Customer Reviews for

Fallen Angels

Average Rating 4.5
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(161)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME BOOK

    This is the best book that Walter Dean Myers wrote in my opinion. He took a book this book and made you feel like you are actually there(in the war). It also keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time. You just won't want to put the book down. It takes place in Vietnam. Perry and his friends have to struggle to keep alive and get out of vietnam in one piece. I recommend this book to people who like war and suspence books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    I AM MUFASSA AND I ROCK YOUR FACE UNTIL IT BREAKS

    This book is one of his best in my head. It gets really emotional throughout this book. I think that young adults should read this book. It is a really sit on the edge of your seat book. This book I dont recommend to people who like romance because there is almost no romance in the book at all except in the very beginning but it only lasts like 2 seconds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    Fallen Angels

    The book Fallen Angels is a about a young African American who is fresh out of high school and goes into the Vietnam War. It all starts out when he graduates out of high school and then joins the army not knowing what to expect. He become a part of alpha company and makes a lot of friends but his new best friend, pee wee. As the book progresses the start going on more and more dangerous missions and soon Perry gets wounded. He goes to the hospital but the returns. Him and his best friend go on and fight in every battle together, they hardly did anything apart. This book really shows how horrible and gruesome war can be, and how important it is to have friends at times. I liked this book very much; it was one of those books that are hard to put down and keeps you on the edge of you seat. I also liked this book because it make you feel like your there and you¿re a part of them, so you start to feel what they feel. This book can be at times very bloody and gross. I do not know if this author has written any other books but if you¿re interested in the Vietnam War you should read this book. I would recommend it to any one in high school that is interested in the Vietnam War. You do not have to know very much about the Vietnam War to get it, I didn¿t know that much but I understood it just fine. My overall rating on this book would be a five because it is very griping and is just all around a great book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting

    This is an exciting book.<BR/><BR/>Its a story about a squad in vietnam just trying to survive. the main character (perry) is a 19 year old from Harlem NY. Through the book Perry struggles to figure out what he's there for and what is right and wrong. Enjoy<BR/>Its a great book, with a ton of action. Its hard to put down after the first few chapters. <BR/><BR/>Also you should read the sequel Sunrise Over Fallujah.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    Fallen Angels a look at vietnam

    Fallen Angels is one of my favorite books. If you thought vietnam was just weapons and calmness then you have to read this. These characters have great personality. The story simply just goes from dull to horrifying and exciting. I really recommend reading this if your interested in violence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Fallen Angels is a very great emotional action packed thriller a

    Fallen Angels is a very great emotional action packed thriller about the Vietnam war. This book takes you into the life of Perry Richards, A young man from the projects of Brooklyn fresh out of high school. Wanting to get away from everything he decides to join the military. He faces the reality of war. He joins his squad with a friend he meets on the plane to Vietnam. He is new to the area and does not like the idea that it is a new place that he isn’t used to being around. Perry has seen no combat and thinks he never will because there is a rumor about peace talks. Later in the story Perry goes on his first patrol and experiences no combat but does experience the sight of death, pain, and suffering. One of his squad mates steps on a land mind placed by the Vietcong outside of their base. Further in the story Perry realizes that things are not what they seem that the blacks have the most assignments to do in the war and not the whites, well the more dangerous ones to be exact. Such as a pacification mission was issued to his squad more times than many other squads which led to gunfights and more combat. Towards the end of this story Perry finds himself knee deep in the war not knowing why he is really there and why him and his friends are dying. This is a great tale about friendship and brotherhood, and about life itself.

    This was an amazing book it had me on the edge of my seat every time that I read. The book also takes you to an emotional state of the war and shows you the reality of the war. If you love war time books you will certainly enjoy this work of art. This book will make you feel as if you are in the war. If you like this book you will like the book called sun over Fallujah it was written by the same author Walter Dean Myers.

    This book was the winner of the Coretta Scott King Award. It is an amazing story it teaches you about life and what its worth and not to waste your time. It also shows a true bond between men and how close you can become to people. This is a bond that cannot be broken because these men are basically living for each other and fighting for each other. In the book it shows lots of nationalism towards America.

    Danny V.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    This book was awesome!!!

    This book was awesome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    AWESOME book from a kid who can't stand reading!

    This book will have you on the end of your seat begging for more. I hate most books because they can be so fake. This book is real how the people talk is real, the war is real, and most importantly the people are real. This book will take you places you have never been before, from the jungles of vietniam to the real world and its real events.This book is not about fighting, it's more about what the guys are going through mentally and emotionally during the war. After you read this book you will think about the war and the world differently. Once you pick this book up you won't put it down-- well you will, just not until you're done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    this book follows richard perry through his time in the vietname

    this book follows richard perry through his time in the vietnamese jungles it is not however only about war but also about; Friendship, Loss, Fear and Bravery. Richards adventures in vietnam bring him to the brink of death. He is shown the horrors that are the Vietnam war and this war shows him he has to fight an enemy that he and his men know75 could be anywhere and anybody.
    I am not a big reader but this book really cuaght my attention. This book was one of my favorite all time books and i honestly felt that it taught me many lessons, such as value your friends, watch eachothers back, and dont ever be to afraid to save someone.
    The setting of this book takes place in the Vietnamese jungles and the protagonist is Richard Perry a African, American from Harlem, NY. The book is a first person action book and has a lot of very discriptive violence. However the first person point of view and the discriptive violence really helps immerse yourself into the war taking place in the book. the characters are all likeable and some parts are downright funny. However there are also much more serious parts in the book.
    Overall, this is one of my favorite books and i would recomend it to anyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Good book

    In the beginng of falllen angels there is this guy tht gets drafted to the army in 1957 to go to vietnam he is not familiar with all his souroundings he cared for his moma and his little brother on the way to vietnam he met a white woman on the plane he never forgot her name well while they were out in the jungle he never forgot the faces of the dying men he didn’t know what to feel exept kill they were out in the boonies one day and they were with the nva and they were ambushed there was one batloon of us soldeiers and one group of nva there was only one helicopter the us shot the nva and they got in the helicopter they had no choice too and at the end of the war he went to find his woman but she had been killed in a bombing out in the boonies at a evac place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    !awesome book!

    The story Fallen Angel is mostly about the Vietnam war in 1967. It has a lot of bad words, but the way the book is written is as if you were talking to someone and they were using hard words such as Shakespeare did in his plays. Not to offend anyone but Shakespeare used some pretty hard words that I doubt teens or adults could understand. Back to the story of course yeah there's bad words in it, terrible language, blood when their in the war,violence but who doesn't like that kind of stuff and sorry if you don't like it but I do. It's like having the picture or movie in your mind, that's so cool. The book's main details or main point of it is high school kids going to the army. Some didn't even finish high school. One guy did finish but didn't want to go to college because he didn't have the clothes for it. He rather send money to his brother so he can finish school. The main characters of the story are Gates, Perry, Peewee, Johnson, and Bruno. And some other characters whose names I forgot. They all are from America and become soldiers for their country and State. The characters got sent to the Vietnam war, on their way there, they all talked about thing such as if they were scared, and most people said no, that they were happy. But who is really happy about going to war? I know if I was going to war I'd probably get scared and pee on my pants and not get of the plane. Perry wrote a letter to Mrs. Carroll. The letter talked about how he and Mr. Carroll got into a fight and ran more and more into the enemy lines, when Mr. Carroll was hurt. To make a long story short and in other words, Perry is telling Mrs. Carroll that her husband had died. Captain Stewart read the letter and offered Perry a job so he can type but perry cannot type. My favorite part of the story is when Perry was brave and wrote that letter to Mrs. Carroll. My favorite character of the story was Perry. I like Perry because he reminds me of Perry the Platypus, a guy with no fear towards going to war or battles. I hope you enjoyed the book as much as I did, because it's an awesome book. You will never want to put the book down because it's very awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great war story.

    I had to read this for summer reading and I'm glad I did. It's an interesting reader and a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It

    This was a good book all together. It was a real page turner for me. I laughed my way through it and loved the variety of characters. The story was a unique experience for me and I would like to read another book from this author. I am a young adult so I would recommend this for anyone in that age group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    I greatly recommend this to all.

    Dallas Grant
    Ms. Lasley
    5B
    10 January 2011
    Book Review
    The book, Fallen Angels, by Walter Dean Myers is about the Vietnam War in 1960s in Korea. The main characters are Richie Perry, Lobel, Johnson, Brunner, and Pewee. It is a historical time for us to remember that many lives have perished. The book relates to friendship, trust, and reality. All of the characters come for different purposes, but all of them share a goal to survive during the war. I like some moments that keep you on your toes. The intense moments are stressful during the war. When they are in the jungle, it seems like someone is following them, but it is something else. It gives you a sigh of relief that the enemy is not the something else. During the war, the enemy is not nice. The characters always stick together, but develop loyalty to each other. I learn about soldiers' experiences during the war. The experiences are hard to relate and very emotional to read. I dislike the bad times that the soldiers experience. I rate the book as excellent to read to learn about war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended- many noticeable themes

    After reading Fallen Angels, by Walter Dean Myers, several themes stood out, friendship, loyalty, and reality were some of them. The main character, Richie Perry, becomes immediate friends with Peewee a very noticeable feature in the book. This strong relation is shown throughout the book, along with other member of the squad. Later in the book, Peewee and Perry's friendship is again questioned when they become separated by the squad and had to stay hidden and corporate in a small tunnel. Loyalty was another theme that stood out. The squad's loyalty is almost as noticeable as their friendship. For example, early in the book, Lieutenant Carroll gives Perry a chance to be remove from combat by assessing how badly injured he is. Perry replied no, knowing that if he were to leave, the squad would lose a man. Another example was when Gearheart later approach the squadron and asked whether they would like to be broken up and equalize the other smaller squads. With so many experiences together, the squad wished to be kept together even if it meant more dangerous missions. Lastly, reality was an important theme to this book, and a reason why the author wrote it. During the beginning of the book, Perry had a stereotypical vision of war. He thought war was organized and "perfect". Perry also had a belief that peace was coming soon and most soldiers do not fire their weapons. Perry began to question himself about the war. His question was answered after a soldier named Jenkins is seen killed by a mine. During the latter part of the book, Perry is surprised by the loss of the dog tags. Without them, he knew that the families would never know if their son were dead or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    Up close and Personal / War is not a Game

    I believe thst this is one of the best books I have read in a long time. I was personally thinking about going into the service to help my country and I still am thinking about it, but this book opened my eyes to lots of things you dont realize right off the back about war. This book helped me to be Aware of the war life but not to Beware war either. i also enjoyed that it was first person point of view which made it feel as if i were right there next to him and I also enjoyed the fact that most of the scenes were from the authors own experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    OMG! Amazing!

    Fallen Angels is a gripping, emotional story filled with action and suspense.
    Seventeen-year-old Richie Perry signs up for the army to make money for his struggling brother and alcoholic mom. He thinks Nam will be like the movies, the good guy always ends up on top. He is the good guy--right?
    He learns what it is like to be a real soldier in a real war. He develops strong ties with Johnson, Lobel, Walowick, Stewart and especially Pewee Gates. Together, they are Alpha Squad. Fighting side by side, they share one common desire, to get back to the States alive.

    This book is one of the best I've read in a while. I recommend it to readers who like a fast-paced, action or war book that still goes beyond the battles and deep into the main character's personality. Lifelike and complex characters and the constant suspense are some of the best features of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "...For all the angel warriors who fall."

    Richie Perry is the face of so many young men who fought in the Vietnam War. Raised in Harlem, Richie joins the army in 1967, hoping for a better future. With no money saved for college, Richie finds foreign jungles more palatable than the streets of Harlem.

    Richie and his fellow soldier friends are extremely unprepared for the harsh realities of war. They find that the definition of 'enemy' is not as cut and dried as they once pictured and chaos ensues during much of Richie's stay in Vietnam.

    In one of the more terrifying scenes of ambush, so many American soldiers are killed that the remaining boys are forced to burn the bodies rather than body bag and carry them back to the pick-up point. Richie sees the dead boys being burned: "They were me. We wore the same uniform, were the same height, had the same face. They were me, and they were dead." Although this book obviously doesn't glorify war, it doesn't make the judgment call of condemning it, either. Myers presents facts and raw emotion in this narrative, and the language isn't for the faint of heart. Although this book was marketed for young adults, I think I appreciated it even more as an adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    Fallen angles

    Book Review

    Title: Fallen Angels
    Author: Walter Dean Meyers

    3 Things I liked about the story:
    It had every emotion you could think of.
    It had a good morale. It was a war novel.

    3 Things I didn't like about the story:
    It had too much cussing.
    It was very emotional.
    It has only one sequel.

    My Book Review:
    This book ............ Is just really indescribable. I mean it has war, blood ,guns, cusses, and it's just. AWESOME! This book is over forty years old and I just love it. I recommend it to war fans but not to children under 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9