Customer Reviews for

The False Friend

Average Rating 2.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

True Friendship

What is a friend? What does a friend look like and act like? How do we judge whether we are a true friend or not? What do we look for in a friend? These are questions we ask ourself from the time we first enter school.

After reading the summary of this book I kne...
What is a friend? What does a friend look like and act like? How do we judge whether we are a true friend or not? What do we look for in a friend? These are questions we ask ourself from the time we first enter school.

After reading the summary of this book I knew I wanted to read it. The False Friend is the story of a young woman,Celia, who believes she is responsible for the disappearance of her childhood friend Djuna. She is remembering her childhood friendships and she doesn't like what she sees. She is convinced that after having a terrible argument with her best friend Djuna that she watched her run into the woods and fall into a hole. She also believes she left her there. She returns to her home town to find out if she was this terrible person. The only way to do this is to confess to her parents and her friends. The problems is no one believes her. They all believe that Djuna got into a car with a stranger and was never seen again. Who is right? Is it possible that things were so horrible that she has blocked out the truth? What is the truth?

This story kept me reading from beginning to end. I could not put it down. As Celia confronts her friends she learns that she was not what many of us would call a good friend. Why do people hang around those who bully them or put them down? Celia describe several arguments she'd had with her friend Djuna. It made me recall a time in high school when another of my friends and I were after the friendship of another girl. She would take turns having us over. One day I was her best friend and the next the other girl was. We would argue to the point that teachers would step into the hallway. The difference was I was just shy enough and lacked enough self confidence that I would do just about anything for her friendship.
Miss Goldberg has done an awesome job with her characters. She shows us the human side that is often lacking in a book. We see their flaws. We can identify with them. There is something here for everyone. This is one book that I will definitely recommend to all of my friends. I look forward to more work by this author.

posted by skstiles612 on July 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

Don't waste your time. What a disappointment! The characters are not worth knowing and the writing is trivial and shallow.

posted by MillieKP on October 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    Don't bother

    Don't waste your time. What a disappointment! The characters are not worth knowing and the writing is trivial and shallow.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    True Friendship

    What is a friend? What does a friend look like and act like? How do we judge whether we are a true friend or not? What do we look for in a friend? These are questions we ask ourself from the time we first enter school.

    After reading the summary of this book I knew I wanted to read it. The False Friend is the story of a young woman,Celia, who believes she is responsible for the disappearance of her childhood friend Djuna. She is remembering her childhood friendships and she doesn't like what she sees. She is convinced that after having a terrible argument with her best friend Djuna that she watched her run into the woods and fall into a hole. She also believes she left her there. She returns to her home town to find out if she was this terrible person. The only way to do this is to confess to her parents and her friends. The problems is no one believes her. They all believe that Djuna got into a car with a stranger and was never seen again. Who is right? Is it possible that things were so horrible that she has blocked out the truth? What is the truth?

    This story kept me reading from beginning to end. I could not put it down. As Celia confronts her friends she learns that she was not what many of us would call a good friend. Why do people hang around those who bully them or put them down? Celia describe several arguments she'd had with her friend Djuna. It made me recall a time in high school when another of my friends and I were after the friendship of another girl. She would take turns having us over. One day I was her best friend and the next the other girl was. We would argue to the point that teachers would step into the hallway. The difference was I was just shy enough and lacked enough self confidence that I would do just about anything for her friendship.
    Miss Goldberg has done an awesome job with her characters. She shows us the human side that is often lacking in a book. We see their flaws. We can identify with them. There is something here for everyone. This is one book that I will definitely recommend to all of my friends. I look forward to more work by this author.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    Just so-so

    I heard the author on NPR and thought the book sounded really good. I wanted to love it, but in the end, I felt it was WAY overwritten and sort of boring.

    Don't waste your time or money, unless you have more than you know what to do with both!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Boring

    This was my second e-book purchase and is so disappointing. I am halfway through it and I am forcing myself to finish it by skim reading. Halfway through and the book has barely touched on the storyline of the friend who went missing 30 years ago. This book had the possibility of being exciting but I found it to be boring and not worth the money I spent on it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Short but gripping

    Celia Durst was eleven years old when she lost her best friend Djuna to an abductor on the side of the road. Now she is thirty-two and heading home to tell the truth about what really happened that day. Unfortunately for her, this is not as simple as it sounds. Her other friends from that time don't believe her story, and not even her parents think her memory could have actually occurred. Add in a stale relationship with her long-time boyfriend and coming back to the place where she grew up is not going to be an easy trip.

    I read Myla Goldberg's Bee Season, but didn't fall in love with her writing until her second work of fiction, Wickett's Remedy. THE FALSE FRIEND a little depressing by comparison. The story is short and not a whole lot happens. I found it hard to swallow the fact that Celia still used the terms "Mommy" and "Daddy" at age 32, instead of the more adult versions like "Mom" or "Mother". Also, I never felt it was clear why Celia needed to go back and finally reveal the true events from her childhood. I liked that as a reader I wasn't entirely sure if Celia's memory could be trusted. However, there was still the same engaging writing style from Goldberg to keep me turning pages furiously. The way she interspersed Celia's memories into her daily life felt very real, the way memories spring up in true life. Plus, having the few moments from another point of view (boyfriend Huck) were a welcomed respite and helped to round out the characters. Perhaps I was just looking for more action.

    Overall Rating: 4 Stars

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Thought Provoking

    I was disappointed by the ending. It ddn't have closure to the sory line, which I believe is the author's intent. It does stir interesting thoughts and conversations on the topics it hits on, so I would consider it a good book club read. It was a quick read, I read it in a weekend, though it was a bit slow. The characters are realistic. The book will stay with you a bit after reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    For the love of all things DO NOT buy this book. You will be ex

    For the love of all things DO NOT buy this book. You will be extremely upset that you wasted any amount of money on this. I borrowed this from my local library and I am irritated that I wasted any amount of time on this garbage. There is absolutely NO resolution to the storyline. The story just ends. This had potential to be a thrilling novel - instead it's a bunch of crap. I have never been so annoyed with a book in my life. I hope I can save someone else from wasting their time on this.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    I love psychological dramas and I was blown away by The False Friend. It's one of those books that will stick with you for the rest of your life. It's powerful and brilliant!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Pmls Pmlw

    Hoity toity unessesary use of words, delves into unrelated subjects, kept looking to see how many more pages to finish, no wonder celia did the things she did considering her stepford type parents, depressing weak attempt at sartre style

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    Don't waste your time or your money

    There was absolutely no reason this story should have led to a full length novel. The same story could have been told in a flash fiction of about 20 pages. It's lengthy for no apparent reason and then just ends abruptly. So you're strung along for 200 pages that could've been summarized into a few paragraphs and then left with no ending. Extremely disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Disapointing

    Too many unaswered questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Disagree with bad reviews

    I disagree with all of the bad reviews for this book, particularly those stating that the book lacks a clear ending. I almost did not get the book based on the reviews, but was glad I decided to trust my gut feeling. The plot is realistic and believeable, and the characters well-developed and relateable. If you are looking for black and white fluff with a happily ever after then this book is not for you. However, if you possess some degree of literary genius, you will find this book resonating with you long after you read the final page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Too many loose ends

    Too many introduced but unresolved story lines and the switching between third person limited and third person omniscient didn't help

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Disappointing ending

    I thought the idea for the plot was good but it never really developed into anything. I am still not even sure what actually happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't recommend

    This story was very interesting up to the end...but the end was awful.The author never really tied up the ending or if she did I missed something.Very disappointed.I would not read another by Ms Goldberg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    Waste of time and $$$$$

    I have read free nookbooks that were way more interesting than this. The only thing that keeps me reading is so that my money isnt COMPLETELY wasted. Although this should have been a quick read for me (only 191 pages)most of the book is filled with long, confusing, over detailed sentences that serve no purpose in the story. Dont throw way your $ on this book. You'll be very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    Not worth the time

    My first ebook and very disappointed. This was not worth the time. There was no ending to the story. Characters were well developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    Never delivered

    I wasn't terribly fond of this book as I was reading it, but there was just enough to it that kept me reading to see if some sort of compelling plot would unfold - never happened. I would never recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    Interesting Plot, but seriously overwritten

    I love when an author has different ways a saying something; it makes me think and that is good. However, that should be a standout sentence. It was done so often in this book, that it is almost laughable. Mostly, it becoame tedious. This would have been a nice short story if it had been written more plainly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Forget It!

    Although the premise is interesting, False Friend is very disappointing. It is full of long, twisting sentences that sometimes make no sense or do little to add to the context of the story or plot. The ending is vague and frustrating. Time and money is too precious to waste on this book. I can not recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5