Customer Reviews for

Falling for the Backup (Novella): The Assassins Series

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

good novella

nice addition to the series. cute characters. waiting for the next in series :-) about 90 pages on my nook.

posted by 3071468 on June 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Predictable

This was so predictable that it was actually really boring.

posted by 2579838 on December 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 31 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Another story from Toni that leaves you wanting more.

    Another story from Toni that leaves you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    4-4.5 stars Aynslee Shaw moved to Nashville to start a

    <b>4-4.5 stars</b>


    Aynslee Shaw moved to Nashville to start a new life/job after a break up. While flying back home to Nashville after being a bridesmaid in a wedding from hell, she meets Jordan Ryan and his sexy smile and laugh completely charm her.

    Jordan Ryan was the Assassins starting goalie, until he got hurt. To make matters worse, the goalie that they brought up to cover for him while he was injured turned out to be a really great goalie. So now that he has recovered from his injury he has to play backup to the new rockstar goalie. In addition to losing his starters spot, he has also lost a lot of his self esteem since his girlfriend left him while he was injured. Aynslee and Jordan feel an instant connection, but Jordan's self esteem issues and the fact that he might have to leave Nashville because he doesn't want to be a backup anymore stop him from doing anything about their attraction.

    Aynslee thinks that she may have let the one get away and Jordan can't stop thinking about the woman he met on the plane. When they happen to meet up again they both have to decide if some things are more important than a job.


    Falling for the Backup is a novella in the Assassin Series by Toni Aleo. I can't say enough about how much I love Ms Toni's writing. She brings passion, humor and sassiness to her writing in basically perfect amounts. This book didn't have as much conflict as her other books, but being as it is shorter it works out just fine. I don't always like novellas because they can be rushed, but this one didn't seem to be rushed. They had lust at first sight and of course they have their HEA, but it wasn't like some books where they meet and two days later they are in love. They had ups and downs in their relationships just like everyone else. All in all it was a perfect companion to the rest of the Assassin series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Love this series - the Assassins are sexy, fun and real -- don't

    Love this series - the Assassins are sexy, fun and real -- don't miss this book or the series, this is a keeper!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Refreshingly sexy and funny! When I think of sports romance, on

    Refreshingly sexy and funny!

    When I think of sports romance, only two authors come to mind and one of them is Toni Aleo. The timing was never right to sit down with one of her books, until now. If you have never read anything by this author, Falling for the Backup is the perfect introduction to her writing.

    Jordan Ryan was such a sweet and sexy character. His injury took more than just his starting position as a goalie for the Assassins, it also cost him his girlfriend and robbed him of his confidence around the opposite sex. Seeing him struggle to be coherent around Aynslee just made him so endearing. The lack of over-confidence, cockiness and player status that is common around athletes was like a breath of fresh air. What I also loved about him was his concern about hurting Aynslee unnecessarily hence why he kept running away.

    Aynslee Shaw. I had a girl crush on her from the moment she opened her mouth. She was so open, sassy, funny, and the best thing of all – she was a woman who went after what she wanted. I absolutely adore strong heroines like her. No ridiculous and unnecessary insecurities or hem hawing, just genuine kindness and honesty. Her confidence was sexy and the lack of “I’m out of his league” mantras was so refreshing.

    This story was so engaging from the first page. The author managed to cement Jordan’s essence within the first few pages – his career, his doubts, his fears and his hopes and dreams. Then in walked Anyslee and blew the lid off his self-imposed misery. I absolutely felt their instant chemistry, and it was a wonderful thing to follow. I also applaud the switcheroo of the heroine chasing the hero instead of the other way around. I think it’s easy to forget that sometimes men want to be know they’re wanted and needed just as much as any woman. The conflict or obstacle was realistic and heart-wrenching. I think many people will be able to relate to it. I know I could because I made that move. The romance ran the gamut of emotions and was handled beautifully. The humor in this story, especially from Aynslee was the icing on the cake. I will definitely be buying up the rest of this series.

    There were so many fabulous moments that underscored why Jordan and Aynslee were the perfect match, and why they were playing for keeps.

    Favorite Moment:

    “Please tell me that wasn’t my mother.”

    “It was.”

    “Why are you with my parents when I am talking about crotchless panties?”


    Disclaimer: I won an ARC from the publisher and purchased a final copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 31 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2