Customer Reviews for

Falling for Her Soldier: A Perfect Kisses Novel

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Such an amazing story that is touching, funny, and sweet! It is

Such an amazing story that is touching, funny, and sweet! It is a great read that will leave you wanting more. Well paced, great characters, and the HEA you will be hoping for from the first page. Highly recommended!

posted by Bette313 on January 13, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Falling for Her Soldier was a cute road overall. Ellie and Charl

Falling for Her Soldier was a cute road overall. Ellie and Charlie were definitely very adorable together. I liked reading about their talks and their dance practices. A lot of times with books this this I find myself asking “Why don’t you just tell the truth??”, and th...
Falling for Her Soldier was a cute road overall. Ellie and Charlie were definitely very adorable together. I liked reading about their talks and their dance practices. A lot of times with books this this I find myself asking “Why don’t you just tell the truth??”, and that was definitely the case here. However I did think there was enough outside interference from Ellie’s brother that I could buy the scenario to an extent.

You know how sometimes there’s one aspect of a book that probably shouldn’t be your main focus, but it bugs you so much you almost can’t focus on anything else? Yeah. I had that happen here. Ellie is supposedly planning this benefit for the centre where soldiers and veterans gather, and yet besides her dance with Hunter you don't see her working on anything. What’s up with that? Did she delegate? Where did these magical volunteers come from, and how was stuff donated? As someone who's planned events and has worked for a non-profit hosting a big fundraising event it was annoying to have everything glossed over. Yes there was mentions of press for the event, but what about all the work it took to get the event planned? All it would have taken was a few mentions here and there. You don’t need scenes of characters going door to door to business or anything, but on the opposite end of the spectrum to have this important aspect completely ignored was quite strange. Okay, end rant.

Beyond this detail which bugged me and that probably most people wouldn’t even pick up on (!), this was a decent enough read overall. It had its fun aspects, it held my attention, and it was a quick and easy read.

posted by BookLabyrinth on January 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book! A hot military man and a redhead ballerina w

    I loved this book! A hot military man and a redhead ballerina who wouldn't love that. I have loved this whole series but this one is my favorite! you wont be disappointed with this series. can be read without reading the others but why would you!*

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book. I features Charlie "Big Game Hu

    I really enjoyed this book. I features Charlie "Big Game Hunter" Johansson and Ellie Bell. She is a ballerina, who suffered a life altering injury, and currently runs a dance studio started by her mother. He is her recovering brothers best friend, who earned his nick name by being a player. They connect sight unseen through e-mail, when Ellie's brother is injured. The e-mails continue for 4 months, but they lose touch when charlie starts to develop feelings for Ellie.

    The novel combines a great soldier romance with a dancing with the stars style performence. The 2 main characters had great chemistry and dialouge, and funny supporting characters. It held my attention and made me want to read more by this author. I highly reccomend this book for anyone... I was given a ARC for an honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    I had a smile on my face the entire book. I instantly loved Elli

    I had a smile on my face the entire book. I instantly loved Ellie and Charlie (liked both viewpoints) and could totally hear them in my head, sarcasm and all. This a great sweet and sexy read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    I loved this book from the first page. The chemistry between E

    I loved this book from the first page. The chemistry between Ellie and Hunter (Charlie) was sizzling. Ellie was on a ban of men for a year, nearing the end of the year when she meets Hunter at the SW. Hunter is a womanizer and Ellie's brother's best friend from the army. Ellie knows Hunter as Charlie from emails, where they connected, when her brother was injured. Can she believe that Hunter is that same person that she knew as Charlie. Loved the fun and the banter from these two.
    Highly recommend this short sweet romance. I received this ARC from the publisher for a honest review. (less)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Such an amazing story that is touching, funny, and sweet! It is

    Such an amazing story that is touching, funny, and sweet! It is a great read that will leave you wanting more. Well paced, great characters, and the HEA you will be hoping for from the first page. Highly recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another fun romance from Ophelia London! The plot reminded me of

    Another fun romance from Ophelia London! The plot reminded me of You've Got Mail (one of my favorite chick flicks). I immediately liked Ellie. It took me longer to like Hunter, but by the end of the book he'd won me over. This fun read is full of flirting and kissing and (rated PG) sizzle!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    This was my first adult novel by Ophelia London and I am so gl



    This was my first adult novel by Ophelia London and I am so glad I picked this one up for review! I loved Ophelia's Definitely, Maybe in Love, so I was excited to read one of her adult contemporaries next!


    Falling For Her Soldier definitely didn't disappoint. When I first started reading I felt a little deja vu. Ellie has put herself on a year long dating ban because she always tends to fall for the wrong guys. Her last relationship ended badly and so she set a ban to basically detox herself of all jerk guys. She's been with cheaters and liars and she won't let herself fall into her pattern again. Upon being introduced to Hunter (who is really Charlie Johansson, but we'll get to that) by her brother, she realizes that she's heard stories of the notorious 'Big Game Hunter' and he is exactly the kind of man she needs to steer clear of. Hunter is known for his playboy ways, but after a frightening encounter in Afghanistan, realizes he needs to make a change in his life. I've read a lot of storylines with the hurt female and the playboy turned good guy and I was afraid that this story would follow the grain and not really be anything new. Not the case here! I was already fan of London's writing style and even though this particular trope has been done time and time again, she still manages to take it and really make it her own and I loved the direction she took Ellie and Hunter's story.


    Ellie was such a sweet character and I really liked her. Even though she has placed herself on a dating ban, she can't seem to get the soldier who emailed her after her brother's accident out of her head. What started as just an email to let her know what was going on turned into something much more. They essentially became pen pals and she really cherished those emails he sent. However, after not hearing anything in 2 months, she is a bit devastated as she really looked forward to seeing them. Charlie Johansson holds a special place in her heart even though she has not corresponded with him lately.


    Oh Charlie. Having earned his nickname Big Game Hunter by his playboy past, he is looking for something more in his life. After saving his best friend Sam in Afghanistan and surviving an attack like he did, he knows something has to change in his life. When Sam mentions meeting his sister Ellie at the Warrior Center, Charlie is a bit crazed. He thought about Ellie a lot and hated not continuing his emails to her. When they first meet, Sam introduces him as Hunter and Charlie just kind of goes with it, not realizing the repercussions that it may have. Ellie knows the stories about Hunter from her brother and yet she's having trouble associating this kind, sexy man with the one her brother described.


    I absolutely loved the slow burn of Charlie and Ellie's relationship. She is determined to stick to her ban and she won't let herself fall victim to another playboy. However, Hunter has given her no reason to believe that is the man he is. Instead, he shows her a kind, generous, always willing to help man and she finds herself torn between Hunter and Charlie. She feels guilty over her feelings for Hunter when she knows she doesn't want to give up on Charlie. Whew, yeah that was some pickle he got himself into!


    Sam is not supportive of Hunter starting a relationship with his sister and warns him away. Hunter knows he should respect his best friend's wishes, but he can't get Ellie out of his head. Hunter's loyalty to his best friend is really great and all, but the heart wants what the heart wants and his wants Ellie's.


    Hunter has already decided to volunteer at the Warrior Center with Ellie and after finding out the Center is having financial difficulties, the two take it upon themselves to figure out a way to raise money to keep it open. Throwing a ball to help raise money is a great idea and I love how Hunter really stood up and took action, even going out of his comfort zone to do so. Watching him learn the tango is DELICIOUS and I absolutely cracked up over all the Michael Bublé references. However, Hunter knows he can't continue keeping the truth of who he really is from her and is afraid of how she will take the news that he is really Charlie.


    Fans of London's series will be happy to see Jack and Tess from Playing at Love and Rick and Mac from Speaking of Love make an appearance in this book as well. I am excited to go back and read the first two in the series now!


    Falling For Her Soldier was a beautiful story about love and forgiveness and is definitely worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Not trashy...

    Not trashy and great romance. Fun for a light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

      

      

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1