Customer Reviews for

Falling Awake

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Great

    Some of the reviews worried me, yet when I read he book I was enthralled. This shows again how flexable this author is. The explaination and use of lucid dreams was great. If you have never experienced one you might be both confused and dissapointrd with this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2006

    A newly treasured favorite

    I thought this book was a wonderful read with enough new twists to keep it fresh and the same Krentz spark that always keeps me comming back for more. Its 'makes you think' story along with sizzling characters makes it almost impossible to put down and unforgetable when finished. Did I mention I loved this book? :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2006

    Once you get into it...

    It's a great read, but does have some slow points. It wouldn't have been my first choice, but was surprisingly good once you get past the 'dreams' and look at the people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Kristy

    Hey

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have read other books by this author and enjoyed them, so I had high hopes after reading the jacket on this book. The story started slow but I kept hoping it would pick up. You don't feel the heat/spark between the main characters. What did Cutler do and why, that could be half of the book by itself. Why was Belvedere's son so hell bent on destroying everything he had built? The explanation that Randy had issues with his father is not enough. I wanted more about the dream analysis - how, who, what, why. Romance and real action would have done it for me. I will not recommend this book to my friends, but I will continue to read her books from the library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    Sleep Process

    The theme is very unusual, almost science fiction. However, it could happen with the proper drugs and victims....I mean, submissive subjects. There would probably be a lot of clients like law-inforcement-agencies......maybe it's a true story deguised as fiction! Do you think? kit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    Ehhhhhh...

    I'm not sure how to feel about this book, but it's definitely not something I would read again. I feel it's partly the fault of the narrator (since I got it on audio) - her male voices were horrible and monotonous, and I'm sure that didn't help. It leant no emotion to the male lead. The plot was a little wishy washy as well - the lucid dreaming seems like an interesting idea, but wasn't really fully developed for the story. Overall, not terrible, but I'm glad I just checked it out from the library and didn't buy it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2005

    Very disappointed

    I hate to say it but I was very disappointed in this book. I was really looking forward to it being released, especially after just having read Light in Shadow and Truth or Dare. Light in Shadow really good, Truth or Dare almost as good. I didn't think the dialoge between the two main characters in Falling Awake was well written. The chemistry was not there either. Neither of the two main character were very dynamic. Overall I was just very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2004

    I hate to do this...so let me explain...

    Isabel Wright is a Level Five lucid dreamer. She spends her days at the Belvedere Center for Sleep Research analyzing the dreams of others. Her boss, Dr. Martin Belvedere, had recruited her from a dead-end job on a psychic hot line. It only took one call for him to recognize her talent. Isabel is paid very well for her talent in analyzing the dreams of three special clients. Client Number Two is the one that she finds compelling, but she has no idea as to his real name or his job. Isabel has mentally dubbed him her 'dream man'. .................................................................... ...... Client Number Two's real name is Ellis Cutler. He works for a highly classified government agency with an interest in the potential value of lucid dreaming. His boss (Jack Lawson, one of the other two clients) informed Ellis that Dr. Belvedere has died and wants him to make contact with Isabel Wright. (Belvedere's son has taken over the business. Firing Isabel and getting rid of the dream department is one of his first decisions.) Jack wants Isabel on his payroll. Ellis has always been amazed at how well Isabel interprets his dreams. She has helped the agency on many cases and never knew it. Ellis has mentally dubbed her as 'tango dancer'. .................................................................... .. Ellis pushes his fantasies of Isabel out of his mind and tries to maintain a professional relationship with her. When they meet, everything just seems to CLICK. It is like a dream come true; however, the nightmare is only beginning. A suspicious hit-and-run leads them into a perilous web of passion, betrayal, mysteries, and murders. .................................................................... .............. ** First off, let me say that I LOVE this author! I own every single hard back that Jayne Ann Krentz has ever released and in large print when able. Her title 'FAMILY MAN' is my all time favorite book of the genre. Yet for the first time ever, I am sorely disappointed. The author has kept the psychic subplot running that I, and many of her fans, love so much. However, the relationship between the hero and heroine has slowly changed over time. It no longer shows a strong heroine wanting to stand on her own two feet, but first must either (1) get the hero to take up his family duty so she no longer has to or (2) ask the hero for some temporary help. No matter which of the two are used, the hero already has his eye on her (or at least admires/desires her) and plans to do as she asks but keep her close by his side. Now an outside influence is pushing the main characters together. .................................................................... In addition, the lucid dream theory seems too weak for this type of story. The whole thing came across to me as fake. On the other hand, the plot is pretty sound, I could tell the author did her research on the subject matter, and the entire book is extremely well written. If you are a die hard fan of this author, by all means purchase the hard back. (I did.) Otherwise, consider waiting until the paperback is released or haunt a used book store. **

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    As good as it gets

    Lucid dreaming is the ability to control one¿s dreams and be able to find answers to questions and problems that one can¿t obtain when awake. Isabel Wright, a level five dreamer, works at the Belvedere Center for Sleep Research where she analyzes the dreams of other lucid dreamers. When her boss dies and his son takes over, he fires Isabel who intends to be a free-lancer. He doesn¿t realize until it is too late that without her work, the company will go bankrupt in a few months. He is determined to lure her back to his company................................ One of Isabel¿s anonymous clients is Ellis Cuttler, an operative for a black ops organization; he believes lucid dreaming can help solve murder investigations. His director orders Ellis to do whatever it takes to bring Isabel into the operation. Ellis and Isabel have dreamed about each other for months before they even met and an instant attraction flares to life as soon as they do meet. The road to happiness is bumpy because someone is gunning for Ellis and doesn¿t care how many innocent victims get killed in the crossfire................................ Jayne Ann Krentz has written another fantastic romantic suspense novel that will satiate her myriad of fans who eagerly looking forward to the next tale as the author always scores a five on a five star rating system; FALLING AWAKE is no exception. The support cast is as quirky as ever and the protagonists are thoroughly likeable and effortlessly to care about. The action is fast paced with plenty of action scenes but characterizations are not neglected. Each key person in the FALLING AWAKE is a three dimensional individual whose motivations are easy to understand.............................. Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2