Customer Reviews for

False Colours

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Twins= imposter

    It's all to save face, of course, and to help save Mama from becoming impoverished. The humor is not slapstick, but comes from character and situation. One of this author's best

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FALSE COLOURS - Lies possible betrayal - It makes you want to know

    This is the first time I have read a Georgette Heyer novel and I will read more of her books. This was a delightful story the characters were so nicely developed that you warmed to them and you wanted all of them to succeed in this charade that was forced on them. It will keep you alert and turning the pages as you see all the obstacles they must overcome and experience and the love and the humor of it all. It was well told.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    A favorite

    Georgette Heyer is one of the best writers of the 20th century. This one is lots of fun. She embroils the hero in a mess and extricates him and his twin with finesse and style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Georgette Heyer at her best

    False Colors is one of Georgette Heyer's best. Characters who are fun to know. Straightening everyone's various problems that become very entangled as the story moves along. Being a twin brings an extra set of problems along with financial difficulties and lovers and elderly crochets. All lighthearted and delightful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Very fun.

    A comedy of manners with masquerading twins, sweet but hedonistic fops, dragonish grannies, and boring relatives who blathernon about "economizing". The slang flies fast and furious!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    A very good read

    Ms Heyer's strengths are her understanding of the time period and her ability to create believable and likeable characters. her work is dated by the sensibilities and prejudices of her time as well as that of the books' setting, but the stories are entertaining and well-written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!!

    I love all georgette Heyer books! This was a great book! A fun read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Great book

    First G.H. book I read, and it made me an addict.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Georgette Heyer and this is a good one!

    The characters are so charming and funny. The plot is fun and surprising and all the standard Georgette types are here. The flighty faded beauty, the practical witty gal, the aging, corseted roue, and of course the handsome, wonderful guy and in this one they're twins so there are 2 kinds of guys both really handsome. Perfect for a rainy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    False Colours

    I loved this book specially lady Denville who stole away the spotlight from the twins and the heroine Cressy in my opinion. She is beautiful, kind, simple, extravagant and had no clue in financing. In the meantime she loves her sons and they adore her. I loved the bond that the twins have for each other and how they come to each others rescue no matter what. The most funny part for me is when Lady Denville asks Rippley to marry her :) Just loved that part. What can I say Georgette Heyer is the best. Anna

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2