Customer Reviews for

The Fallen Star (Fallen Star Series, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 1181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(728)

4 Star

(218)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(116)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

226 out of 314 people found this review helpful.

Of The Fallen Star @ Book & Movie Depository blog

Review by: Cassandra Hernandez
The Fallen Star is about Gemma a teen girl who has not been able to feel emotions most of her life. Her dreams are plagued by monsters who want to kill her. Along the way she finds some answers to all the mystery.

In my own words

P...
Review by: Cassandra Hernandez
The Fallen Star is about Gemma a teen girl who has not been able to feel emotions most of her life. Her dreams are plagued by monsters who want to kill her. Along the way she finds some answers to all the mystery.

In my own words

Pretty good beginning because we see Gemma is troubled. There are new classmates Aislin and Alex that know things about her. Gemma can be strong-willed and impulsive. Yet, there are times we see her fear of the mysteries surrounding her. Her life is a defenitive shocking revelation. Just utterbly creative fantasy writing done without fail.

Is this for you?

Fantasy lovers who like things filled with a smooth story with romance and occasional suspense, then get it

posted by BMdepository on July 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

123 out of 272 people found this review helpful.

Grammatical nightmare

I found the characters immature with absolutely no depth to them. Gemma made one bad decision after another with absolutely no reasoning behind it. The writing was basic, and more suitable for pre-teen readers. The grammar and spelling mistakes in almost every sentence ...
I found the characters immature with absolutely no depth to them. Gemma made one bad decision after another with absolutely no reasoning behind it. The writing was basic, and more suitable for pre-teen readers. The grammar and spelling mistakes in almost every sentence made the book a nightmare to read.

posted by Sandy1990 on October 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Grammatical nightmare

    I found the characters immature with absolutely no depth to them. Gemma made one bad decision after another with absolutely no reasoning behind it. The writing was basic, and more suitable for pre-teen readers. The grammar and spelling mistakes in almost every sentence made the book a nightmare to read.

    123 out of 272 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    Irritatingly bad

    I couldn't finish because of all the grammar errors: for example, tuff instead of tough, me instead of she, he instead of she, name confusion, words used in the wrong context, words missing, half sentences cut off, and much more. The tense jumped all over the place which made it impossible to understand the context of a scene. I found Gemma beyond irritating (she had the strangest thoughts at the strangest times, for example, she's running for her life but can't stop thinking how hot Alex is, which just made her seem juvenile and unrealistic) and the (very) slow plot is mediocre at best.

    39 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Too drawn out

    Bought this book based on the positive reviews and the summary. Wish I hadn't wasted my time and money as I lost interest due to the lack of suspense and too much talk. I wasn't interested in what she thought/felt/did especially since I didn't feel any chemistry between characters and couldn't connect with them. I want action in a book and not things to be so predictable and full of cliches. Worst were the missing words. I won't recommend this book.

    33 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    Nothing happens

    I was so bored I couldnt finish. Nothing happens. Gemma keeps whining and complaining and being childish like a little kid. Read it all before.

    24 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    What ?

    Not satisfied with the preview, still gave the book a chance. Ended up being disappointed. Too many grammar errors, confused at some descriptions that don't make sense and might be due to pages missing, problems with dialog. publisher should not publish such a book. want my time back!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Whiny and bantering

    After reading this rather short book I still don't understand what all the raves are about.
    Gemma is with all her whining the most annoying character I have ever met. Problems I had with this book was the lack of story line, grammar issues, too much focus on bantering dialogues it became downright exhausting. Nice cover but that's about all there is.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Self Publishing: What NOT to do

    The title and cover are absolutely fantastic. As soon as I saw the cover art, I thought "I want to read this." It is simple, beautiful, and the artwork compliments the story very well in my opinion. Unfortunately, that is as good as it gets for The Fallen Star. The book is an editors nightmare. The writing is weak at best, and the grammar is atrocious at some points. Possibly the worst point in the story is where Gemma meets Alex in astronomy class. Female main character meets super hot stud of a potential love interest in a high school science class. One is a new student and is forced to share the only available seat in the class with the other. Female main character is shocked and hurt when stud acts hateful for no apparent reason at all, considering they have never met before this point. It is later revealed that the reason for his negative reaction has a supernatural explanation. This should sound familiar because the same scenario played out in the beginning of this YA vampire book I read a few years ago, Twilight. Just exchange Gemma, Alex, astronomy, and "because of the electric like impulses for Bella, Edward, biology, and "because your blood makes you smell yummy," and it basically reads the same. Its a shame because this book could have potential. The story is there, but sadly, the writing isn't.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    annoyed it's a replica

    This book is not original. I makes me so angry to spend money only to get what I would call a replica of someone's else work. This book copies Harry Potter and the movie about a fallen star, both of which were a LOT better because they ARE the originals. the author didn't even try to proofread his work to make sure there are no basic grammar mistakes.
    which is why this book doesn't even deserve 1 star.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Ridiculous

    As one reviewer already stated, did no one bother to edit this? There were so many grammar and punctuation errors that I seriously begun to feel as though this can't possibly have been "published." The story had potential, but could have been summed up in far fewer words, leading me to believe that this was indeed written by a child... or at least someone who never paid attention in an English class.

    Unless you really don't mind numerous misplaced or omitted question marks and similar errors, don't waste your time or money on this piece of literary garbage.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Unimaginative

    This book was unimaginative and disappointing. It seems as though the author took bits and pieces of other more successful YA titles and haphazardly threw them together. The dialogue was so bad I thought the book was written by a child.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Poor plot

    Started out like Twilight, then deteriorated rapidly. Didn't make me care about the characters. I finished reading it, but had trouble staying awake.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Painful

    The word that best describes this book is: painful. I even gave it 10 or so pages, to see if it got any better, but it was pretty much unbearable. The voice in this book is that of a very unintellegent, self-important child. Please, don't waste your money on this.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Not recommended

    I did not care for this book. The plot and characters are lacking. It looked like it had potential when I started reading it, but I found that it was not worth finishing.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    When I was reading this, I couldn't really imagine the main char

    When I was reading this, I couldn't really imagine the main characters. It was like it was hard to make a character really say their own thing, and do whatever they specifically do. Not only that, but the story line is dull. Normal girl until mysterious new people show up at school, blah, blah, blah; I've heard that one before. Overall, I'm not impressed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Are you kidding me?

    The story was distracted, sporadic and incomplete. It was as though the author couldnt decide what they wanted to reveal. Nothing was captivating or even gives you that pulled in feeling. And the ending isnt just a cliff hanger, its another incomplete thought. It hust ends with no real emotional ties to any of the characters. Its an OK story, but very inexperienced. Maybe I will try another book buy this author in about 10 years after they get some life under their belt.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Thumbs Down

    I guess if you like vampires, tatoos that brand you as some type of thing or another, and shallow characters, it's okay. The only reason I got it was because it was free. Dissapointing. The writing style was annoying and very simple, with failed attempts from the first person narration to connect with the reader. I did not like this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Predictable

    In the beginning of the book I thought it was going to be a good book. But then it got kind of iffy in the middle. I knew what was going to happen before reading up to what was happening. I only got the book by the ratings it was getting and its a free book but clearly it wasnt worth the space on my nook.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Me

    I buy books from unknown authors according to the description,and the reviews people give them. That said, I found these books absurd, boring, and a waste of money. At times like this I regret buying the Nook. I hate being deceived.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Not a complete book!

    Like others have said, the grammar, spelling, and word usage are really bad. But the thing that bothered me the most is that it is not a complete book. None of the 4 books in the series could stand on their own. This "series" is really one book broken up into 4 installments to make more money, I assume. I actually liked the story and the characters, but I feel misled, even cheated, as though forced to pay 4 times to read one complete story, unlike other series where each book is a complete story on its own. At least the 4 parts were fairly inexpensive. It's bad enough to think I spent $10 or $12 dollars for a complete book of this poor quality just to find out how the story unfolds. I'll definitely not get sucked into this author again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Not great

    I bought this book based on the great title, cover art, and glowing reviews. I'm a 30-something mom and usually enjoy books labeled YA (mostly because most "adult" books use too much bad language and are filled with unecessary sex scenes). I quickly became bored and frustrated with how slow and repetative the plot was. Gemma was more irrittating than Ever (Evermore).

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6