Customer Reviews for

False Impression

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Back on track

Although some might say it's nothing new, with goodies and baddies chasing each other through various countries, False Impression has sufficient convolutions to keep you reading, and the pace increases as you read. Typical Archer stuff, a good story

posted by Anonymous on March 19, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Starts Strong - Runs out of Gas

This story hits the ground running with a good deal of excitement and international mystery. The ending becomes clear about 3/4 of the way in, and I found myself scanning to the end. But - an enjoyable read on a cross country flight - or for the beach.

posted by Anonymous on March 13, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2006

    Starts Strong - Runs out of Gas

    This story hits the ground running with a good deal of excitement and international mystery. The ending becomes clear about 3/4 of the way in, and I found myself scanning to the end. But - an enjoyable read on a cross country flight - or for the beach.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    A quick read if you like easy- to mid-level thrillers. Organized into short and relatively self-contained segments to permit easy stop-and-start reading as time allows. Good enough, though, to read straight through on some rainy day or night.

    A fast-paced thriller which doesn't require specific knowledge of the artists mentioned. The main 'bad guy' is pretty weakly presented, with many of his lines and actions being more cliche than original, but the author holds your interest, and in the end you can like the tale and its spinning well enough to forgive him both that weak character and his own apparent need to show his knowledge of some the less famous artists of the periods he references via the various characters' verbal and mental dialogues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    Back on track

    Although some might say it's nothing new, with goodies and baddies chasing each other through various countries, False Impression has sufficient convolutions to keep you reading, and the pace increases as you read. Typical Archer stuff, a good story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Stillkit

    Hey look if you guys do not reply i am leaving. Well this is a wrap so good bye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Waterspout

    Srry on vacation:) pads in. There you are!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    A cat

    "I won't hurt you." He mews. He puts her on a small moss nest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    highly recommend - great story

    I enjoy most of Jeffrey Archer's stories. This is one of the best I've read. The story moved and kept me on edge throughout. Very hard to put down. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    This book and author sucks. I could not believe how bad it was.

    This is one of th worst books I have ever read. I have read so many books by this author and if you ask m they all suck. The author needs to stop writing and get a new job.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    It doesn't get better than that!

    One of the most exciting,amazing,thrilling books i have ever read!Genious story!Nothing less,nothing more!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Thriller by Jeffrey Archer

    A great leisure time read.....grabs your attention at the beginning and doesn't let go until the very end! Inateresting plot has lots of twists and turns. Interesting characters....from the power-hungry financier, to the administrative assistant with a dark past and a hidden agenda, to the FBI agent, and the English countess. All combine to make this a very enjoyable reading experience.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Keeps you on your toes! -similar to Dan Brown's DaVinci Code (but without the religion)

    Great book, I learn a lot from Jeffrey Archer's books. This thriller reminded me of DaVinci Code. Good book to start wtih Jeffrey Archer, and also try Eleventh Commandment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another plus in the story telling of Jeffrey Archer.

    Jeffrey Archer has done it again. This book is full of cunning plots and keeps the reader entertained. You just want to keep reading the book to the end.
    The intrigue of the art world, a smug self righteous New York banker, a FBI agent bent on solving the crime, the English Countess ready to commit murder to avenge her sister's death, the Japanese steel magnate ready to purchase a Van Gogh painting, a secretary working as a temp to what end, an Olympic gymnast being paid for services rendered, and finally the beautiful, Anna Petrescu, who steals a priceless painting to add to this great read.
    The reader is taken through the twists and turns running around New York, London, Bucharest, and Tokyo. You are also taken to the day of the terrorist's attack on the World Trade Center. Anna Petrescu is one of the survivors of this terrible act of terrorism. The attack is vividly told and one feels like they are indeed there at the scene.
    The journey of all the characters in this story culminate with a hint of romance.

    Cherry Blossom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FALSE IMPRESSION, Jeffery Archer

    First and foremost I am an addicted as well as devoted fan of Jeffery Archer. I am an avid Reader and maintain a Books I Have Read journal which is in its 6th volume at this time, and Jeffery Archer occupies many pages in each volume.
    As I read his latest work FALSE IMPRESSION I could only shake my head and wonder " How Does He Do It " ? I was as thrilled and as entertained by this book as any of the previous works by Jeffery.
    I purchased FALSE IMPRESSION the evening before leaving on an auto trip for the Christmas holiday as I wanted a good book handy to occupy me over the holiday. I left on my trip the following morning and was eventually caught in a paralyzing Ice Storm that struck throughout the Midwestern United States and thus a trip with a 10 hour drive ended up a nearly 2 day trip of 21 hours. On 3 seperate ocassions all traffic was stopped dead for approximately 3 hours each time, and fortunate for me FALSE IMPRESSION was right at hand. Upon arriving at my destination 21 hours later I had finished this book, and was thrilled and wondering how long before Mr Archers next creation ?
    As I previously stated I am an avid Reader of many topics, and areas but probably my favorite area is American History with World History a very close second. I most usually have 3 different books going at one time and all of differnt topics and areas of interest, and thus pick the book that fits my mind saet at that moment. If I want an entertaining, riveting fast read with a tantalizing plot I will choose Jeffery Archer, or possibly Jack Higgins. If I want a fascinating historically factual read I will choose none other than Edward Rutherfurd. While I am reading any work of the 3 mentioned authors who incidentally are of Celtic Heritage to my knowledge and all from the United Kingdom I will conjure up in my minds eye a dark rainy night with a Clan, or Tribe of people sitting around a Camp Fire, in a cave, a hut, or a deep dark forest listening to the Tribal Story Teller spin tales, and the I see Jeffery Archer, or Jack Higgins entertaining the Clan with fascinating Tales, and then enter Edward Rutherfurd and he will treat the clan with a Tale of how it actually was.
    I would highly recommend to any Reader who enjoys an entertaining story with a fantastic plot, and a cast of characters you will never forget, to read any of Jeffery Archers works, and especially one of my favorites " Not A Penny More, Not A Penny Less ". I could mention several others but once you've read your first Archer work you in all likelihood will be HOOKED.
    In closing I wish to thank Jeff and all of the other Writer's who have filled my life with excitement, entertainment, and who have provoked my imagination. There has been no greater thrill in my life other than my first and only love, MY WIFE, and three wonderful children.
    I also wish to express my profound thanks to the Barnes & Noble Book Sellers, and most especially those of the staff at Springfield, Missouri for providing a GREAT VENUE and giving me the feeling of entering a friends home each time I enter their store.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    I enjoyed this one!

    It may not be one of Archer's best books, but it was a fun read. I enjoyed it, the characters and the plot. In fact, I could not put it down for long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2007

    Not up to par for Archer

    The ending was a predictable fizzle, almost as if the characters each had a boring script from which to read their next moves. Lacked the good plotting and rich characterization of A Dangerous Fortune, one of my favorite Archer yarns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    I've read much better ...

    What a dreadful, disappointing book. I expected something better of Archer than this unbelieveable story. What a relief it was when I finally closed the cover. My last, I'm afraid, Jeffrey. Mike

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2007

    Disappointing

    I don't understand how anyone can think that this book was any good at all. I have read all of Jeffrey Archers' books and this one didn't even get close to the others. It was predictable and really embarrassing at times. The characters were flat and unconvincing and the repetitions endless. I feel cheated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    This is a great book!!

    This book was very enjoyable. It is and exciting journey that never stops its pace. The way it is written reminds me a bit of Alexander Dumas: as soon as the action starts to slow down he switches to another character's point of view and you are off and running again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2007

    It was excellent!

    I loved this book and it was one of my favorites. It really does remind me of the Da Vinci Code.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2006

    Interesting

    Though I am an avid reader of Jeffrey Archer I found the book not as thrilling as his other works. I felt that the assasin over did all the murders. I actually cringed at some of the story lines. Normally his books are fast paced and it takes me a week to read but this time it took me 3 weeks to get through the whole book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3