Customer Reviews for

Falling for the Backup (Novella): An Assassins Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

good novella

nice addition to the series. cute characters. waiting for the next in series :-) about 90 pages on my nook.

posted by 3071468 on June 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Predictable

This was so predictable that it was actually really boring.

posted by 2579838 on December 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Good story-no ending

    Even though this book was short, I was disappointed with the ending. "And they lived happily ever after" Seriously, you couldn't do better ?. Story had so much more potential. I still love Toni Aleo's writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Must read

    I fell in love with this series and all its characters I absolutely cannot wait for the next 2 books. This whole series is absolutely amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    hockey anyone?

    sweet and tough

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Too short

    The story starts out very good. Pulls you in to Jordan and Aynslee's story quickly. Well written until the end. The story is only 88 pages long. The reason for only 3 stars is the ending: "And they lived happily ever after". Toni Aleo could have added 5 - 10 more pages given the story a better ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Love this series!

    I love this series and i was wondering if anybody is interested in lending it to me and maybe i have some books in my library that you would like to read. I've never had a lend friend before so i'll check back here to see if anybody is interested and i guess that person will tell me how to proceed from there. Thanks and enjoy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    Terrific as is all the Nashville Assassin series is! Ms. Aleo's

    Terrific as is all the Nashville Assassin series is! Ms. Aleo's description of hockey is spot on and her characters and their relationships are so engaging that I never fail to start her books and then end up reading far, far into the night because I can never set it back down! I truly enjoy the couple's of hockey and can't wait to read the next book!
    Comment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was part of a blog tour I received a copy for my hones

    This book was part of a blog tour I received a copy for my honest review
    4 1/2 stars

    Aynslee is having a bad day, when she gets on the plane to go home and notices the hottie next to her, her day changes. Jordan’s life is in disarray, he hurt his knee and has been the backup on his team ever since. When the gorgeous Aynslee sits next to him he wants to talk to her but his confidence is shaky and he doesn't want to start something when he could be moving. A couple chance meetings later and the two of them start a whirlwind romance that could leave both of them heartbroken if Jordan has to leave. I loved this book, Jordan was a hot hockey player and he worked really hard to find a way to stay with Aynslee. Aynslee was a confident woman and she went for what she wanted. Their relationship was sweet and easy, I really like how the two of them could have silly conversations. The sex scenes in this book were fan your face hot. There were unexpected moments of humor that had me laughing so hard tears were coming out my eyes. Falling For the Backup was a really good book and I am completely addicted to this author and the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If you are a fan of sexy sports romances then Toni Aleo's Assass

    If you are a fan of sexy sports romances then Toni Aleo's Assassins series is a must read for you. The series just gets better and better with each new release!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Fabulous series!  

    Fabulous series!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Great Read!

    This can be read as a stand alone but would be better if you read this series in order. The Assassins series by Toni Aleo is wonderful! This short novella is the 5th book in the series so go back and start at the beginning with Taking Shots and ENJOY!!! Hot hockey players galore!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    while I thoroughly enjoyed this novella I couldn't help but wish

    while I thoroughly enjoyed this novella I couldn't help but wish for more. This novella begins with our protagonist meeting on an airplane were the dialogue flowed easily. A brilliant way to get to know the characters quickly and begin to fall in love with them. I just wish the novella would have been longer and included a greater conflict that was not so easily resolve, wish it would have given Aynslee's account of moving to another city shorty after moving to Nashville. Overall brilliant novella that had me wishing there was a way for Jordan to stay with Nashville and play for the Assassins. If only Tate and Jordan could both be starters for the Assassins, but sadly that was not an option. I hope to hear more about this couple within Mrs. Aleo's other novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    I loved the entire series and I wish Toni Aleo would write faste

    I loved the entire series and I wish Toni Aleo would write faster! I need another book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked this book. The heroine is a confident teacher with red


    I liked this book. The heroine is a confident teacher with red hair and freckles. The hero, a professional hockey goalie, is regaining his
     self confidence after an injury. He is in the middle of a change the terms of the city in which he plays and this creates a genuine conflict.
     The chemistry between them is hot. 

    The things that make this story not so great is that there are a great deal of serendipity in the story that tests the limits of beliefs in a
     contemporary romance. The running into each other in the city the size of Nashville I can believe. There is just some running into each other families that strain credibility. Other things could have been done with the plot in such a small space instead that would have enhanced the romance. I would have liked for him to have planned to go to her family's bar. 

    I believe that the conflict and angst are real and also could have not been resolved for a bit because of the hero's reluctance to ask and
     the heroine's reluctance to risk but the five minute clean up was just less than satisfying. 

    I like this couple and this hockey world. I think with their own full sized romance I would have liked the book even more but it was a good fast read on a Friday night. 

    I was given this book for my honest review. So, there you have it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Even though this is a novel, 88 nook book pages, it was still wo

    Even though this is a novel, 88 nook book pages, it was still worth the $.99 to find out what happen to the Assassins' first goalie, Ryan. It was a simple read with some funny bits and steamy loving. Can't wait for next book to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Falling for the Backup (Assassins, #3.5) by Toni Aleo  Two year

    Falling for the Backup (Assassins, #3.5) by Toni Aleo 

    Two years ago, star NHL Nashville Assassins goalie, Jordan Ryan, suffered a knee.  Although he is now fully recovered he lost his spot as starting goalie.  Unhappy with his situation he begins to look for another team to play on.  He flies out to interview with Buffalo and New York.  Unfortunately he doesn’t feel like the interviews went well.

    Aynslee Shaw has had the worst day possible.  The day started out with her standing up in her niece’s wedding in an awful pink bridesmaid dress.  While at the wedding her landlord called that the pipes burst in her basement.  She needs to fly back home to discover her luggage is stolen so she has to fly home in the hideous dress. 
     
    Things start to look better for Jordan and Aynslee when they are seated next to each other on the plane.  

    I love the Assassins series and was happy that Toni Aleo was able to write this story and not make you hate the organization. Tate Oder, the goalie in book three, Empty Net, was the goalie to replace Jordan.  If you didn’t know and love Tate’s character it would be so easy to hate him for taking Jordan’s spot on the team. 
      
    I read this book between game one and two of the 2013 Stanley Cup Playoffs.  I’m a Chicago Blackhawk’s fan and this story seemed to come at the right time.  Chicago has two awesome goalies.  Some would argue that our backup goalie is better than our starting goalie.  I think it would be really hard to be a goalie that is good enough to start and have to sit on the side lines and watch.  Aleo does a good job at portraying the emotions a player would go through.

    One more thing, I’ve never seen bacon on a stick at a hockey game – yum.  I think I need to go to a game in Nashville.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    Another wonderful read from Toni Aleo. With each book I am falli

    Another wonderful read from Toni Aleo. With each book I am falling more and more in love with her characters, writing style and hockey. From the 1st meeting to the last word, I was totally immersed in these characters. Who wouldn't love a whirlwind romance like theirs! They only downside to this book was it's length and that I would have loved another 200 pages. You quickly fall for these characters and I would love to know how their story plays out, but then again I'd love that for all her books. I could read about them forever. You can't miss with Toni Aleo's books.

    Already pre-ordered Blue Lines and can't wait for release day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Another story from Toni that leaves you wanting more.

    Another story from Toni that leaves you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    4-4.5 stars Aynslee Shaw moved to Nashville to start a

    <b>4-4.5 stars</b>


    Aynslee Shaw moved to Nashville to start a new life/job after a break up. While flying back home to Nashville after being a bridesmaid in a wedding from hell, she meets Jordan Ryan and his sexy smile and laugh completely charm her.

    Jordan Ryan was the Assassins starting goalie, until he got hurt. To make matters worse, the goalie that they brought up to cover for him while he was injured turned out to be a really great goalie. So now that he has recovered from his injury he has to play backup to the new rockstar goalie. In addition to losing his starters spot, he has also lost a lot of his self esteem since his girlfriend left him while he was injured. Aynslee and Jordan feel an instant connection, but Jordan's self esteem issues and the fact that he might have to leave Nashville because he doesn't want to be a backup anymore stop him from doing anything about their attraction.

    Aynslee thinks that she may have let the one get away and Jordan can't stop thinking about the woman he met on the plane. When they happen to meet up again they both have to decide if some things are more important than a job.


    Falling for the Backup is a novella in the Assassin Series by Toni Aleo. I can't say enough about how much I love Ms Toni's writing. She brings passion, humor and sassiness to her writing in basically perfect amounts. This book didn't have as much conflict as her other books, but being as it is shorter it works out just fine. I don't always like novellas because they can be rushed, but this one didn't seem to be rushed. They had lust at first sight and of course they have their HEA, but it wasn't like some books where they meet and two days later they are in love. They had ups and downs in their relationships just like everyone else. All in all it was a perfect companion to the rest of the Assassin series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first time I've ever read Toni Aleo, but it won't be

    This is the first time I've ever read Toni Aleo, but it won't be the last. I found Falling For the Backup to be a well written story, that is full of laughter and loving moments. You can't help falling in love with the main characters and cheering them on as they find love. I will also never think of crotchless panties without finding myself laughing. To find out why you must read the book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Love this series - the Assassins are sexy, fun and real -- don't

    Love this series - the Assassins are sexy, fun and real -- don't miss this book or the series, this is a keeper!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3