Customer Reviews for

Falling Together

Average Rating 4
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

This is a terrific character study that deftly changes into an engaging mystery

Will, Cat and Pen became friends over Beowulf at college. They remained BFFs throughout their undergraduate years, but their friendship ended when Cat married her long term boyfriend Jason; who Will and Pen loathed. As they graduated, the trio agreed to never contact ...
Will, Cat and Pen became friends over Beowulf at college. They remained BFFs throughout their undergraduate years, but their friendship ended when Cat married her long term boyfriend Jason; who Will and Pen loathed. As they graduated, the trio agreed to never contact one another ever again.

Six years later, Cat emails her two former BFFs pleading with them to attend the college reunion so they can see one another. Unable to resist, Pen accompanied by her five years old daughter Augusta and Will go to the reunion to see Cat. Both are stunned with what awaits them at the reunion and beyond.

This is a terrific character study that deftly changes into an engaging mystery. The cast is extremely well developed and not just the lead trio as the support players bring plenty of oomph to the plot. Readers will want to travel with the three protagonists on a journey of awakening even though the walk down the Yellowbrick Road is too long and straightforward; as the trio and fans learn not all that glitters is gold and some that does not glitter is golden.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on September 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Sometimes saying hello to old friends is the process of saying goodbye!

It's been six years since Pen Calloway watched her best friends walk out of her life. And through the birth of her daughter, the death of her father, and the vicissitudes of single motherhood, she has never stopped missing them.

Pen, Cat and Will met on their first d...
It's been six years since Pen Calloway watched her best friends walk out of her life. And through the birth of her daughter, the death of her father, and the vicissitudes of single motherhood, she has never stopped missing them.

Pen, Cat and Will met on their first day of college and formed what seemed like a magical and lifelong bond, only to see their friendship break apart amid the realities of adulthood. When, after years of silence, Cat - the bewitching, charismatic center of their group - emails Pen and Will with an urgent request to meet at their college reunion, they can't refuse. But instead of a happy reconciliation, what awaits is a collision of past and present that sends Pen and Will, with Pen's five-year-old daughter and Cat's hostile husband in tow, on a journey across the world.

With her trademark wit, vivid prose, and a gift for creating authentic, captivating characters, Marissa de los Santos returns with an emotionally resonant novel about our deepest human connections. As Pen and Will struggle to uncover the truth about Cat, they find more than they bargained for: startling truths about who they were before and who they are now. They must confront the reasons their friendship fell apart and discover how - and if - it can ever fall back together.

I received Falling Together by Marissa de los Santos compliments of Harper Collins for my honest review. It's my first novel by this author and though I tried to get into the story, it just seemed like it was all over the place for me. The plot basically involves three people who formed a friendship in college and when life got in the way, they went their own separate ways. Now when a mystery email shows up, they decide to reunite but a twist appears when the email isn't what it appears. For me, the storyline was a bit confusing perhaps while the author was trying to establish the characters in the story and make them believable and for me, they just weren't. However that being said, perhaps the book will speak volumes for other readers, and for that reason I rate this book a 2 out of 5 stars. It just didn't have enough in it to make you want to keep reading it.

posted by Heart2Heart on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific character study that deftly changes into an engaging mystery

    Will, Cat and Pen became friends over Beowulf at college. They remained BFFs throughout their undergraduate years, but their friendship ended when Cat married her long term boyfriend Jason; who Will and Pen loathed. As they graduated, the trio agreed to never contact one another ever again.

    Six years later, Cat emails her two former BFFs pleading with them to attend the college reunion so they can see one another. Unable to resist, Pen accompanied by her five years old daughter Augusta and Will go to the reunion to see Cat. Both are stunned with what awaits them at the reunion and beyond.

    This is a terrific character study that deftly changes into an engaging mystery. The cast is extremely well developed and not just the lead trio as the support players bring plenty of oomph to the plot. Readers will want to travel with the three protagonists on a journey of awakening even though the walk down the Yellowbrick Road is too long and straightforward; as the trio and fans learn not all that glitters is gold and some that does not glitter is golden.

    Harriet Klausner

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    YAWN. Should be re-titled "Falling Asleep"

    I bought this because I loved Marisa's other books. I am up to page 190 and I just can't go any further. There is no depth to the characters and there has been no direction in the story. Sorry Marisa, but you haven't grabbed me, you have put me into napville.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sometimes saying hello to old friends is the process of saying goodbye!

    It's been six years since Pen Calloway watched her best friends walk out of her life. And through the birth of her daughter, the death of her father, and the vicissitudes of single motherhood, she has never stopped missing them.

    Pen, Cat and Will met on their first day of college and formed what seemed like a magical and lifelong bond, only to see their friendship break apart amid the realities of adulthood. When, after years of silence, Cat - the bewitching, charismatic center of their group - emails Pen and Will with an urgent request to meet at their college reunion, they can't refuse. But instead of a happy reconciliation, what awaits is a collision of past and present that sends Pen and Will, with Pen's five-year-old daughter and Cat's hostile husband in tow, on a journey across the world.

    With her trademark wit, vivid prose, and a gift for creating authentic, captivating characters, Marissa de los Santos returns with an emotionally resonant novel about our deepest human connections. As Pen and Will struggle to uncover the truth about Cat, they find more than they bargained for: startling truths about who they were before and who they are now. They must confront the reasons their friendship fell apart and discover how - and if - it can ever fall back together.

    I received Falling Together by Marissa de los Santos compliments of Harper Collins for my honest review. It's my first novel by this author and though I tried to get into the story, it just seemed like it was all over the place for me. The plot basically involves three people who formed a friendship in college and when life got in the way, they went their own separate ways. Now when a mystery email shows up, they decide to reunite but a twist appears when the email isn't what it appears. For me, the storyline was a bit confusing perhaps while the author was trying to establish the characters in the story and make them believable and for me, they just weren't. However that being said, perhaps the book will speak volumes for other readers, and for that reason I rate this book a 2 out of 5 stars. It just didn't have enough in it to make you want to keep reading it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Somewhat entertaining

    I found it hard to grasp the reasoning Cat, Will and Penn used to end their friendship and to never contact each other after Cat married. The determination Will and Penn put forth to find her seemed misplaced after they had spent six years with no contact at all. Her husband seemed more like a stalker than a person who really understood his wife and their relationships. Cat's daughter seemed to bear the brunt of the hardships of the search. The happy ending seemed contrived and I found myself wondering why Cat and Will who were supposed to be the loves of each other's life never bothered to contact each other for six years. The promise to stay apart was juvenile in its premise and made the whole book seem trite.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    needed a good editor

    The book kept me interested, but I think it was about 100 pages too long. Good character development, unique story line, just too long.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Too long--falls short in interest

    This needs MUCH editing. Falls short of ther other books!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Falling Together is about friendship and love.  It explores the

    Falling Together is about friendship and love.  It explores the closest friendship and what happens when people grow up and out.  Here, love is explored with a focus on family though romantic love is present  as well.  For the Pen, the biggest betrayal is leaving, walking away.  With the dissolution of a close-knit friendship, the death of her father, and the end of a relationship, Pen feels more alone than ever.  When she receives an email from her friend Cat, asking for help, she can't help but look at the past and see a chance of regaining what she lost.




    I fell in love with this story almost from the very beginning.  I loved the relationships between the characters, the witty banter, the random way that they connected, and the growth throughout the journey.  It's told from Pen's point of view and every once in a while we get a glimpse into Will's.  Most of the characters change throughout and achieve a growth of sorts, but my favorite came from Jason, Cat's husband, because he isn't really a likeable character, but he was complex and I was drawn in.  This isn't a fast read and it should be carefully read because it isn't linear.  At times it read like a conversation with a person with a short attention span who changes the subject as things pop in his head; you never really get to finish the original conversation.  It really made me reflect on some of my relationships, creating a strong connection on my part.  I completely get these characters.  As crazy and perhaps unrealistic as the friendship between Pen, Cat, and Will seemed, it felt so real.  I knew it could be real because I've had a friendship like that, but it seems unreal to other people because they are on the outside looking in.  I was pleasantly surprised at the progression of the plot.  It isn't particularly predictable and everything isn't tied up into a neat bow.




    Overall, this one will stick with me for a long time and is one of my favorite reads of the year.  It's the kind of story that you love so much that you don't want to share (if that makes any sense).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Sweet love story

    Nice description of ccollege aged friendships followed by growing up and into real deal love
    Last few chapters were very moving

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Boring plot didn't hold my interest

    I read and liked Belong To Me so I thought I'd try this one and it just didn't hold my interest. I found the main character Pen totally unrelatable and the story was just boring.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Disappointing

    I was disappointed in the book. I found it predictable. The only surprising element to the book was the overseas trip. Probably won't mre reading this one again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Great characters.

    Great read. I loved the flow of conversation btwn the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Loved it!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it was a great story very light and easy to read but not at all cheesy. Marisa de los Santos has such a great way with words and dialogue that really makes her characters come to life. The dialogue was so genuine, they talked just like I do with my family and friends. Great read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Good read

    I love the way she uses words. Beautifully written and very thoughtful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Loved it!

    Read if for my book club, don't know if I would have chose it on my own. Easy to read, very descriptive writing. Happy ending, doesn't leave anything hanging. So I'm glad that I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Bounty...

    :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Place...

    The expecting shecat's name here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Just OK

    I found the characters a little hokey -- it was hard to keep reading because I didn't really care about them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Good

    This was good overall. Took me awile to get into the story and I even put it away for a few weeks, but eventually came back to it and was glad I did. The story got much more interesting after awhile, and had some really moving moments as well as some light-hearted moments. Stick with it and it will be worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Silvershimmer

    D:)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Lightpaw

    I love it so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6