Islam. Will eagerly await the next entry into this thrilling series!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    A well-crafted plot that keeps your interest. My only criticism

    A well-crafted plot that keeps your interest. My only criticism is that Gabriel goes to some great places in the world, but the descriptions could be more evocative. It almost feels like the book is racing to finish, and not letting you feel a sense of place. Okay, the descriptions of places in Jeruselem are better (don;t want to spoil it,) but other places not as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Like other reviewers, I did not think that The Fallen Angel was

    Like other reviewers, I did not think that The Fallen Angel was the best Daniel Silva work I have read. But, I did enjoy it. It has much of the same as his previous novels, and that's both good and bad. For one, we are reading an old friend as it were. For another, haven't we read this before? There's really nothing new in The Fallen Angel. But as I enjoy the company of old friends, I did read the novel and enjoyed much of it. A couple of problems I had would reveal plot points, so I won't mention them. But the plot has holes, for sure. Some of the material was just too familiar. I like Gabriel Allon, Chiara, the Old Man, and I like traveling among Europe's capitals visiting museums, cafes, galleries and churches. And I will like them even more if the next Gabriel Allon story comes up with some fresh ideas, perhaps some new good guys, and an airtight plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    Retired Israeli spy Gabriel Allon is spending time in the Vatica

    Retired Israeli spy Gabriel Allon is spending time in the Vatican restoring a Caravaggio’s painting, but when the body of a Vatican curator is discovered one morning in Saint Peter’s Basilica, Luigi Donati, Pope Paul VII’s private secretary, secretly asks Gabriel to conduct a private investigation for Donati’s eyes only. Gabriel reluctantly accepts, convinced that the death of the woman is not a suicide but a murder; her broken neck, a missing piece of jewelry and her apparently deliberate barefoot-ness tell him so.
    When Gabriel begins to dig deeper, he discovers that the late curator had been calling a phone number outside Rome and he visits the house, only to find the owner has met an untimely, gruesome demise. Enters General Ferrari, an Italian policeman in charge of the Art Theft division, who tells Gabriel the story of the dead man’s true occupation: a capo zona of tombaroli, tombs robbers who deal with valuable antiquities.
    When General Ferrari suggests that Gabriel have a talk with a prominent expert in antiquities, Gabriel stumbles upon a woman with ties to Donati’s secret past, and most importantly, with the name of the killer he is searching for. Donati knows the killer too well, only he can’t prove it. The suspected killer works at the Vatican Bank, and has been using it for years as a channel for his criminal activities as a smuggler of stolen ancient art with ties to one of the world’s most dangerous and lethal terrorist organizations.
    Gabriel has no choice but to go back to Israel and assemble his team of operatives to conduct an operation in search for proof of the killer’s links to organized crime, money laundering and the murder of which he is suspect. In his quest, Gabriel comes face to face with true evil and must prove his mettle if his country and the world are to survive another day.
    This last installment of the Gabriel Allon series is several things but boring is not one of them, not by a long shot. In The Fallen Angel, Daniel Silva takes us on a historical ride through time and faith, exposing us to the roots of the conflict between Israelis and Palestinians. I find this installment Silva’s most fictitious to date, but he has managed to give us a glimpse, and I must say an apocalyptic one, about the implications that a nuclear-armed Iran would have on the Middle East and the world.
    When I say this novel is Silva’s most fictitious I don’t mean it in a bad sense, after all, I like this series because of their political relevance in today’s world, but while in his other books some “fictions” have actually taken place, this one has not…at least, not yet. And if the possible scenarios Daniel Silva describes were to come true, that’s not a fun world to live in.
    I have only read the last three novels in the Gabriel Allon series, and in those Daniel Silva summarized their plots using a famous phrase; the one he chose to start The Fallen Angel is by Saladin and says the following:
    “I warn you against shedding blood,
    Indulging in it and making a habit of it,
    For blood never sleeps”.
    With such an ominous beginning, you shouldn’t expect what follows to be anything but bloody and gloomy.
    I’m finding more and more difficult to wait a whole year for the next Gabriel’s exploits.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Our hero has returned

    It has filled with the action and twists and turns we all expect, but still not as good as previous reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3