BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Fallout (Crank Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 572 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(409)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

www.readingangel.com

I don't know how to put into words what I feel about these books. They are so powerful that I know I just can't do this review the justice it deserves. I stay so emotionally wrecked while reading these books that it takes me a couple days to recover. Fallout was no e...
I don't know how to put into words what I feel about these books. They are so powerful that I know I just can't do this review the justice it deserves. I stay so emotionally wrecked while reading these books that it takes me a couple days to recover. Fallout was no exception. It had me laughing, crying, and shaking with anger in the span of only a few pages.

In CRANK and GLASS we go through teenage Kristina's dance with "the monster", meth. We see her spiral deeper and deeper into addiction. When reading these two books from Kristina's point of view you just can't help but feel sorry for her, feel like it's not all her fault. But, while reading Fallout, which is from the point of view of her 3 teenagers, we see the fallout of Kristina's addiction of a completely different point of view. I found myself hating that same girl that I once felt sorry for. How dare she keep doing the things she's doing when she has these wonderful children that she should be living her life for?

We learn that her amazing mother has been through so much for her and that she could have gotten help, if she would have just reached out and accepted when it was offered to her time and time again. I don't know how anyone could read these books and even consider trying drugs afterward. Once you see how one person's addiction can spiral out of control and affect so many peoples lives.

These books should be required reading in every high school across the country in my opinion! Don't ban it, celebrate it! I suggest all of my readers who haven't read this series yet run out and buy it right now!!! What are you waiting for?

posted by ReadingAngel002 on September 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

ehhh, not as good as crank or glass.

the book was good and i read it all in a day, but i hated how it just left you wondering what happened to everyone. the boyfriend in the hospital, the pregnant autumn i just hate it when books leave you wondering what's gonna happen and then never have another book abou...
the book was good and i read it all in a day, but i hated how it just left you wondering what happened to everyone. the boyfriend in the hospital, the pregnant autumn i just hate it when books leave you wondering what's gonna happen and then never have another book about it. since this is the final chapter, you'll never know.

posted by 7117683 on February 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 577 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    www.readingangel.com

    I don't know how to put into words what I feel about these books. They are so powerful that I know I just can't do this review the justice it deserves. I stay so emotionally wrecked while reading these books that it takes me a couple days to recover. Fallout was no exception. It had me laughing, crying, and shaking with anger in the span of only a few pages.

    In CRANK and GLASS we go through teenage Kristina's dance with "the monster", meth. We see her spiral deeper and deeper into addiction. When reading these two books from Kristina's point of view you just can't help but feel sorry for her, feel like it's not all her fault. But, while reading Fallout, which is from the point of view of her 3 teenagers, we see the fallout of Kristina's addiction of a completely different point of view. I found myself hating that same girl that I once felt sorry for. How dare she keep doing the things she's doing when she has these wonderful children that she should be living her life for?

    We learn that her amazing mother has been through so much for her and that she could have gotten help, if she would have just reached out and accepted when it was offered to her time and time again. I don't know how anyone could read these books and even consider trying drugs afterward. Once you see how one person's addiction can spiral out of control and affect so many peoples lives.

    These books should be required reading in every high school across the country in my opinion! Don't ban it, celebrate it! I suggest all of my readers who haven't read this series yet run out and buy it right now!!! What are you waiting for?

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    ehhh, not as good as crank or glass.

    the book was good and i read it all in a day, but i hated how it just left you wondering what happened to everyone. the boyfriend in the hospital, the pregnant autumn i just hate it when books leave you wondering what's gonna happen and then never have another book about it. since this is the final chapter, you'll never know.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    truly amazzing

    a good book.the series speaks out about how drugs ( or the monster) can effect your life,but not just yours. drugs will effect others if they cant find the courage and hope to break the cycle. thought you can do it once?think again!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Different point of view but still a decent end to the trilogy!

    When I first started reading this, I had to stop and double check that I didnt skip a few books. Was confused that Kristina's children were telling their side of the story and how their lives were affected by her and her addiction. I felt that Kristina's side of the story wasnt finished. There couldve been a few more books from her view.

    It was hard to keep up with which kid belongs to who so I kept mixing up the characters but I ended up catching on after a bit. I liked each one of the kids in their own way. Each of them had their own issues. Bugged me how issues were brought up and then that was it...nothing more about it.

    I was expecting more of an ending and it seemed like it just ended too fast. There was too much unfinished business and unresolved conflicts with Kristina and her kids. Wouldve been a better ending if there was more of a meaningful resolution.

    I still read this book fairly quickly but not as quick as the first two books. I am a bigger fan of the first two books for sure but the third is still decent in its own way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Fallout

    Perfect way to end this trilogy: writing a book in Kristina's childrens point of view(: (Ellen Hopkins you ROCK!!!)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    FALLOUT

    this book is amazing it teaches u things that i never thought was possible

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing conclusion to a trilogy

    Reviewed for Monster Librarian as part of Banned Books Week

    With Fallout, the third book in the series that started with Crank centered on Kristina, a meth addict, Hopkins moves on to show the effect Kristina's selfish and yet victimous ways have had on her children. Fallout is told through three narrators: Hunter, Kristina's first child, born of a rape and trying to deal with rage; Autumn, who struggles with OCD and turns to alcohol to get her through a major life change; and Summer, who doesn't know about any of her siblings, and has been raised by a series of abusive foster homes and her own addict father. It focuses on the effect Kristina still has on those around her, and covers a wide spectrum of emotional and psychological problems.
    Fallout is raw, as can be expected from Hopkins, sharp and yet beautiful as well. Hopkins manages to bring new sympathy to the subject, even to the characters readers already know about have have started to hate. While the full scope of the story would be missed if readers started here this is the book of the series that most calls to the loved one of friend struggling to support (or justify not supporting) an addict. Highly recommended.
    Contains: drug use, sex, language

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    i picked up crank from my school library... after reading 13 rea

    i picked up crank from my school library... after reading 13 reasons why by jay asher. reading crank,
     i wasnt used to how it was written in verses but ellen hopkins really made it interesting.
    when i finished reading crank and glass, the book weirdly made me think about this girl in my school
    who is a meth user... she isnt an addict but she plays with other drugs.she like the real  kristina/bree
    it is a sad thing.... i try to help her but she doesnt let me. im reading the fall out now which is about her 3 older kids, its very interesting so far to see how this kids lives are due to their mother and fathers mistakes. i really like summer view on the situation. ellen hopkins with these books really touched me and i hope her daughter is recovering well. addiction is a hard thing to get rid of. i have a addiciton to self harm.. and i hope to recover.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    very good, I read it in about 2 days, I could not put it down!

    very good, I read it in about 2 days, I could not put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2014

    Amazing book. Not as good as Crank, but quite an amazing story.

    Amazing book. Not as good as Crank, but quite an amazing story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Good ending.

    Fallout was a good way to end the series although it had ended to fast, there was a lot of unfinished problems i would have liked to know how they came along or were resolved. Good way to end the series with a kids point of view altough i had gotten the two girls mixed up a lot! Plus i never even heard of their exsistence in glass so having these girls added to hunter plus two little boys whos veiws were never shown was a bit of a shock i feel like their should have been another book in between glass and fallout so hopefully some sense was made. Ellen hopkins is an amazing writer and really captures the esesence of the young rebels downfall. Yes i know she writes with vulgar and sexual content but i am 14 and can b mature about it, i mean its a part of life if you do not like the way she writes then dont read it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    A series to read once. I don't know, verse novels aren't my kind

    A series to read once. I don't know, verse novels aren't my kinds of reads. Some maybe but there are others I thought were okay. This one again, wow. The writing in verse was interesting. Would I read these again? Maybe. No, well maybe. Anyway, read the series if its your kind of read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Amazing

    This entire series is incredible, and really shows what meth can do to not only a person, but a whole family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    This book is genius!

    I recommend you read the first 2 books obviously! But this book is incredible, one that I think everyone should read! Not just this book but the whole series. Just a wonderful, heart throbbing, beautifully twisted book. Pick it up and read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    ...

    I think this was a good way to end the books. I loves them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Azerix to fallout players

    Hello! My names Azerix. I have played New Vegas and Fallout 3 so please dont as me about 3 or the origional.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Love it

    I like all of them alot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    Wonderful Conclusion to a Wonderful Series!

    Fallout by Ellen Hopkins was the third installment of the Crank Series. This was the story of all of Kristina's children (she happened to have five of them), and how they are coping with their lives in many different situations. Throughout all of these children's misadventures, they somehow find a way to make it all together, and meet their mother. And what Kristina says to her children at the end will surprise everyone. Hopkins writes this novel in a way that makes all of the other books in this series spin together and everything ends with one clear ending that ties up all loose ends, and leaves the reader, with, with a feeling of hope. I look forward to reading anything written by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Amazing!!

    I read the whole series. <3 So sad its done with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 577 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29