Customer Reviews for

False Memory

Average Rating 4
( 264 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A TRULY MESMERIZING BOOK

This is an unbelievable read...totally fascinating and truly scary.Cannot believe how well written it is.I stayed up late at night to finish it.I could hardly put it down..One of KOONTZ'S best, and a great tale

posted by Anonymous on December 22, 1999

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

HOT HOT HOT

Good reading, not his best work, plot was so so and the ending was predictable. But nonetheless, not a bad read

posted by Lulu70LB on May 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 1999

    A TRULY MESMERIZING BOOK

    This is an unbelievable read...totally fascinating and truly scary.Cannot believe how well written it is.I stayed up late at night to finish it.I could hardly put it down..One of KOONTZ'S best, and a great tale

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2008

    Read on....it gets better...

    When i first started reading it I thought it was boring but since i like to finish what i start i kept going...eventually the story got good and i finished. The story was a little disturbing yet eye opening.I dont regret reading it but have agreed this is my last dean koontz novel....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    phenominal

    couldn't put this down. this book turned me into a fan and i've been reading koontz ever since

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    Wierd in a good way

    This book was a little slow to start off...didn't star out with all the action that most of his works do. I actually had to come back to it once or twice. But then all of a sudden you're thinking "what the heck is going on with these people?!" And then, in chapter 30, you realize that you know the answer, right before he reveals it. And then Koontz just keeps your thinking wheels spinning and spinning all the way to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Intense

    I started reading this book about 9 months ago but put it down around page 306 because it was very slow in the beginning. Needless to say I ran out of books to read a month ago so I decided to give this book another shot and I am very glad I did. Like a few other people said here if you can get past the first 300 pages then trust me it is definately worth the read. This book reminds me of another older book dean wrote in 1976 called "night chills". It's along the same lines of brainwashing/throwing coded messages out and turning people into personal slaves or zombies. It is really worth the read even if it is 752 pages long....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    pretty good.

    I am a life-long Koontz fan. I really enjoyed this book, however, I did get a bit bored with parts and then other parts seemed a bit to far fetched. But If you got time to read it, I recommend this book. But I think it would be a wiser decision to look for a different Koontz book, like the Good Guy or The Husband. But like I said. its pretty good. If your running out of Koontz to read lol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2005

    Great Read, Great Villian!

    I had loved Koontz for quite some time and the character development really stood out to me in this novel. Great plot, only a few slow spots...its amazing how Koontz can make anything seem like its possible to happen to you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    One of His Best

    In this novel Koontz demonstrates why he is one of the consistent bestsellers with a tale that deals with one of our greatest fears, our own mind, and reveals with a subtle challenge our own frailties. At times Koontz breaks into long narratives that slow the pace of some of his books, but this is an excellent read that ensures we won't lay the book aside for long, and it keeps us intrigued through the closing pages. In my own quest to hone the skills of a writer, I must read good authors as well as bad; Koontz, in my opinion, is at the top of the list as a master of the craft.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    Great Psycho Thriller

    The first 200 pages of this book are a little boring, but after that the goings on will not permit you to stop reading. The mind of a certain character is just unbelievably sickening, and the way that others survive/die are very imaginative. the twist and turns in the plot developments are very intriguing....I highly reccomend you read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2001

    VERY GOOD KOONTZ

    I liked the book very much. Mr. Koontz flexed his writing muscles to give us an enjoyable novel. Some of my friends didn't care for it, but I enjoyed that it ranged out of the 'formula.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2001

    Long but good...

    this book was quite long, but it was interesting the whole time. It's one of those books that make you upset with the characters, but has a great ending to make up for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2001

    Read This Book Before Making Up Your Mind

    I've had it with these critics who have bashed this book. You can say that you don't like the book but you don't have to insult the author or bash the work. I'd like to see these 'critics' write something and get it published! I personally liked the book and had a great time reading it. But even if I didn't I wouldn't be insulting Mr. Koontz and asking him if the book was a joke. I'm giving 1 star to whatever these Koontz bashers have written, which is probably rubish anyway. How do YOU like being insulted!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2001

    Slow to get into...but overall another winner

    Like most Koontz fans, I had trouble putting this one down once the action started. However, the first parts of the novel tend towards dragging descriptions or narratives that encouraged skipping. But what can I say,I still love his work and will continue to look forward to the newest books out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2001

    Good book - however at times unbelievable

    This was my first book I read by Dean Koontz. I enjoyed the book - although the plot is a bit wacky. I have some parts/holes to the story that I don't understand. I agree with one of the other commentaries - the first 2/3rds of the book was good and the ending a little dissapointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2001

    Midnite Rambler.

    Dean has taken a somewhat common plot and embelished it with rich prose.For those who find 2 dimensional characterizations shallow, this book is for you.The richness in detailing is outstanding.. his character development is incredible, but borderlines on excess and he rambles page after page on the internal workings of each character's mind. Action-oriented people will find themselves skipping pages (this is difficult as each page is about as thin as tissue paper. 750 pages taking up the same width as a usual 500 page book). The other factor for me not assingning the 5th star is Dean's other-the-top use of similes and metaphors. Thankfully, he has not used it in his titles, or this book would have been titled 'A memory As False As An Excuse For Not doing Your Homework'. You get the picture. All in all an enjoyable book !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2000

    VERY STRANGE, BUT NEAT>

    Dean does it again. This book is cool, thought weird and slow at times, it still does kcick butt when it has to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2000

    It's about time!!!

    Just when I thought that I'd read my last Koontz novel after reading 'Seize the Night', something grabbed me about the inside jacket preview. What a great read and none of that supernatural stuff that Dean has been trying to push on us. I hope we'll see a big screen version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2000

    Poor Martie Rhodes!

    As a young video-game designer, Martie Rhodes has a fabulous life, until things take a drastic turn for the worse. She suddenly develops an overpowering fear of her own shadow and something very bad in her mirror.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2000

    One Hell of a Thriller

    I'm really a big Koontz fan because of his ability create characters that are very real despite that fact that they find themselves in such unreal situations. False Memory is a compelling read and a big winner although at times Koontz gets paranoid with his descriptions. Mr. Koontz is undoubtbly one of the masters of the genre, and he can write, throw you into that world which narrows the bridge between fiction and reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2000

    A book not forgotten

    False Memory is my second favorite Dean Koontz book [the first being Fear Nothing]. He kept me on the edge of my seat. The way this book is written, it can make the reader actually believe that the events in the story are actually taking place in front of their eyes. His knowledge on so many topics is, in my opinoin, what makes his reading so entertaining, enjoyable, and best selling. Hats off to you, Dean Koontz, on another well written book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3