Customer Reviews for

Falling to Pieces (Shipshewana Amish Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Fun combination

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, a fun combination of murder mystery and Amish fiction. I won't go into the synopsis, since you can find several of those already in the reviews. I'll just tell you that the author did a great job setting up the mystery, and I real...
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, a fun combination of murder mystery and Amish fiction. I won't go into the synopsis, since you can find several of those already in the reviews. I'll just tell you that the author did a great job setting up the mystery, and I really liked the way the main Amish character and the main "Englisher" became close friends over the course of the book. You don't have to be a fan of Amish fiction to enjoy the story, but if you are, I definitely think you'll enjoy the interesting twist on the genre found in this book.

posted by GraceDancer on October 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

!

Might have been good, but too many plot spoilers ruined it with their uber long synopsis, and bragging over getting the book for free for their'unbiased' review. That tells me the review is tainted. Please ppl. Be considerate of others. We would like to read a book and ...
Might have been good, but too many plot spoilers ruined it with their uber long synopsis, and bragging over getting the book for free for their'unbiased' review. That tells me the review is tainted. Please ppl. Be considerate of others. We would like to read a book and be surprised by what happens, not have you tell every detail. I wish bn would start fining plot spoilers. Maybe then you would think twice before revealing the plotline.

posted by 8888649 on March 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Fun combination

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, a fun combination of murder mystery and Amish fiction. I won't go into the synopsis, since you can find several of those already in the reviews. I'll just tell you that the author did a great job setting up the mystery, and I really liked the way the main Amish character and the main "Englisher" became close friends over the course of the book. You don't have to be a fan of Amish fiction to enjoy the story, but if you are, I definitely think you'll enjoy the interesting twist on the genre found in this book.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worlds Collide in this wonderful story

    Deborah and Callie are from two different worlds. One is an "Englisher" from Texas, the other an Amish woman. Together they work to bring a quilt shop back to life, something that will touch each woman involved differently. Next, add to the business arrangement adding eBay and see what the Bishop says. Each woman will teach something to the other, each will enrich the other's life without knowing it. Callie is quick tempered and restless, while Deborah is calmer and settled.

    When the editor of the town paper writes a story he hasn't checked out, sparks fly. But, when he turns up dead and Callie is there, will she see the value of having a cool head? Is she guilty or will they discover the real culprit? How will the others in town, both Amish and English, react to the death? The story that unfolds between the pages of this book is truly remarkable and will keep readers thinking for a long time.

    This was a truly enjoyable book. I love reading books about the Amish way of life, and this combined my world with theirs. The characters were real to me and the story well-written. I look forward to reading more by this author. This book will make a great gift for your reader friends, and book clubs will enjoy discussing the women and their differences, as well as the murder mystery.
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Anonymous

    I enjoyed reading this book. Can't wait to start the next book in the series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Mystery

    Publisher: Zondervan (September 27, 2011)
    Pages: 366
    Source: Netgalley
    Genre: Amish Mystery/Suspense

    From Goodreads:
    In this first book of a three-book series, author Vannetta Chapman brings a fresh twist to the popular Amish fiction genre. She blends the familiar components consumers love in Amish books---faith, community, simplicity, family---with an innovative who-done-it plot that keeps readers guessing right up to the last stitch in the quilt. When two women---one Amish, one English---each with different motives, join forces to organize a successful on-line quilt auction, neither expects nor wants a friendship. As different as night and day, Deborah and Callie are uneasy partners who simply want to make the best of a temporary situation. But a murder, a surprising prime suspect, a stubborn detective, and the town's reaction throw the two women together, and they form an unlikely alliance to solve a mystery and catch a killer. Set in the well-known Amish community of Shipshewana, Falling to Pieces will attract both devoted fans of the rapidly-growing Amish fiction genre, as well as those who are captivated by the Amish way of life.

    My Thoughts:
    Combine my love of all things Amish, quilting and fabric, add in a great mystery, and that is what you have in this book. Vannetta Chapman has written a story that makes the reader feel like they are in Shipshewana, Indiana. She has crafted very believable characters and placed them in an unlikely scenario.

    Deborah Yoder is a local Amish woman who sold her quilts through the local quilt shop. When Daisy, the quilt shop owner dies her niece, Callie Harper inherits the quilt shop and Daisy's Labrador, Max. She comes to Shipshewana with the intention of selling the shop and moving on. It is as if she is always trying to run away from her pain. The year before, she lost her husband to cancer, and now an aunt she had not seen in several years is dead. When Deborah brings some quilts into the shop in the hope that Callie will re-open she is disappointed to hear Callie say she plans to be there only long enough to sell the place. Deborah leaves the quilts with Callie while she shops hoping Callie will begin to view their beauty and change her mind. It works. This is an unlikely partnership between an Amish woman and an English woman.

    After a heated argument with the local newspaper editor over an unfavorable review of her shop, the editor is found murdered. Of course Callie becomes the prime suspect. Then there are several break-in around the area. Callie and Deborah decide they can figure out who is behind the crimes. This almost costs them their lives as they walk in on someone in the quilt shop. They are saved by Max. This makes them all the more determined to solve this crime.

    This is not your typical Amish romance. I think I liked that better. I love mysteries. The story lines demonstrate the importance of friendship and how true friendship can have a healing effect. I am definitely looking forward to reading the next book in this series. Since this was read as an e-book I must buy the physical copy when it comes out. My mother won't read e-books because she likes to pass them around to those in her Sunday School class and she can't wait to get her hands on this one. I know anyone who loves quilting, the Amish or just a good mystery will love this book. This is an author we need to watch out for.


    Disclosure of Material Connection: I rec

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    I love this series of books, Material Witness, Falling to Pieces

    I love this series of books, Material Witness, Falling to Pieces and Perfect Square. They are a combination of murder mystery and quilt related. I have read all of Vannetta's books and all staying in my permanent library.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Amish Mystery

    Description: When two women-one Amish, one English-each with different motives, join forces to organize a successful on-line quilt auction, neither expects nor wants a friendship. As different as night and day, Deborah and Callie are uneasy partners who simply want to make the best of a temporary situation. But a murder, a surprising prime suspect, a stubborn detective, and the town's reaction throw the two women together, and they form an unlikely alliance to solve a mystery and catch a killer.

    What a great read this book was. I had to keep going in order to find out who the killer was and why! Two completely different worlds collide with Callie, all English, and Deborah, a very Amish woman.

    Deborah turns out to be a very calming and good influence on Callie, who arrives in Shipshewana IN to close her Aunt Daisy's estate. Callie has had a hard past few years, and Deborah can feel in her a need to be at peace. She doesn't take "No" for an answer, and Callie agrees to keep Daisy's Quilt Shop open, at least until she can find a buyer?

    When the Editor of the paper is found dead, Callie becomes a suspect. Here she will maybe find some friends?

    Love the descriptions of the Amish family life, and I can hardly wait for the other two books in this series.

    A must read for Amish book lovers and a good mystery to boot!
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Zondervan Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    !

    Might have been good, but too many plot spoilers ruined it with their uber long synopsis, and bragging over getting the book for free for their'unbiased' review. That tells me the review is tainted. Please ppl. Be considerate of others. We would like to read a book and be surprised by what happens, not have you tell every detail. I wish bn would start fining plot spoilers. Maybe then you would think twice before revealing the plotline.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    It Business man working

    He work hard

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Amazing Amish cozy mystery

    Vannetta Chapman perfectly blends the Amish and Englisch worlds in FALLING TO PIECES. This is one of my favorite Amish books ever! I loved the shared point of view between Callie and Deborah, each of whom is an admirable woman. Each of the characters is credible and well characterized. Framkly, I can hardly wait until the next books in the series are released. Vannnetta is a new author to me, and this is the first of her books I've read. I will be reading her other books while I await the release of her next in this series. I believe she must be a very nice person to create such admirable work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Do I recommend this book? ABSOLUTELY!

    Geez...Editorial Reviews,Publishers Weekly. This book is fiction,after all,the characters don't have to be perfect people-the behaviors of the Amish lady, the cop, the journalist- because people are not perfect.
    I think this a wonderful book that brings across the message of how true friendship can have a healing effect, whether the friends are Amish or non-Amish. And how a person like Callie who has no family left, and has withdrawn into herself,slowly begins to blossom like a flower,due to the caring of Amish friends who don't give up on her. Callie learns to reach out to people, even to Max, her dog. At the time, that this transformation is taking place, a mystery begins to unfold where many become involved..yes,even Max.
    I would read other books by this author based on my experience with this one. And I would recommend this book for book club discussions- there are questions on the back of the book that are great for discussion.
    Amish1949

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2015

    Could not put it down.

    I really loved ready it. It was hard to put down and go to sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2015

    Hated it

    Boring read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2015

    Keeps your interest from beginning to end!

    An excellent mystery. Really keeps you guessing. You won't be sorry you chose this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2015

    Highly Recommended

    Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2015

    Great Story

    REal page turner!. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2015

    Proper cozy but quite awkward plotting as there is no way to recognize that product held cocaine that the finder knew it did

    And frankly if hid in dumpster why not emptied after four weeks needless to say a depressive sleeping that much does not just jump up and get active would take a physical scare to get morphs pumped up and no one even english if five kids and a car has that much free time buska

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2015

    must read

    I was captivated by this book ,i could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    Great

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    When I began reading this story, I had no idea I would enjoy it

    When I began reading this story, I had no idea I would enjoy it as much as I did… and although I’ve been reading mysteries most of my life, I was caught off guard more than once and I went through the entire book not knowing who the murderer was (what a relief; that’s actually a good thing).
    I loved getting to know Callie, Deborah, Esther and Melinda, as well as the others in the story. The interaction between Callie (an Englischer) and her Amish friends is highly entertaining. There’s enough controversy to keep the story hopping!
    Callie soon gets herself arrested – or almost!
    If I were Callie, I would never have the nerve to do some of the things she does… yet it is all very believable. Getting involved in the lives of her friends is just what she needs.
    Most series are written so that you can pick up any of the books and catch up easily with what’s happened before. You can probably do this with the Shipshewana Amish Mystery series, but you will miss so much if you do. Get all three books in the series and begin at book one – Falling to Pieces. You’ll be so glad you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Great Book

    This first book in the Shipshewana series was a great read. My first time with Ms Chapman. I loved it so much I just bought book 2 and 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5