Customer Reviews for

Fallen Grace

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fallen Grace managed to intrigue me and make me want to throw it

    Fallen Grace managed to intrigue me and make me want to throw it across the room all at the same time.

    The plot is fantastic; the main reason I kept reading was because I wanted to know how all the parts came together, even though they were each individual part was fairly easy to figure out. It was like having sections of the puzzle finished and not having the pieces that connect them.

    I like Grace well enough; she's nice, but a bit air headed. Her relationship with Lily was wonderful - I felt like it captured the emotions that come with being a sister, especially to somebody like Lily, wonderfully.

    The villains in this book were truly villainous. Normally I prefer my evil characters to have a history, or be fleshed out a bit more than these were, but I think I actually like the book better with the I-hate-them-because-they're-horrible principal.

    I didn't understand her relationship with James Solent. It worked wonderfully for the book - without it, things wouldn't have tied together nearly as nicely - but I felt like it was based off of something imaginary. I would have liked to see it develop a bit more.

    All in all, Fallen Grace wasn't a bad book. It doesn't stand out very much among the historical fiction currently on the shelves, and it's not perfect. It is, however, very beautifully written with some fantastic characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Bit slow at first but became amazing in the end!

    Great story on the life of two poor girls living in london. Probably one of my favorite books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Interesting

    Full of secrets, twists, and turns, Mary Hooper's Fallen Grace will have readers rooting for Grace and Lilly, two poverty stricken girls, every step of the way, no doubt about it!

    Fallen Grace tells the story of Grace, a girl who has fallen into tough times as of lately. For one, at the the young age of 15, she has give birth to a stillborn baby, and she doesn't know if she should be happy that the child won't have to life a poverty stricken like her and her sister Lilly, or sad that she'll never get the chance to know her baby boy. Though, with this tragedy sets forth a set of various circumstances that will forever change the lives of Grace and her sister, because there are secrets and deceit lying at every corner, but Grace doesn't know it just yet, which leads to the following question: will Grace be able to find out everything before it's too late? Will she and her sister get the great lives they deserves? Better yet, will Grace ever recover from her "fallen" status? Only time and more pages will tell in this richly told and compelling story taking place in the mid 1800s.

    In most ways, Grace is a "saint" so to say, because not only is she strong, hopeful, and kind, but she's taken care of her "simple" but lovable sister Lilly for the majority of their lives. Grace is the kind of girl who constantly has tragedy strike her life, but she doesn't let it get her down, instead she moves on while still keeping hope for a good future. And while I did really like Grace's character, I also felt she was a bit slow on the uptake at times and bit too trusting of people, but those characteristics are partly the reason why this story had such a mysterious undertone to it, so I'll let them go. I also really enjoyed the character of James, a young man who quickly become a good confident of Grace's, and Violet, another girl's who life hasn't always been peachy.

    Though, while the characters in Fallen Grace were fully developed and full of life, I feel that the best part of this novel would have to be the plot, because not only did it constantly leave me guessing, but it painted such an informative view of mid-1800s England for me. I truly always enjoyed learning more about the death scene of England with Grace and Lilly's jobs at the funeral parlor as well as seeing how squalid and rundown some parts of the country were and how that affected the lives of people similar to the main characters.

    Lastly, Mary Hooper's writing was great. As mentioned before, she did a great job of creating a historically accurate view of England as well as characters I'm sure many will come to root for. I honestly can't wait to see what time periods she dives into with her future releases.

    Perfect for fans of mysteries or/and historical fiction, Fallen Grace the a novel to add to your TBR pile!

    Grade: B+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Cinnamon for TeensReadToo

    Orphaned at a young age, Grace and Lily Parkes barely scrape by living off of the revenue from their watercress-selling operation. When Grace - barely sixteen herself - gives birth to a stillborn baby boy, she embarks on a train ride that causes her to crash head-on into two individuals who ultimately come to define the sisters' messy future. And what a messy future it is, for the entirety of legal London is abuzz over Grace and Lily, two oblivious heiresses to a huge fortune left by their deceased father. A desperate race for the money ensues as the affluent families in London begin to plot for ways to take advantage of the Parkes sisters, and the trusting girls step right into these well-woven traps. Eventually, a boy will rescue one girl, and she will stop at nothing until her sister is by her side once again. FALLEN GRACE is one of those novels you chew through slowly because of its meticulously and beautifully described setting. Ms. Hooper delivers a stunning portrayal of 17th century England, complete with opulent characters and an abundance of child beggars; even the King and Queen make a random appearance. However, the plot turned out to be rather slow in the beginning. I kept waiting for the pacing to pick up: it never did. The entire book felt like an easy rambling walk - unhurried and enjoyable, until you get bored and decide to run like a maniac and feel the wind in your hair instead. A nicely written novel nevertheless, FALLEN GRACE will appeal to avid readers of historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1