Customer Reviews for

False Memory

Average Rating 4
( 264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A TRULY MESMERIZING BOOK

This is an unbelievable read...totally fascinating and truly scary.Cannot believe how well written it is.I stayed up late at night to finish it.I could hardly put it down..One of KOONTZ'S best, and a great tale

posted by Anonymous on December 22, 1999

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

HOT HOT HOT

Good reading, not his best work, plot was so so and the ending was predictable. But nonetheless, not a bad read

posted by Lulu70LB on May 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    HOT HOT HOT

    Good reading, not his best work, plot was so so and the ending was predictable. But nonetheless, not a bad read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Well..

    Im having a hard time finishing this book.. its a rough read as a huge dean koontz fan. A bit disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Predictable

    This story was very predictible with no "twist" at the end from the antagonist. A very long read which covered unnecessary details. I did learn, however, some new words from a former English teacher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    Horrible

    The plot had soo much potential and when I read the summary I was really interested in what the whole deal was about but the book was entirely stupid. Dean Koontz spends hundreds of pages describing things that dont even need to be described. Its like describing an apple in 100 pages...same subject throughout all that. It got so boring and extremely repeatitive!! The book couldve been half the size that it was. The books storyline couldve been way more interesting. And then the ending was just stupid. All those pages about his family was just a bore! Horrible. I wouldnt recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2005

    Great book until the last couple of chapters

    I love reading this book, until the last few chapters. To me it felt as if he wanted to hurry up and finish the book, because he was tired of writing. I have read better endings from Dean Koontz. I will still read his books. I find them intresting to say the least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2004

    Petered out

    Great plot. Got me interested enought to finish it in a few hours. Then, near the end it just sort-of 'peters out'. Terrible ending when it could have been so much more. Like haveing sex, but not finishing...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2001

    Long & Drawn Out

    This book is long and drawn out, get to the point already! Alot of unnecassary details. The ending was a bomb, all that for the book to end like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2001

    Worst Dean Koontz I've read

    I was very disappointed. Mr Koontz' novels have always been an 'immediate buy' for me, but I found the first half of this book more boring than watching paint dry. There was way too much description (I'm more of a dialogue person) and it seemed to drag on and on and on. I think the point could have been made in a much more efficient manner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2001

    Too predictable. Better to play tennis or paint a house

    I read Fear Nothing and Seize the Night before this one. Both are much, much better! False Memory is too long and very predictable. No truth suspense at all. Moreover, the end is really bad. I expected much more from Mr. Kootz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    I felt cheated when it was over...

    This was my first Koontz novel, and perhaps my last. The first 650 pages of the book were fairly exciting, and to his credit Koontz crafted a pretty good story, but the conclusion was bordering on just plain stupid. In particular, the scene at the Lamptons' home (I won't ruin the book)and the related turn of events that the novel took at that point was very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2000

    Where is my old Koontz?

    I am a Koontz fan from Istanbul, Turkey and I've read all of his books.I was lost and bored with this book's first half which is where the story really begins and even after than I turned off the nite lamp and went to sleep for 3 weeks which is the time that took me to finish this book while I read his others overnight and max.in 2-3 days.Too many unnecessary details that block you away from the real story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2000

    Not his best work

    I am a Koontz fan and have been for many years. I was very disappointed with False Memory. The mystery was given away not even half way through the book. Koontz is still my favorite author and I hope his next book will not be such a let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 1999

    Horrible Read

    This has got to be the worst Koontz book yet. It was poorly written and the premise of the book was laughable. Granted, when Koontz left the grandiose similies alone and got down to 'real' story telling, some scenes were quite gripping; unfortunately, there were not many gripping scenes. I consider myself a huge Koontz fan ( I have at least one copy of every book he's written), so I really wanted to like this book, but it was too much of a dud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2