Customer Reviews for

Falling Up: Poems and Drawings

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    (:

    Shel Silverstein never disapoints me. He is my favorite poet.
    I love it because all of the poems are dorky and don't have to be for kids. Must read his poems.(:

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    Falling Up Review

    Falling up is a terrific book by Shel Silverstein. I liked falling up because of the pictures. Shel does not put a lot of work into his pictures. I like the pictures because they go along with the poems and the pictures are funny. Shel makes up a lot of cool characters and words. Some times his poems are hard to under stand. But they are still funny.
    I can connect to the poem "The Runners" because my parents coach track so I like every thing about track. The poem "The Runners" is a funny poem because the coach is a lion. The players say they have a great practice field but they don't because they run on dirt, jump over ditches with spears popping out and have a lion coming behind them.
    I do not like the poem "Long Scarf" because the boy slipped and tripped and his head got cut off. That just grosses me out. Then he put it back on. To keep his head on he wrapped the scarf around his neck. Then he took it off and his head came off with the scarf. EWWWW.
    I like the poem "Yuck". I liked this poem because the yuck is like tar. Ont time I got tar on the bottom of my shoe it took FOREVER to get off. I tried to get it off with a stick but the stick got stuck on the bottom of my shoe.so I had to throw them away. This poem is so funny.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Review by Teddy

    Review
    Falling Up by Shel Silverstein

    Falling Up is a great poetry book by Shel Silverstein that has great poems in it. Shel's gifted way of writing and drawing is amazing. Some of Shel's poems are stories and some are about life lessons. Some are hidden cleverly and some pop out at you.

    In the poem, "Stone Airplane," he makes a airplane out of stone and he says, "I always did like staying home." That is ironic because if you make a plane out of stone you can't go anywhere. The one poem is, "They Say I Have .." "It says they say I have my mom's hair, my father's nose, and my grandpa's eyes. Could my behind be the only things that mine?" And in the picture they are sitting down. It made me think, do they all have butts?! Another poem is, "Long-Leg Lou And Short-Leg Sue." Long-Leg Lou asks Short-Leg Sue to walk faster. She can't so she leaves. Their is a story in that poem. Opposites don't attract.

    My favorite poem is "Snowball." It is a funny poem. A kid brings a snowball home as a pet. He lets it sleep with him and he says, "It ran away but first I wet the bed." The snowball melted but he thinks it ran away and he wet the bed.

    In the poem "Nope" he looks at a cantaloupe through a telescope and sees stuff that's gross and never eats cantaloupe again. At my dad's house I saw a bunch of ants on a tomato so I don't eat tomatoes ever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    Falling Up

    When I read the book Falling Up by Shel Silverstein I thought that it was a humorous book especially for children. Shel uses his creative imagination to express fiction and fantasy-like poems that kids enjoy. Even though I am not a big fan of poetry I treasured this book and want to eventually go to the book store and buy a couple more of his books. Now I am on the lookout for his books in the book orders, at the library, and at book fairs. I like how Shel wrote poems about his children but didn't directly state their names. Sheldon used his children as fictional characters as if you don't even know he's talking about them. The other thing I like is that Sheldon doesn't tell about his kid's life in the poems like most authors do.
    My favorite poem that Shel Silverstein wrote in Falling Up is "In the Land of.." I like this poem because I think that it is humorous. The poem states all different kinds of lands that you could live in like Listentoemholler, Wailinanweepin', Ragsanpatches, or Muglywugly. I would like to live in Wailinanweepin' because you work for free and get paid for sleeping. I love to sleep so that's why I would want to live in Wailinanweepin'. When I read this poem to my friends they all said that they would like to live in the same place that I would. One reason is because they all like to sleep like me and another reason is because they wanted to still be able to hang out with me.

    Another poem that I thought was a well written poem by Shel Silverstein is Tell Me. I like this poem because when you read it to your friends it says for them to tell you that your clever, kind, talented, cute, sensitive, and wise but when you get down to the bottom I says tell me I'm perfect- but tell me the truth. So your friends are forced to say all these things about you and then at the end they get to say the truth. I've done it to all of my friends and now it's a big joke when we see each other either inside or outside of school.
    A poem I can make a connection to the poem "My Sneaky Cousin" because in the poem it says that their cousin climbed in the washer and went for a spin and nobody could find him. I can make a connection to that because one time when we were playing hide-and-go-seek on vacation my cousin, Kyle, hid in the washer machine. Both my cousin, Allison, and I were rummaging all over the house looking for him. We couldn't find him until my little brother decided to let loose and tell us that he was in the washer. Then that was the end of our hide-and-seek game because there were no more spots to hide without my little brother ratting us out.
    I have to say that when I read Falling Up by Shel Silverstein I was very thrilled by all the talent that Shel had when it came to writing poems. I did not know that before I read the book. I was very impresssed with the book overall.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2000

    One of the best books ever!

    I think a few of the best poems are: Warm Hearted, Bad Cold, Danny O'dare, and Gardener. I chose these poems because they were very funny. I think all of the poems are funny but those were the best. I would recommend the book to all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2015

    Great book

    My kids loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Falling Up is a poetry book by Shel Silverstein. Shel Silverstei

    Falling Up is a poetry book by Shel Silverstein. Shel Silverstein is the author
    and illustrator of this book. The book is very interesting to me because on each
    page there are cute little drawings that relate to the poem. The pictures on each
    page are very interesting and show Shel’s creativity. The poems may not have
    that much rhythm but the pictures really grab your attention and make the book
    fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Shel Silverstein is an amazing poet. I think his book, Falling U

    Shel Silverstein is an amazing poet. I think his book, Falling Up, is really fun and not too serious. I think this because all the poems have funny pictures that are easy for kids to understand. Most of the pictures are simple and I love that they are on every page because when you turn the page it is a new surprise every time! Everything about his poems makes you want to read more!
    Another poem in the book is called “ We’re out of paint so...” This poem is about someone running out of paint and using food instead. The food they use are red cherries, purple grapes, blue blueberries, black licorice, brown gravy, and yellow egg yolk. They also say they will sign their names in applesauce. Also near the end of the book they say they will call it the luncheon and hang it up for people “To stop ... and see ... and munch on.”




    A third poem is “Music Lesson.” This poem is about someone that wanted to take music lessons and decided to play the piano. When he is going to his music teacher he regrets picking piano. He wishes he would have picked flute because he brings his own piano up seven flights of stairs. The music teacher probably has a piano.




    My favorite poem in the book is “Allison Beals and her 25 Eels.” In this poem Allison Beals has 25 eels that are all used for different things. For example one eel is used for a hula hoop and two are used for hoop earrings. This poem is my favorite because it is really silly and fun and the picture to go with it is perfect for the poem. The picture shows all the eels doing what Allison Beals have them do.




    Shel Silverstein did an amazing job with this book. The pictures went perfectly with the poems and it really helped me understand the book. For as simple as some of the drawings are they explain a lot. I would definitely read more of his book and it made me more into poetry. Falling Up is a well written and illustrated poem book that is perfect for kids, teens, and adults!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A book of short poems by Shel Silverstein. A classic for any chi

    A book of short poems by Shel Silverstein. A classic for any child (or adult).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book was great to read. It had a lot of poems which made me laugh! The poems would keep you hooked on the book. The pictures were a great laugh as well. You've got to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    This book is awesome!!

    I loved reading Falling up. The poems are funny and a little weird. My favorite was Show Fish a poem about a boy who wanted to take a flounder to school for show and tell, but forgot and took it two weeks late for show and smell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    Read this book!!!!!!

    I would suggest to read this book because it's filled with clever and unique poems, it's great for sense of humor, and it includes lots of creativity and imagination. My favorite poem was "In The Land Of...". Shel Silverstein is a fantastic poem writer. I'd like to read this book again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    THIS IS A GREAT WRITER, I HAVE ALL HIS BOOKS

    I LOVE THIS WRITER AND HIS BOOKS, HE DOES A GREAT JOB ENTERTAINING THE READER. I CAN'T WAIT TO READ THESE POEMS TO MY GRANDCHILDREN

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    My Granddaughter really likes Shel Silverstein books just like her Daddy does.

    Fun reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Falling Up. about the book.

    If I ever met Shel Silverstein I think he would be making up jokes and down to earth. This book, Fallin Up, is a fiction book but, to me I think he trys to make it sound so real, so non-fiction. Pretty much the whole book is fiction but, if you want it to be I guess it could be non-fiction if you put it that way.
    Falling Up just happens to be my first poetry book I ever read. Except for those Dr. Suess books. I've read a lot of those. Back to the subject. Falling Up has a good vibe to it. They could have a okay funny starting but then end really funny and happy. That's what I like most about the book. I made a text to self connection with this one poem in the book. It is called The Mummy.
    One day I was at my friends house and we were acting weird like usual. And we decided that we would make a video for just us. So we made an agreement to make a video on Egypt. And then we had to choose someone as our mummy. It turns out, it was me. They wrapped me in toilet paper and did what they did. In the video they called me a dummy. Instead of a mummy.
    Other than that my favorite poem in the book would have to be Cookwitch Sandwitch. It would be my favorite because this boy didn't choose his words right and he said make me a sandwich and the cook witch made the boy himself a sandwich.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    this book rocks

    Review of Falling Up The book falling up has many different poems. All of the poems are interesting. My favorite poem was ¿Noise Day.¿ Some of the other poems that were in the book were ¿Tattooin¿ Ruth¿, ¿Needles and Pins¿, ¿Ice Cream Stop¿, and ¿Screamin¿ Mille.¿ The author o f this book is Shel Silverstein. Shel was an amazing author. Because Shel s such an amazing author, out of all of the books that I have read that were his, I can not even cho0se a favorite book. Shel Silverstein is my favorite poet and he is just really good at what he does. My favorite poem was ¿Noise Day.¿ This poem is about kids having a day to them to make as much noise as they want. The poem also tells you that it would be very annoying in everyday were a noise day. My text-to-world/book connection is in the poem ¿Tattooin¿ Ruth.¿ In Guinness Book of World Records there was a guy who tattooed his whole body in leopard print tattoos. The guy in the poem had tattoos all over his body with a suit tattoo so that he wouldn¿t have to wear a suit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    Best Book Ever

    This is one if my fave. books ever. I love his books.I could read these peoms over and over again. This is my fave. from him but his other books were good to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2006

    Falling Up

    Poetry, This book has over 125 poems. All of them are fun appealing and humorous. The majority poems have drawings and rhyme. The poems are ideal for kids of all ages. My personal favorite poem is called 'Danny O¿Daire '. I like it for two reasons. The first is its funny a story. Next is it has great Illustrations. This is a great book filled with poems and stories for children. I recommend this book to all people interested in poems and funny things. Shel Silverstein was born and raised in Chicago, Illinois. He was a writer of books and songs. He died May 10, 1999 in Key West, Florida. Bibliography Silverstein, Shel. Falling Up. New York: Harper Collins Publishers, 1996.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    Loved It!

    All the poems in Falling Up were amusing and comical. I enjoyed reading the whole book and Shel Silverstein has become my favorite poet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2005

    Imagination

    Imagination is the key to life and childhood, if you don't grow up with imagination then you'll end up regretting life. This book gives you imagination. Amazingly, it never gets old. Young or old you can really appreciate what the little masterpieces that Shel Silverstein creates. I fell in love with these poems and I guarentee that you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3