Customer Reviews for

Fallen Skies

Average Rating 3.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A different side of Phillippa Gregory

The overall development of the characters was well played out. I felt like I knew how each and every character was thinking in certain situations. However, the plot and pace of the book was rather slow. Compared to the other Gregory books, Fallen Skies did not have t...
The overall development of the characters was well played out. I felt like I knew how each and every character was thinking in certain situations. However, the plot and pace of the book was rather slow. Compared to the other Gregory books, Fallen Skies did not have the riveting speed as the others. Definately worth the read though.

posted by a2744 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing!

Normally, I enjoy any tale written by Philippa Gregory, and fly through the pages while enjoying her storycraft and tale weaving. I haven't made it through more than a couple of chapters in this book, although it is a historical period I have normally enjoyed. I abhor...
Normally, I enjoy any tale written by Philippa Gregory, and fly through the pages while enjoying her storycraft and tale weaving. I haven't made it through more than a couple of chapters in this book, although it is a historical period I have normally enjoyed. I abhor the language used by the WWI veterans as they refer to women--it may be historically correct in the view of those, especially in what was considered the aristocracy--but I found the storyline and dialogue very misogenistic.

posted by BibliophileHS on September 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    A different side of Phillippa Gregory

    The overall development of the characters was well played out. I felt like I knew how each and every character was thinking in certain situations. However, the plot and pace of the book was rather slow. Compared to the other Gregory books, Fallen Skies did not have the riveting speed as the others. Definately worth the read though.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Disappointing!

    Normally, I enjoy any tale written by Philippa Gregory, and fly through the pages while enjoying her storycraft and tale weaving. I haven't made it through more than a couple of chapters in this book, although it is a historical period I have normally enjoyed. I abhor the language used by the WWI veterans as they refer to women--it may be historically correct in the view of those, especially in what was considered the aristocracy--but I found the storyline and dialogue very misogenistic.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Fallen

    Ok.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Ponca

    Name: Ponca Gender: male Rank: Alpha Male Description: dark brown with yellow eyes. Mate: none

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dramatic

    Fallen Skies is different from some of Ms. Gregory's other books about the royals that I have read. I have really enjoyed this author and shes actually becoming one of my favorites. This story moves at a very steady, but slow pace and has wonderful character development and depth. Many parts in the book are disturbing but I thought it was all relevant to the characters, time and place when this was all happening. Overall a great read, I would have liked a little more information towards the end, but it was enough to satisfy my curiosity. Ms. Gregory does not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Loved it

    I really enjoyed this book. I love this author. I loved the time period in which it's set and the author's ability to paint such a vivid picture of these characters and their lives. I finished it very quickly because it was such an engrossing story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story

    I loved this book. It was very good, and the ending took me by surprise. There were some parts of the story that were slow moving, and took a while to get into, but once in it I couldn't stop reading. Phillipa Gregory is one of the best historical writers I have ever read. Her stories make it seem like you are there with the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Disappointing

    I love Philippa Gregory's historical fiction so bought this book based on that. It was work to continue reading all the way to the end; it just didn't engage me like her other books have. I finished it, but had already figured out what was going to happen at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    UGH > > > FRUSTRATION

    It may have just been me, however the beginning of the book seemed slightly slow in the "get go". However, once i was fully immersed in the wonderful writing style of Ms. Gregory i was genuinely hooked! Fallen Skies had so many dramatic twists and turns and heartbreaking moments that i couldn't wait until i had reached the final pages where everything would be perfectly and harmoniously dealt with. I had fantasies of how this person would do this and the climatic moment would be so perfect because Gregory had written it and I have always loved her writing, but soon i was paying attention to the lack of character confrontation paired with the dwindling pages. The climax was spectacularly dramatic as i had hoped however when I had expected all the other strings that had stemmed from that momentous conclusion to be tied I unfairly turned the last page to the story. It ended so abruptly i felt cheated and hurt by that emotional rollercoaster only to be left wondering where my lunch went.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love Philipa but..

    Like the other reviewer, this book did not grab me like her others. Other than this one, I havent yet ventured beyond the boleyn/ elizabethan books. I read 300 pgs one night, and then never touched it again. It was an extremely touching book, and I even cried at a few moments. I suppose I never finished it because the love story was painful to read. Perhaps it was just a hormonal week, but I couldnt bring myself to finish it.

    Although beautifully written, its very VERY slow. I suppose I kept reading that one night because I was waiting for SOMETHING to happen... and it seemed on the brink of occurring for 200 pgs. Its not an exciting book, but now that I think about it, id like to finish it. However, I think for now, im too hooked on Gregory's 16th and 17th century England novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Slice of Life

    I like reading Phillipa Gregory's books for the slice of life they offer, a picture of what a person's life may have been like during historical periods. This book is set in the 1920s, post WWI, so the details of life during the Roaring 20s are the best part of this story in my opinion. The main character, Lily, is highly likable and innocent and fun-loving, a large contrast to Stephen Winters, the man she marries. The contrast makes the book interesting, though the ending is somewhat predictable. The characters are well-developed and the relationships Lily has with the various people in her life help create a character you root for. I liked this book, but I've enjoyed Miss Gregory's other stories more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2