BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

False Pretenses: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    If you run far enough can your past catch up with you? Kathy Herman sets out to explore that in her new book "False Pretenses". I was thrilled to discover that some of the characters from her last series are main characters in this new series. Vanessa and Ethan Langley (along with little Carter) are in Louisiana now and they get mixed up in an incredible case of mistaken identity, lynching and murder, and theft... Zoe and Pierce are their landlords and as they become friends they discover not everything is as it seems. Zoe's past is haunting her, but can she clear things up before it catches up with her and ruins everything in her present and future?

    Kathy does a great job with this book incorporating mystery / suspense with relationships and forgiveness. I think this is my favorite book of hers so far. I look forward to seeing where she goes with this series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Grace and Forgiveness on the Bayou

    False Pretenses by Kathy Herman is the first novel in a new series Secrets of Roux River Bayou set in Louisiana, published March 2011 by David C. Cook Publisher in both paperback and ebook formats, available on Kindle and Nook among other ereaders. Over forty chapters of suspense that will keep you riveted once you become entwined in the lives of realistic characters who'll touch your heart and soul. Zoe and Pierce Broussard open a Cajun eatery, Zoe B's, and they're happily married for five years before a drug dealer threatens not only their happy union, but also their very lives. Boarders Vanessa and Ethan Langely and their young son, Carter, become involved in the danger when they attempt to help the Broussard family. Five years of deception on Zoe's part sets off a series of events that include a hanging from an oak tree on the Vincent farm that neighbors the Langely Manor to a fight for their very lives. Someone is getting inside the manor despite the fact that all new locks have been installed on the doors and windows. Carter says he found a candy man in the closet in an upstairs bedroom. Is the intruding stranger real or only a figment of an active four-year old imagination? Sugarcane fields separate the manor from the farm and secret tunnels add to a vivid tale of forgiveness and grace. When a young newspaper boy is murdered, racial tension threatens the entire community. Vanessa and Ethan are renovating the manor as a bed and breakfast unaware of its unique history that will only add to its personal charm, which they discover from an unexpected source. Vivid description aids readers in visualizing what a Louisiana Cajun community is like by allowing travel through the pages of a good book. Can Zoe and Pierce's lives be saved? And, if so, what about their marriage? He's a proud Cajun? Will pride get in the way of forgiveness and grace? While it has a few word omissions and mistakes, I was able to overlook them for the story told and loved the themes and ending as well as the twists and turns. If you like Southern novels, I'd say this is one you won't want to miss. I'm glad I discovered it and can't wait for the others in the series. I think of the author as the bird lady due to all the beautiful pictures she captures and shares on Facebook. After reading her novel, I feel I have a better picture of who she really is, a beautiful and gracious lady who wrote a beautiful and gracious story of suspense. There were times I didn't want to put the novel down because I wanted to see what happened next. I'd rate the novel four-and-half only because of the few errors, but I promise you the story spun is a five, and anyone who has a love for the South will enjoy this Southern homespun tale of majestic oaks and a plantation called a manor for all the right reasons. I can just see those sugarcane fields waving in the wind and picture that bayou in my mind. Visit Kathy Herman on Facebook and see for yourself her unique talent for bird photography as well as writing.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Decent story love the cajun aspect

    Only critique would be the long winded ending

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ghosts

    This book shouts "Louisiana!" It makes me feel as if I've visited Louisiana. I've experienced the talk, met some residents, and enjoyed the food. What a neat way to travel!

    The protagonist, Zoe, is living a lie, and as happens with most lies, they catch up with her. Intertwined is a lynching, a mystery stalker, and the suspicion of a ghost!

    A Discussion Guide is included, making this a good book club read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book, even tho it seemed to slow down a little in the middle. But then it really took off &i was up all night finishing it! Son in law is from New Awlins so loved all of that culture included,. So nice to see Gods Grace represented. Would love to read the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Recommend

    Well written and kept you guessing . Would read this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great story line. Well-developed characters.

    I enjoyed this book and found it to truly be a page-turner I couldn't put down. In fact, a couple of nights I read into the wee-hours of the morning. As a resident of Cajun-country, I was a bit put off by the constant use of Cajun idioms and expressions. At times it felt that the author was trying a bit too hard. The Cajun dictionary was helpful in translating some of the Cajun-French expressions used.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Very Good Book

    An engaging story about the choices you make and how they can affect your life many years later. A very good read with a nice moral to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very enjoyable

    I so enjoyed reading this book. Good balance of suspense and likable characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1