Customer Reviews for

Falling Angels: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Falling Angels a book by Tracy Chevalier

A bewitching tale told thru the eyes of two turn-of-the century London families. Tracy Chevalier makes you feel like you are observing them from the outside under a glass yet at the same time she makes you feel like you are taking sides and routing for one or the other ...
A bewitching tale told thru the eyes of two turn-of-the century London families. Tracy Chevalier makes you feel like you are observing them from the outside under a glass yet at the same time she makes you feel like you are taking sides and routing for one or the other family members. She tells this story through a variety of shifting perspectives of wives and husbands, friends and lovers, masters and servants and she manages to keep each character superbly under prospective...

posted by GabrielRE on May 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not Even 1 Page.

The sample of this book was 1 sentence. One of the reasons I "Love my Nook",is that I can sample a book in the comfort of my home,before, I decide if I would like to purchase it or not. Samples of the books has been a wonderful tool for me, but some samples( like this o...
The sample of this book was 1 sentence. One of the reasons I "Love my Nook",is that I can sample a book in the comfort of my home,before, I decide if I would like to purchase it or not. Samples of the books has been a wonderful tool for me, but some samples( like this one) are so frustrating. I realize I can get in the car,and run to the book store, but my choice was the Nook. And,I would not write this if it were the first time the sample has been so short. Please, B&N make the samples worthwhile. Does anyone else agree? MC

posted by Jonandkat on October 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Not Even 1 Page.

    The sample of this book was 1 sentence. One of the reasons I "Love my Nook",is that I can sample a book in the comfort of my home,before, I decide if I would like to purchase it or not. Samples of the books has been a wonderful tool for me, but some samples( like this one) are so frustrating. I realize I can get in the car,and run to the book store, but my choice was the Nook. And,I would not write this if it were the first time the sample has been so short. Please, B&N make the samples worthwhile. Does anyone else agree? MC

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Falling Angels a book by Tracy Chevalier

    A bewitching tale told thru the eyes of two turn-of-the century London families. Tracy Chevalier makes you feel like you are observing them from the outside under a glass yet at the same time she makes you feel like you are taking sides and routing for one or the other family members. She tells this story through a variety of shifting perspectives of wives and husbands, friends and lovers, masters and servants and she manages to keep each character superbly under prospective...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    HORRID!

    Let me begin by saying that I adored Girl With a Pearl Earring and thought it lovely and vivid. This book was awful. Nine narrators. Unsympathetic characters who behave cruelly and without thought to consequences. The only character I truly loved, a quiet, observant child called Ivy May, is raped and strangled at a suffragist rally. Appalling, gratuitous, and dreadful. Also a lazy writer's waste of a good character's potential. Instead of developing the more intriguing characters, she peppered the story with crudeness and intermittant tragedy. Very disappointing. I stuck with it hoping for a redeeming quality but it provided none. Rather than donating it to the public library as I planned, I'm going to toss it in the garbage.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2007

    worth the time

    I struggled to stick with this book at first, but after I finished it, I was glad I did. Just enough detail, strong symbolism, and hints of greater truths.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2007

    definitly worthwhile

    it was not as captivating as 'the lady and the unicorn' bu tdefinatly a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    Beautiful and Unforgettable

    I loved this book. Beautiful, ingenious writing and totally unpredictable. Simply unforgettable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2005

    Good, but not my favorite Chevalier book

    I have read every one of Tracy Chaevalier's books (except Virgin Blue, which I plan start in a few days) and I have to say this is probably my least favorite. It was good, but I never felt that 'can't put it down' feeling I had with ' The Girl with the Pearl Earring' and 'The Lady and the Unicorn'. But like I said it's a good book in it's own standing, I just felt compared to her other works it was the weakest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Chaos

    Waits to be tested

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Horrible

    I've read several of her books, this one is horribly boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    You Won't Be Able to Put Down

    I loved this book. It was slightly slow to begin, but once you got into it, it was very interesting. I enjoyed the different views of each character. You almost came to become personal with them. My only complaint is that the ending wasn't an ending. It left unanswered questions and felt as though the development of the characters could have been extended to some point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    another great

    the best author and great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Chevalier is a Great Story Teller

    This is the second book of hers that I have read, and again, I thoroughly enjoyed the story. I appreciate Chevalier's ability to immerse the reader another era and connect the reader to the characters and a historic event. Falling Angels takes place in the first decade of the 20th century in England when the women's suffrage movement gained momentum. Chevalier's very clever in her story telling as she draws the reader into the story and connects us to the characters, but then suddenly something unexpected happens. For me, Falling Angels is a reminder about the unpredicability of life and choices, no matter the century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    depressing, dull- nothing like her other titles

    After Reading Chevalier's other two books, I eagerly began this book. It was a major disappointment. It was dull and downright depressing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    LOVED IT

    i thought this book was great- I've read all of her books and I love them all, but this is one of my favorites!! I love her style, and the different perspectives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    totally unpredictable

    this book was very good-not as good as lady and the unicorn and virgin blue but still worth the read. the book started off well then got kind of boring then all of a sudden became an unpredictable page turner-very surprising and unpredictable. as usual tracy chavelier writes beautifully.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2004

    Don't bother

    This book was not only slow, but I felt like they kept telling the same story over and over again. This was my first and last novel by this author, I was NOT impressed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2004

    Do Not Recommend

    This is the second book I have read by this author and it is likely to be the last. Her characters lack depth and she fails to transport you to the time and place where the story unfolds. This book creeps along as the characters give a superficial recount of the day. Finally out of no where you are hit with a surprise ending that the author again fails to develop. The best word to describe this book is FLAT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2003

    A page turner that grips your heart and pulls you along.

    I have read all three of Chevalier's novels, and I found this one to have been my favorite... Characters that become a part of your life--A real page turner that grips your heart and pulls you along, drawing you in, holding your interest and wishing that there was a sequel. Making you wonder at the chilling cruelties of humanity, it's strengths and frailties...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2003

    Different Views

    I LOVED this book because it is actually something else. Tracy gives us not one point of view but we see things from everyones(characters) perspective, which gives us much more of an understanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2003

    very good

    The author is adept at describing different times very well with simple, eloquent prose; less is more with her. In this novel she also uses multiple perspective to bring a larger stable of characters to life than she did in Girl with a Pearl Earring. Some credulity is asked for on the part of the reader when some rather improbable coincidences take place. But the characters are again engaging. They speak not in perhaps the 'voices' they would actually have used (e.g. poorer grammar for the lower class maids, etc.), but in polished prose that nonetheless captures their thoughts and essential characters. Perhaps sometimes their observations overstep what the actual character's perception would allow them to realize, but on the whole, it's successful. Themes are a bit more mixed than in Girl with a Pearl Earring, covering class, the role of women and the problems of dissatisfaction that must have plagued many Victorians, Victorian attitudes about death, and general Victorian morality, mainly as it applied to women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4