Customer Reviews for

Falling Upward: A Spirituality for the Two Halves of Life

Average Rating 4
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Beautifully and thougthfully written!

A mature and refective study on the nature of one's true and authentic spiritual journey. The necessary steps one must take in order to be fully-realized in this life.

posted by 1158063 on May 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great concept - and accurate, too, I believe. But the writing i

Great concept - and accurate, too, I believe. But the writing is marginal. Too often, Rohr uses one hundred words when thirty would do. And when you're looking for sharper clarity on particular ideas, he doesn't offer it. The book's obtuseness made sense to me when ...
Great concept - and accurate, too, I believe. But the writing is marginal. Too often, Rohr uses one hundred words when thirty would do. And when you're looking for sharper clarity on particular ideas, he doesn't offer it. The book's obtuseness made sense to me when Rohr revealed in one of the final chapters that he wrote the book during a Lenten hermitage. That tells me he was highly sensitive to certain ideas, but he forgot to bring his thought process down to earth. Falling Upward is a good first draft of what could've been a really fine study.

posted by DavidH10 on December 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    Beautifully and thougthfully written!

    A mature and refective study on the nature of one's true and authentic spiritual journey. The necessary steps one must take in order to be fully-realized in this life.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    highly recommended for R. Rohr's followers

    The book gives a superb insight into the progression followed by thinkers of how God interfaces with humans at various times of their lives. The book highlights the second half of life, usually 50-60 or older, and the changes that occur during that time when more introspection is usually accomplished.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Wonderful book, to be read again and again. Written by a man who

    Wonderful book, to be read again and again. Written by a man who knows from whence he comes. (Similar to reading Parker Palmer.) Almost every page in my book is high-lighted for a variety of reasons: great quotes from people who speak with wisdom, an affirmation of where we are in our own lives, great imagery, affirmation, and encouragement. It doesn't have to be either/or; it can be both/and. I too see life as positive or negative energy; I choose to add positive energy to the world, and to those around me. One of my take-away images is that of a mirror: "Let the Light mirror you; we can reflect on our lives to get a sense of who we are; we need true friends to be honest mirrors for us; hopefully our work on this earth will be a good refection on us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    This should be required reading for anyone 50 years or older.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    Highly Recommended for those nearing the second half of life

    I find Rohh's thesis thought provoking as we pass through our various stages of life and wonder what it is all about and what happens beyond. Is there a God? Is there a heaven and hell? Is heaven on earth what God seeks for us humans? If so, is there an after-life experience? Rohr helped me wrestle with these questions.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Excellent book. I will read it more than once. This book gives you lots to think about and is very uplifting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Spiritually enlightening and thought provoking

    I have recommended this book to more people than I have any other book. It is not a fast read. It is a serious soul-searching study.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Thoughtful & insightful understanding of the seasons and journey of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    not to be missed

    A very thoughtful book about the 2 halves of life, and what it means to be with God here on earth. A fantastic read, filled with more thought provoking ideas than most any other book I have read. A must read if you are a Christian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    I think whether you felt it was an exceptional book or completel

    I think whether you felt it was an exceptional book or completely the opposite depends upon, as Rohr writes about, whether or not you have had the experience of Falling Upward.
    Even if you have only "fallen" and are awaiting the "upward" part you will find value in what Rohr has to say.
    Essentially what he is writing about is the Paschal Mystery ha is for all of us to experience in the here and now and not just at the end of our lives.
    What Rohr is teaching his readers is what truly is the Good News of Jesus Christ that too often is never understood  and thus missed.
    It's a short read, so if your on the fence of whether or not to read it, I say give it a shot.  If it doesn't speak to you you will not have lost much time in your life; however, if you are at a place in your life where this will "hit you between the eyes" you will experience "new life within" and be forever grateful you took the time to read it.If you don't want to risk spending the money, then get it at the library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    I love it.  I am buying another copy for a friend.

    I love it.  I am buying another copy for a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Highly recommended one incredibly insightful

    A profound book of wisdom. One of the best ever written. Very solidly based on psychological and religious groundings

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2