BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fallen Angels

Average Rating 4.5
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Fallen Angels is a book written by Walter Dean Myers, it follow

    Fallen Angels is a book written by Walter Dean Myers, it follows Richie Perry and his journey through the Vietnam war. Perry is a seventeen year old african american that planned to go to college but couldn’t afford it. Feeling he had no better options he decided to join the army. Since it is told in the first person point of view Fallen Angels gives a very accurate viewpoint of a soldier in the army. There are little breaks in the war part of the story and focuses on Perry and how he feels about the war. Fallen Angels definitely has some racial tension that goes on between some of the group members, but it also shows the brotherly love that goes on between the members and how they will never leave each other behind. The title comes from a saying that Ltnt. Carroll got from his father, that all soldiers are angel warriors because most of them are just boys. 

    T.Fleming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    At the very beginning of Fallen Angels, by Walter Dean Myers, I

    At the very beginning of Fallen Angels, by Walter Dean Myers, I was greatly regretting having chosen this book to read for my book report.
    It was slow and the narrator of the story seemed far too simple for my liking. However, the farther I got into the story, the more and more
    I found myself loving the book.
    Peewee's quick humor, Lobel's way of seeing the world as a movie, Perry's realistic reactions to the war, it was all just so entertaining
    and real that I couldn't help but start to love the characters. When one died I felt as if one of my own friends had died, it was just so
    realistic in my mind.
    I'm glad that the author included some of the horrors one might experience in war. You can tell that a book really doesn't know what it's
    talking about when all it does is glorify war and winning, but when he had fear coming from all of the characters it just made it seem a
    little relatable. I know that I'll never be in a war, but I know if I was I would be scared just like the characters in the book were.
    However, there was something in here that came a little unexpected to me. I thought that there was a lot of fighting in war, and that that
    was the only you could die. Fallen Angels surprised me because most of the book was spent at the base, and most of the times they
    did go out was mainly for scouting. I wasn't expecting any deaths during the scouting trips, but there were a lot more than I would have
    thought. When Jenkins died I was just as shocked as Perry, but like him, I quickly got used to all being fair in war.
    The author had a very interesting way of twisting the plot. After Jenkins died I was prepared for another death, but I was not ready for
    friendly fire. I guess I just never thought a company would be shot at by their own comrades, but I was wrong. Myers's way of making
    you expect one thing and giving you another was thrilling. In most of the books I read I always know what's going to happen, but here
    I had to guess a couple of times. I'm not saying the entire story was unpredictable, but there were some parts that definitely caught me
    by surprise.
    I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone as long as they can handle blood. There are some parts that made me cringe,
    but they weren't all that bad unless you really do have a queasy stomach. Also, those who aren't fans of the typical happy ending should
    read this too. It ends happily, but now without it's losses, so it isn't technically considered a "happy ending".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    ha The book Fallen Angels by Walter Dean Myers has become one of

    ha The book Fallen Angels by Walter Dean Myers has become one of my favorite historical fiction books. This book made me not want to stop reading until I had completely finished. I think that the reason I liked this book so much was because it was told from a teen’s perspective. We learn in school about so many of the major wars that have taken place, but when you read a book told by a teen that is fighting for his life, I could picture the scenes much more clearly than if I had learned about them from a text book. It is entertaining, but serious at the same time. I think that the author did a great job of expressing the seriousness of war, but he also added in just the right amount of comedy so that the whole book wasn’t too intense for someone to read. Walter Dean Myers also did a good job of showing that even though there was still segregation going on in the United States, both black men (like Perry) and white men (like Monaco) could fight side by side, and could form a brother like bond between them. I could never do half of what Perry and Peewee did when they were in Vietnam, and even though Perry is a fictional character I came to really admire his courage and strength throughout the book. I think that this is a sign of a really well written book, when the reader can relate, and admire the fictional characters. I think that because this book is written from a teen’s perspective it is a great book for high school students. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in Historical fiction. When reading this book, I didn’t feel like I was being forced to read a book for a school assignment, and I think that, that is an important feeling to have if you are going to enjoy a book as much as I enjoyed Fallen Angels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    I read this as a young teenager and the story has stayed with me

    I read this as a young teenager and the story has stayed with me throughout my life. Amazing and well written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good Read for Teens

    It was a pretty good war story. I read it a while ago but what I remember was it was a pretty accurate description of what life was like in Vietnam. If you like war stories and your 11-18 you will probably like this book a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    The book "Fallen Angels" is a great book for teens and adults. i would not recommend this book to kids younger than the age of thirteen because they may not understand it as well as the more mature teens and adults will. the book is about a squad who is in the vietnam war as it is just finishing up. The squad does go through alot of tradegies throughout the book and have to go through some grousome scenes and deaths. the main character in the book went through a hard childhood but loved to play basketball and was really good at it too and it is apparent that basketball is the one thing he truly loved. if you are looking for an action-packed book this is the book for you because the way the author describes the action scenes is extraordinary and spectactular and really makes you feel like you are right beside the squad in the mud and cold grass fighting beside them. if you are also looking for a book that has a good story this is also an awesome book i would recommend for you because each character in the book has his or her own story and it is a really easy story to follow. If you looking for a war book that has alot of facts and true stories about peoples time in vietnam than this may not be the book for you since it is not based off of any ones true stories of their time in "nam". I like this book because it completely captivates you and makes you wanna just keep on reading and reading. I really cannot find anything wrong about this book because it was just the type of book i was looking for; other people may find some flaws with the book though. My overall rating on this book is based on a scale of one to ten. ten being absolutely great no flaws and a book i would recommend to everyone and one being no one could like this book and it is horrible. i rate this book a nine out of ten because it may be harsh for some people and could not be goodfor younger kids who read "Fallen Angels".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Got to get Home

    I read the book Fallen Angels by Walter Dean Meyers and I thought it was a great book to read. It kept me hooked throughout the whole story. The genre of the book is historical fiction. The historical fiction takes place in Vietnam. The mood of the book is suspense. The conflict of the book is that the characters want to get out of Vietnam alive. The characters in the book are aged between 19 and 30. I would recommend this book for high school students, college students, and adults. The book is 309 pages long. Walter Dean Myers wrote two award-winning books Somewhere in the Darkness and Monster. <BR/>I would give this book a 5/5 because it shows what the war was like through the characters lives, how they had to survive each day, and also there personal problems

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    Fallen Angels

    The book I am going to write a review on is Fallen Angels by Dean Walter Myers. I believe that he wrote this for the world to get a better understanding about what happens on the front line. I think Dean intended for this book to be read by anyone who into this kind of stuff. The story is being told through the eyes of the main character Richard Perry. I think he was the right person to narrate this story because it makes you feel like you are actually in the story. I do not really know too much about the Vietnam War but it seems like it would be pretty accurate. I personally didn¿t find anywhere in the book where something was not believable. I was able to connect with the main character the most. One of the times I connected with him was when he on the flight over to Vietnam and he all ready to fight but when he arrived he wanted to go back home. I feel the same way right before a dirt bike race. Here is a good quote that supports how I was able to connect with him. "I knew the real question wasn't about my knee. I thought the knee would be okay. The real question was what I was doing, what any of us were doing, in Nam.¿ (Myers). Another book that is very similar would be Sunrise over Fallujah. It is a follow up in the series. The title of the book Fallen Angels represents all of the soldiers who have died in the war. If I had the choice I would probably recommend this book to kids in high school and up. The reason is because they use some war slang and terminology that is sometimes hard to understand. I myself found this book very enjoyable. It is the kind of book that when you start reading it¿s hard to stop. The ending in the book was pretty good and intense. It kept your attention all the way to the end. If I were to rate this book out of 5 stars it would probably be a four. I haven¿t read very many other books that would keep me wanting to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Outstanding

    I was not expecting this mesmerizing and fascinating story line to pop out at me and reach me through the pages of this outstanding book. I found "Fallen Angels" a deeply captivating book that took me through the Vietnam War in three-hundred and nine pages. Sure at some points in the book it gets suddenly boring but, Dean Myers proves that he can get you back into the story line in a snap! To sum it all up, this book is a must read for anyone, the novel pulls you back in forth in war action into a great tale that will scare you forever about the topic of war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Steph for TeensReadToo.com

    FALLEN ANGELS takes place among the rice fields and swamps of Vietnam. <BR/><BR/>Teenager Richie Perry is sent to Vietnam when he enlists in the war. For the first time in his life, he is far away from his mom and younger brother, who are back in Harlem, New York. Perry meets many friends along the way, such as Lieutenant Carroll, Peewee, and Monaco. Perry has to not only survive the war, but also the effects of the war -- both physical and emotional. <BR/><BR/>Walter Dean Myers writes a touching story of a seventeen-year-old boy fighting in a very controversial war. This book gives readers a personal viewpoint of the infamous war that no history book can. Myers creates relatable characters that all readers are sure to love. This real-life, action-packed tale is one to please all readers, regardless of age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Fallen Angels

    Richard Perry is a teenage African-American who is going into the Vietnam War in the 70s. He boards a plane in Alaska and starts his journey to Vietnam. When he gets there, he has a couple of days before he reports to his company. He is in Alpha Company. In his company, he becomes friends with Pee-Wee, Johnson, and Monaco. They don¿t see very much action for the first few months, and they spend a lot of the down time playing volleyball against other companies. Alpha Company starts going on night patrols, and the fighting starts to pick up. Perry gets shot in the wrist and gets peppered with shrapnel. He¿s in the hospital for a month and receives a Purple Heart. When his hospital time is up, to his dismay, he has to report back to Alpha Company. They¿re on a patrol along a river and are spotted by Vietnamese soldiers. Perry and Pee-Wee get separated from the rest of the Company. They hide from the soldiers inside a spider hole, which is a shallow hole in the ground covered with some vegetation. They hide half the night and then head out for the Land Zone (LZ) where a helicopter is lowering. Monaco is just sitting on the ground without his gun. There are Vietnamese soldiers all around the area. When the helicopter nears the ground, Pee-Wee and Perry open up fire on the Vietnamese, and the helicopter joins in. All three of the men get in the helicopter, although Pee-Wee suffered a neck wound, and Perry suffered a leg wound. The two end up at the same hospital and visit with each other all the time. After a couple of months, they are both allowed to go home. They ride together on the same plane on their way back to the ¿real world¿. This book is by Walter Dean Myers who has another war book called Sniper which also takes place in Vietnam. To understand this story to the fullest, you would need some prior knowledge about Vietnam. A movie like Rambo: First Blood: Part II could help you understand the story a little bit better. If you like war books, you would enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2008

    One Of My Personal Favorites :p

    In my opinion, this book was quite delightful. I dont usually enjoy books, but my interest in war, plus the intense detail this book includes, makes me more and more interested in it every chapter. From the back to back action, to the relationships between the soldures, everything that happeneds is interesting. A certain thing I appretiate that is in this book, is how the author includes the main charactors home life, back home. It's not all just about what he thinks about the war and such. Overall this book was one of the best i've ever read, and i recommend that everybody reads it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Great Angles of Nam

    A boy is headed to Vietnam (Nam) on a plane with a lot of other men and women. On his way, he meets some friends and he stays with one of the guys he met almost the whole time he was in Nam. He doesn¿t stay with his new friend the whole time he is in Nam because he gets shot in battle and is put in the hospital. After being in the hospital for quite a long time, he finds his friend that he was with for such a long time in that same hospital. Then they were together the rest of the time they were in Nam. To find out the rest of the story just read it. My dislikes of this book is that when the military men are talking in a group or something like that, they are speaking in military language and it is hard to follow what they are saying. I recommend this book if you are in to the war type books and some of the Gary Paulsen books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    A reviewer

    The concept of this book is that Richard Perry a Harlem native african american joins the army. He at first goes through meeting people he knows he will not see past that moment. Until He is paired up with Peewee who will stick with him through out the novel. He goes through the story picking up more and more knowledge and experience. He also questions his wanting of being in this war. The reality finaly sinks and in the gripping adventure that he must fight to survive. This novel also shows the day to day life in vietnam, the ins and outs of everything that goes on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    It was a good book

    I am interested in war that's why I pick this book .My favorite part is when the squad tries to take a hill but Perry gets hit . When I first saw this book it looked interesting so I picked it. It about the Vietnam War and one squad that goes through a lot of fighting . The main characters are Perry and Peewee . I would recommended this book to someone who likes fighting, action, and is interested in war . If I liked this book, maybe you would too . There where some swears in this book but it is not hard to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    It was a good book

    Fallen Angels I liked the book, Fallen Angels written by Walter Myers. This book is about a young man that joined the army and was sent to Vietnam during the Vietnam War to fight. He survives many hardships and attacks before getting wounded during a fight. In the time he is there he gains a friend who calls himself Pewee. This is an excellent book full of action. It is written a first point of view of the main character, Richie Perry. It is like his diary while in the war. The genre of this book is historical fiction. It is historical fiction because the setting is in the forests of Vietnam during the Vietnam War. I would rate this book four stars out of five stars. I liked this book because there is quite a bit of action going on most of the time. Also, the suspense builds up all throughout the book. The negative part about the book is that I got kind of lost because there are so many events and flashbacks all over. I would recommend this book to teenagers to adults because there is a lot of action and some language wouldn¿t be appropriate for young children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2007

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed this book, choose to read it for english. Great quirky characters, that are sure to remind you of somebody you know. Not a story of War Heros, just a story of young men trying to survive in Nam. It is also a good read for a high school student because it shows what kids your age went through in the war. A great book that I would recomend to anybody looking for an action packed and vivid story of a young mans experience in the Vietnam war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    fallen angels

    fallen angels was a good book by walter dean myers the book was about a black kid how just got out of high school and doesn't have enough money for college so he goes to the war of vietnam and the book tells you about what he sees and does there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2007

    it was a good and interesting book!

    My opinions of the book,THEFALLEN ANGELS are,I think to read about the wars ,and the book is about veitnam.Also I think it is a interesting book becuase itis full of war action drama and I like that .the book has a great flow to it too.The main caracter tells the story.this is a great book to read if you like war action and drama,and also if you like to read about the army

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    FALLEN ANGELS

    If you would like to read a good book, that shows, courage, hope, action, war and friendship, I strongly recommend that you pick up a copy of fallen angels by Walter Dean Myers.. This book reminds the readers about struggle and why we are free today. After you read this book you will stop and think about the solders who fought and even more the solders who died in the great wars for the freedom that we have today, the freedom that they didn¿t have a chance to experience. Walter Dean Myers lost his brother in Vietnam so you can tell that he really means every word that he says in this book and every emotion that he demonstrates. I would rate this book 4 out of 5 stars. So if your looking for a book that will help you realize the struggles that people went through so we could be free or just a great interesting book, I highly recommend that you pick up a copy of fallen angels by Walter Dean Myers. You will not be disappointed with this book. This book shows amazing amounts of courage, friendship, sticking together, teamwork and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3