Customer Reviews for

The Fallen Star (Fallen Star Series, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 1182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(728)

4 Star

(219)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(116)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

226 out of 314 people found this review helpful.

Of The Fallen Star @ Book & Movie Depository blog

Review by: Cassandra Hernandez
The Fallen Star is about Gemma a teen girl who has not been able to feel emotions most of her life. Her dreams are plagued by monsters who want to kill her. Along the way she finds some answers to all the mystery.

In my own words

P...
Review by: Cassandra Hernandez
The Fallen Star is about Gemma a teen girl who has not been able to feel emotions most of her life. Her dreams are plagued by monsters who want to kill her. Along the way she finds some answers to all the mystery.

In my own words

Pretty good beginning because we see Gemma is troubled. There are new classmates Aislin and Alex that know things about her. Gemma can be strong-willed and impulsive. Yet, there are times we see her fear of the mysteries surrounding her. Her life is a defenitive shocking revelation. Just utterbly creative fantasy writing done without fail.

Is this for you?

Fantasy lovers who like things filled with a smooth story with romance and occasional suspense, then get it

posted by BMdepository on July 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

123 out of 272 people found this review helpful.

Grammatical nightmare

I found the characters immature with absolutely no depth to them. Gemma made one bad decision after another with absolutely no reasoning behind it. The writing was basic, and more suitable for pre-teen readers. The grammar and spelling mistakes in almost every sentence ...
I found the characters immature with absolutely no depth to them. Gemma made one bad decision after another with absolutely no reasoning behind it. The writing was basic, and more suitable for pre-teen readers. The grammar and spelling mistakes in almost every sentence made the book a nightmare to read.

posted by Sandy1990 on October 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Good

    I didn't think I would like the storyline, but it was interesting. Its "paranormal" with a new twist. If you can get past the grammmatical and spelling errors its a good read!

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    A Very Cool Concept...

    I enjoyed the concept of The Fallen Star- you have to admit that it is a rather original idea. the only other book that I have ever heard of that deals with a falling star is Stardust by Neil Gaiman. And there isn't really much comparison between the two works, because honestly, there are huge fundamental differences. I don't want to get to far into an explanation of that, because I don't want to ruin either story for you, but just know that Sorensen gets mad brownie points for creativity.

    I wasn't too keen on Gemma's love interest, Alex. He was on a complete emotional roller coaster, and while I understand that his attraction for Gemma put him in a difficult position, I still couldn't excuse his behavior. He was incredibly protective of Gemma, and it was obvious to me as the reader that he had feelings for her, but for some reason I never warmed up to him. Maybe it was because I enjoyed the character of Laylen so much more. Laylen is a vampire that Gemma meets along her journey and he is actually nice to her. He doesn't avoid her question or lie to her, he tells her the truth. Unfortunately, he isn't really presented as a love interest. I hope he becomes one, because he is easily my favorite character out of the whole lot.

    I also had a few issues with the main character and protagonist, Gemma. I found her a bit hard to relate to and rather childish at times. Although, that could definitely be attributed to her childhood. She was raised in an emotionally isolated environment and never had any friends. So, I guess she would be a little emotionally stunted. So, I understand why she is the way she is, but I still didn't exactly like it.

    Great opening, you are introduced to a girl who couldn't feel. As far as attention-grabbing plot points go, I'd say that's a doozie. I, for one, had to know why Gemma grew up emotionless. In fact, that is what kept me reading through the majority of the story. Her lack of and then development of emotions is one of the main driving forces of the story. Sorsensen does a terrific job keeping the storyline connected and following by using this common thread throughout.

    On a final note, I will say that my edition did have quite a few typos. However, the author did offer up a new final version, but I had already read my copy. That being said, I did not take the typos into account with my rating, because I do not know what the final copy looks like. I just wanted to say something because I have been reading other reviews and quite a few mention the errors. So as an FYI, there is a shiny, newly edited version out there!

    Overall, The Fallen Star was a gripping and exciting read. Sorensen also did a fabulous job crafting and mapping out the book. The pacing was spot-on ad the story was always riveting and intense. I wasn't crazy about the protagonist and her main love interest, which is a definite problem. I am the kind of person who really needs to connect with the main characters, and unfortunately that didn't happen. However, the plotline was creative and exciting enough that I still enjoyed The Fallen Star. I will be looking out for the sequel and hopefully I will finally warm up to the characters!

    7 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Well

    Well there arent any reviews...so i thought that i would write one. Sorry if u dont like how i write...deal with it. Im a teen and can do whatever i want if its not against church rules parent rules or teacher rules...then u guess i cant do anything at all. Anyways... I only read the smple hut it looks rwally good and im going to buy the book so ill tell u if its good or not cause i can only buy a book on my nook if the reviews r good...so i thought for all u people out there reading this ill tell u. Well this was fun...but i got to go...bye I hope u liked this;D

    4 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    children book

    My children ( girls 9, 11) enjoyed this book. Very simple story, which needs a little more action.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    If you ignore the grammar errors and whatnot its pretty good

    Its kinda hard to ignore the grammar errors, but really try its a really good book so I gave it 3 stars,I took two stars away because of the errors. But it was overall a really good booK. It leaves with a HUGE cliffhanger leaving you wanting more. Gemma the main character was really interesting to read about and the plot was awesome. Read it, you WILL like it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Enjoyable

    I really liked this book. I do have to agree with the other post about the editing, or lack of, unfortunately. If you can get past that, it's a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Ok

    It was ok. Good book for teens. You could guess what was going to happen before it did so i found myself skipping ahead alot. Dont care to read book two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Fallen Short

    I find the writing a little simplistic. Pretty good plot, but the heroine is portrayed as a brat and always wanting her own way. It gets tiresome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Gpod

    I dont know why u ppl dont apreciat that the author put his time into making this book for us if u dont apreciat it you should go to cambodia i wen ttheee and children livebon the streets i saw on egirlvtaking care of a baby now u should be gratful for what u have

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Awful Book

    I thought it ws boring... the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Very imaginative. Worth the read.

    Jessica Sorensen has a wonderful imagination. I loved the Fallen Star world. The characters were described well, and the story was entertaining. The only negative things I have to say are that the stories were short (I like a novel that lasts longer), and the mistakes (vocabulary and structure errors) were very distracting. I found myself proof reading the books as I went along. However, I have read the whole series to date, and plan on reading any future novels in the series to come.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    I like the book, but there are some flaws.

    I like the story line, but there where many grammar errors, misspelled words, and parts where the sentences don't make since. I don't like how this book looks like on the nook. It says the book is approx 414 pages, but on the nook is a little over 200.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Good story, horrible writing

    The story was great! The only issues were the writing style was weak and there were so many errors is spelling, grammer, you name it. I recomend to people who don't realy care about the writing, just the story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    rant

    This was a really good book. When I wasn't biting my lip in an attempt to avoid screaming at Gemma. I get wanting a protagonist who is more 'human' and 'relatable' with flaws and stuff, but for me it just detracted from a very promising book.
    For an 18 year old, Gemma was dense, stupid, stubborn in all the bad ways, willful, and dumb as a rock. She'd have things practically spelled out for her and she still couldn't connect the dots. She had two separate visions featuring the same two people at the same time in their lives and she couldn't figure out they were the people in both visions? Or what they meant?! She KNOWS what she is, how important she is to the whole FREAKING WORLD yet 'feels bad' when people have to fight for her while she hides, safely way---and wastes precious time about how she wants to fight and how she can help blah blah. She never does as she's told, she emerges time and time again from her hiding spots and time and time again is then led almost to the brink of death. Does she learn her lesson? No. Another infuriating flaw is her tendency to gasp. She is not a 39 year old woman parked in front of her TV with a carton of ice cream watching her favorite afternoon drama. YOU-ARE-WHERE-YOU'RE-NOT-SUPPOSED-TO-BE, quit giving yourself away GASPING!

    That is one of my two complaints: Gemma's tendency to not learn from her mistakes and grow throughout most of the book. The second is that she had no will to live or better phrased, she had no 'fight' in her. Each time she was confronted with death she freaked out and cowered and we watch as she waits for death, for it all to end. Um....okay? So you're not going to help yourself get away? you ran one direction, it didn't work, and now you're totally defeated? Oh I see you backed yourself into a corner. That was smart.

    :) But really, it could just me be, I'm in my early 20's so not really the high school range the book is directed towards. And I'm literally minutes from ending the book so the annoyances are still fresh in my mind. But I enjoyed it. I appreciated that things weren't easy between her and Alex, I always dislike a heroine who too easily gives in to the hero and follows blindly. Good supporting characters. A lot of it kept me guessing, but all the things that should have come together for Gemma and she didn't immediately grasp, were glaringly obvious to me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    It used to be free! Not worth it...

    I have this book and it was free when I got it.
    It was ok for a free book but not worth a dollar.
    And the girl on the cover isn't pretty at all ):
    If you want a good book for a dollar get the 2nd book in the greywolves series. (The first one is free)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Good book

    Enjoyable enough

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Did alison and layen die

    Well, did they? I need to know!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Good

    The book is good, gives you just enough time to start relating to the characters and getting into the story. It ends on a major cliffhanger and leaves you wanting more. Can't wait to get started on book two- The Underworld.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Good

    I thought the book was good. It has some slow parts and you know things before Gemma figures it out. Other than that its a good read. Just got book two, so hopefully its good too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    So so

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4