Customer Reviews for

The Fallen Star (Fallen Star Series, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 1183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(727)

4 Star

(220)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(117)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

226 out of 314 people found this review helpful.

Of The Fallen Star @ Book & Movie Depository blog

Review by: Cassandra Hernandez
The Fallen Star is about Gemma a teen girl who has not been able to feel emotions most of her life. Her dreams are plagued by monsters who want to kill her. Along the way she finds some answers to all the mystery.

In my own words

P...
Review by: Cassandra Hernandez
The Fallen Star is about Gemma a teen girl who has not been able to feel emotions most of her life. Her dreams are plagued by monsters who want to kill her. Along the way she finds some answers to all the mystery.

In my own words

Pretty good beginning because we see Gemma is troubled. There are new classmates Aislin and Alex that know things about her. Gemma can be strong-willed and impulsive. Yet, there are times we see her fear of the mysteries surrounding her. Her life is a defenitive shocking revelation. Just utterbly creative fantasy writing done without fail.

Is this for you?

Fantasy lovers who like things filled with a smooth story with romance and occasional suspense, then get it

posted by BMdepository on July 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

123 out of 272 people found this review helpful.

Grammatical nightmare

I found the characters immature with absolutely no depth to them. Gemma made one bad decision after another with absolutely no reasoning behind it. The writing was basic, and more suitable for pre-teen readers. The grammar and spelling mistakes in almost every sentence ...
I found the characters immature with absolutely no depth to them. Gemma made one bad decision after another with absolutely no reasoning behind it. The writing was basic, and more suitable for pre-teen readers. The grammar and spelling mistakes in almost every sentence made the book a nightmare to read.

posted by Sandy1990 on October 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    BookWhisperer Rating: The Fallen Star by Jessica Sorensen

    This self published novel is a breath taking display of talent from this new author. Gemma's story is unique and heartbreaking; creating a story that will keep readers on the edge of their seats. With a story that plays on the sympathy of the readers it is almost impossible to not find yourself absorbed into this story with so much intensity. Though, I must note this book is so much more than just sadness for Gemma's life; the story is action packed and mysterious creating a suspenseful read for the paranormal and supernatural lovers. With no clear cut direction this is a compilation of the species that readers love in this genre. Gemma carries a Fallen Star's power that proves unique and intriguing, but as the story progresses it is evident that this author knows no bound including Vampires, Fae, Forseers, and a entirely new species that would include the Death Walkers. Specifically, the Death Walkers remind me of the Dementors out of Harry Potter movies, but I have to say that in my opinion it did not deter the story's integrity; other than a slight feeling of déjà voo. I am speechlessly impressed by the ability that this author has shown in this debuting novel, and to find it self publisher was shocking. The conclusion was a heart stopping cliff hanger that comes to a very abrupt halt. As a reader this left me distraught with the lack of a clear cut ending; although as a reviewer I think this was a promise of talent in the author to notice an opportunity to leave the readers guessing for the future of this novel. This is definitely a book to be recommended.

    125 out of 160 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Little drawn out

    Story was great, but a little too much blah, blah, blah.

    38 out of 135 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Wow

    A really fresh ideal..... i just kinda wish that it was a ,little more grown up, i look forward to reading the rest of these books!

    24 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    AWESOME!

    This book was well written and exciting, to say the least. I really enjoyed the character development. Gemma was a fun person to follow and her quirky-ness really pulled it all together. The Death Walkers struck a nerve with me, and at some points I got pretty scared for the characters. I do, however, get really emotionally involved in books :) why not five stars? Well, I suppose I was hoping for a little more romance. Some parts were repetetive in wording, but it's easy to get over. I cannot wait to read the next books!

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Good book...better then expected(:
    Cant wait to read the next one:)

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Good so far

    Im not that far in the book, but im already in love. I usally read a book in a day or so, and im so into this book i could probably finish it in a few hours!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Interesting Story line

    This is the first book of the Fallen Star Series. When I first started reading the book, I did not think that I would like it. The plot moved a little too slow for me, but as I got more into the story and understood what was going on, I loved it. I read the other two and cannot wait for the fourth book to come out. It is a really different paranormal story. I'm not sure if I would even classify it as paranormal or sci-fi. Still, it is a good book. There are some grammatical errors, but the story is so good that one tends to overlook them just to find out what happens next. It is definitely a page turner. Enjoy.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    A Slow and Bumpy Start to a Good Series

    When I began reading this book, I was disappointed that it seemed to merely follow the supernatural romance adventure formula of girl meets new boy at school who she is fated to be attracted to. Boy is weird and standoffish but omnipresent and girl has bizarre things happening to her. Ho Hum... However, after you trudge past this boring introduction, and the real plot begins, the book is a fun read. It involves a new twist on the world of the supernatural and interesting characters. Gemma turns out to be a cool heroine- she's not perfect and she's just trying to keep it real. Now, I've read the whole series and I can't wait to read #4 to see how it all turns out.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Very Entertaining

    Dont listen to the naysayers... I almost did and would have missed a good book with a great storyline. Though it is geared to the teens, I really enjoyed it and imm 46! In fact im fixing to read the second in the series Underworld.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Nn

    Very good book although at times a little hard to read but then you get sucked right back in. If you are the type of person for some romance and a little action and fantasy this is a perfect book for you! Be prepared for a tiny bit of confusion but KEEP READING you won't be sorry

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    A good read :)

    This book would be great for any teenage fantasy lovers like myself. It was full of suspense and dramatic events that made the plot superb in my opinion. The main character has lived an odd life, but suddenly, she regains her emotions and has nightmares every night, and they begin to drive her mad with fear as the creatures in her haunting dreams appear in her real life and follow her to try and gain control of the power within her! A great story, I'm half-way through the second book now and I'm planning on reading the rest. Like I stated before, I encourage any teenagers who enjoy fantasy with a twist of romance to read this.

    And for those complaining about the misspellings and typos, yes, there are typos, but get over yourselves. They're not that bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Loved it!

    If you like the Twilight Saga series, you will like this series. Although not without it's flaws (layout, grammar); overall I loved the series. Easy read..hoping for Book 4!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Fallen star

    I really loved it it definetly suprised me

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Great book!!

    I was pleasantly surprised with this one. I loved it and cant wait for the next installment! If you are into fantasy with a splash of romance check this one out....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Hmmm

    Id give it 5 stars if it wasn't such a screwy e-book. Some pages are completely blank and words don't show up unless i highlight them. Other words are just cut in half.... but it's a really interesting book though!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    It was good

    Cant wait to read the others

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Amazing

    This is an amazing series. I love how different the story is and how great the characters are. After reading the first book in a day, I went and bought the second two. Each book is amazing. I definitely recommend this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Amazing!

    I love this series! Something new and different. I cant wait for the final book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Breathless.

    The story begins slow, but kicks off after a little bit. You kind of gt the feeling something bad is going to happen, but are never quite sure what until the very end. I can't wait until the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    3.5

    Keeps you reading. Simply written. Surprisingly entertaining for sci fi.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11