Customer Reviews for

Fallen Angels

Average Rating 4.5
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    this book you should read

    Fallen angles I give this book two thumbs up because this book has a lot of action, gore and blood and no mercy the main characters in fallen angels are Perry, Peewee, Brew, Monaco this characters where scared to go to war and scared they my die you should read this book and see the reaction they get when fighting the Cons A.K.A the Vietnam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    Fallen Angels Great Book

    This is a great book that depicts many true things of Vietnam. In this book there is some bad language. But I would highly recommend this book.This book is about a Platoon of soldiers in Vietnam. In the book the author shows every thing. The highs and lows of war. The author doesn't leave anything out and it is a great story and a great way to learn things about that time period. I would recommed this book to just about any one but I don't recommend it to young children. This book is very gorey. If you enjoy books about the Vietnam War then I recommend you read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2007

    Fallen Angels book review!

    As a reader of the 'Fallen Angels' by Walter Dean Myers, It is very dramatic and detailed of how the protagonist feel about the Vietnam Warfare. He, Walter Myers, provides several imagerys that provoke the reader's mind. It is very well written book that other people should read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    Fallen Angels are remembered

    This Novel is a great way to discover how World War 2 felt like, and how it was to experience the battles of one of the bloodiest wars in U.S. history. The story is about a seventeen year old teenager recruited for the war. The closest friend he has is a small man whom tells him to call him Peewee. These two face the war head on and experience a few battles of World War 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    Fallen Angels

    Richie Perry is a seventeen year old guy who is smart but goes in the army because he can¿t afford college. He meets some people who become his friends. He witnessed his friends stepping on a mine and blowing up to smithereens. Richie is scared, there camping in the middle of nowhere and more planes are flying over. He has to watch every step he takes for now on, or he will make a bad mistake that could take him any second. Ritchie¿s ready to go home now, he hopes his brother is alright and he isn¿t in the streets with gangsters. I didn¿t like how over half the book was no action than it suddenly their was a ton of action than it went back to little action again. When there was action there was all kind of guns being used like AK-47,AK-49,on planes that tore everything up in the path of the bullets. I recommend this book to people who like war Vietnam and a person who was in the middle of it all and who lived and maybe got shot. I very recommend this book to them. If you don¿t like blood, please put this book down and chose a different book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    Trying to survive a day in complete chaos.

    Richard Perry is a young man just out of high school and is the main character of Fallen Angels. He grew up in Harlem, New York. Richard is looking for something new and exciting in his life and nothing has been happening lately in Harlem. Joining the Army had never really occurred to him as a kid, but he decides to try it. While arriving in Vietnam and getting out of the plane, he realizes the reality of what he is about to be getting into. While there he experiences seeing the death of friends, good days, bad days, and killing the enemy for his first time. The only thing that runs through his mind though is will I make it out alive? The thing I enjoyed the most about this book was all of the action, adventure, and excitement. The book started out kind of slow, then rapidly picked up and made me wasn¿t to read more every time. Most of the action parts will have you sitting on the edge of your seat just waiting to see what will happen next whether it is winning the battle or being over run by the enemy. When I first started reading this book, the first television show relating to this book I thought of was Forest Gump. When Forest joins the army, he enters the Vietnam was just like Richard. Forest experiences a lot of the same events as Richard did, such as losing a friend that was close to you. I would recommend this book to people who enjoy action and adventure books just as I do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    A very enlighting read

    I had to read this book for my English class and I was blown away by how Fallen Angels took you in. Normally I prefer books that aren't about war, but this wasn't just a book it was a story about life and its problems. This is the type of book that you should save to read for a rainy day when you have nothing else to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2005

    I loved this book!

    I usually dont read anything other than Harry Potter, but I had to read a book for english 10 so I decided to read Fallen Angels because my dad is retired from the navy & I love war stories. I got everything I expected and more! I couldnt put this book down and read it in 2 1/2 days. Its one of my favorite books (other than Harry Potter)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2005

    Great book!

    This is a very good book. I had to read this book in one week for school, and I had a great time reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2005

    Fallen Angels

    Last year, my freshman year of high school, we had a summer reading list. That list included Heros Gods and Mosters of the Greek Myths, Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, and Fallen Angels. I don't like war stories or usually action stories of any kind. But since this was an assigned reading, I had to do it, gritted teeth and all. And then I started reading. I couldn't put it down! It was a really good book and you could almost feel and see everything going on around Perry. Even if you don't think you'll like it, give it a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2005

    could be better though

    I recently read a great novel titled Fallen Angels, by Walter Dean Myers. Fallen Angels is a war novel written about a man named Richard Perry who goes to fight the war in Vietnam. All Perry wanted to do was get away from his home town for a while. Without giving it much thought Perry joined the army. After easily making it through basic training he hopped aboard a plane to Nam. When he got there he quickly adapted, and made a few friends. On Perry¿s first patrol one of his squad members was killed by a land mine. This loss petrified him and made him edgy every time he strayed from his base. Over time Perry was immersed in the military life. He saw fellow countrymen shot down in front of him and became a cold killer. Twice he was wounded in battle. The first time was minor and he went back to his base. The second time was when he and a friend were running from the Viet Cong and it was bad enough to send him home. As he leaves Nam all of the reality and horrors of the war hit him like a ton of bricks. I would highly recommend this book to people that read military novels. The book really kept my interest because there were no lulls in the action. One thing I wish the author did though was to make the ending more complete instead of leaving it open ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    Never gets old

    This book never gets boring, it has so much going on in it and is very exciting. It¿s about a young boy about 17, Richie-Perry, that graduates high school being raised by his single mother. He is smart enough to go to college but dosen¿t have the money so he joins the army and sends all the money home to help his brother kenny and his mother. As they go to war he relizes that people are dying right infront of him and he gets scared from what could happen. He learns a lot while in Vietnam, building strength mentally and physical. There is a lot of action in this book when they go into combat and when they have to go on missions. Some people get hurt like Richie and other people in his unit. They all are trying to finde a way out and question going back after in the hospital for getting hurt out there. I recommend reading this book if you like reading about wars, you get a feel of how scary it could be if you were in a war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2004

    Realistic view of war.

    Fallen Angels is a riveting book about Richie Perry, a poor,black kid from Harlem who goes to Vietnam to fight in a war that so few of us understand even today. The author puts you in the shoes of the character and allows you to see the war through his eyes. I would definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2003

    Fallen Angels

    THe book was great after i read i almost weaped i was so happy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2001

    Fallen Angels

    This is a good book. It is sad in some parts and funny in others. It is also a little gruesome. This is a must have for Vietnam Veterens and their families. I would not recommend this book for children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    Fallen Angels:Review

    Fallen Angles is a great book for people who enjoy lots of suspense and fighting. It goes deeper than guns and war, but to the heart of young men who risked their lives and the trials they faced meantally and physically. The challenge it was to keep their sanity while everyone around them was losing theirs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2000

    This book was great, yet sad

    This book is one of the best I have read in a long time. It had great (realistic) action. It was sad, but as a person who does not know much of this war, It made me apperciate what I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 1999

    Great, but be cautious if choosing for the classroom

    I read this book to my class and they loved it. Preview it before using it in class as there is some language and content that is not appropriate for children under 13 or 14. My students learned a great deal about how devasting and unfair the war was to everyone involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3