Customer Reviews for

Falling Up: Poems and Drawings

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Silverstein Classic

    I bought this book for my 10 year old daughter who is a poetry lover! She loves to read this book alone or out loud to her siblings. The poems are lightheard and silly...perfect for children and adults! This is a book that can be read over and over again and you will love it just the same :)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Highly recommend it - very funny

    I really enjoyed reading Falling Up by Shel Silverstein. My favorite poem was Snow Ball (pg. 11) which is about a child that makes a snowball and puts it to sleep with him. The next day he's all upset thinking the snowball went away and wet his bed. The book has funny poems just like this one. - Javier, 9

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    All About Falling Up

    Falling Up is a great book that will be loved forever and never forgotten. It was written by Shel Silverstein, an author that is known all around the world. Reading this book is a great way to help you start to write poems because Shel Silverstein has such a great way of using words that rhyme. Most of Shel¿s poems have life lessons in them that you need to look for to know what he is saying. While reading this book I could connect to the poem called ¿Advice¿. In this poem he used the name William and he talked about arrows. I can connect to this poem because during some scout trips we are able to shoot bow and arrows. Also, the name of the main character in the book is the same as mine. If Shel was still alive I would ask him some questions. One question is about his poems. Did he write them for humor or for life lessons? How did you come up with the poem ¿Snowball¿? The character thinks a snowball wets the bed. It is so funny. Did you write all your poems at once or did you create them throughout your whole life? In the book there were three really good poems called, ¿Plugging In¿, ¿Scale¿, and ¿Falling Up¿. These poems were good because they were funny and one had a lesson in it. The lesson in ¿Plugging In¿ is that if you have too many electrical toys and appliances your electric could go off and you would not have it for your needs like heat and hot water. The book had other poems that were good but I thought those were some of the best. There was one poem that was out of this world. It was called ¿Snowball¿. This was my favorite poem because it was the funniest in the whole book. It is funny because the character thinks that a snowball wets her bed then runs away. Snowballs don¿t run away or wet beds. They melt so it is not there and there is a wet spot. Falling Up is a book that is good for everyone. If you like funny poems this book is for you. If you like poems with life lessons this book is for you. If you like books with different kinds of poems in it this book is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    Falling Up is a funny book. It has poems and drawings in i

    Falling Up is a funny book. It has poems and drawings in it. Falling Up was a fun, easy, and interesting book. I would highly recommend this book for any age, it is a really good book. I honestly don't enjoy reading that much, but I thought that this was a fun book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    Fun book

    I like the book because it is funny, weird, and scary. I will grade it with 4 stars out of 5 becuase some poems start good but they get very boring, they don't get you anywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    A Great Book!

    Falling Up is the best poetry book ever! I think the best poem to me is OBEDIENT.It is my favorite poem, because it teaches you to obey the rules,and behave in class.I like this poetry book, because the drawings,and the titles are funny.Shel uses a bunch of mistakes in his poems,and that makes it weird.I hope you enjoy the book if you want to read it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    falling up

    Tis is a really good book with a funny part to almost every poem. Most of rthe poems tell about something that is totally ridicoulas or sominthing meant to be just funny. Most of the pictures in the book are very detailed and have a lot to do with the poem which are very funny and usually meant for fun. This book is mostly meant for fun and is recomended for readers who like a nice laugh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2000

    This book is good

    These poems are not only written for the understanding and amusemant of chidren but of adults... to follow this book is to live life to the fullest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1