Customer Reviews for

False Pretenses: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Good Read

    Reading this was a great way to pass time. It moved at a nice pace and held my attention. I especially liked that while it is a Christian story, it was not at all "preachy".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Enjoyable!

    Very good book. Loved the location of the material and held my interest to the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    DEFINITELY RECOMMEND.

    This series was one of the best I've read. I read a lot of Christian Fiction and this author is fantastic. Couldn't put it down. From the 1st book to the 3rd. I promise you will love it. I look forward to reading more by Kathy Herman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Great Christian Book

    Really enjoyed this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    False Pretenses: A Novel

    Another great start to a new series by Kathy Herman! This book is full of fast pace twist and turns that kept me reading till way past my "bedtime". I loved the humanness of the main characters, showing that God can take what we break and use it for His glory is we just listen to Him! I love her mysteries that entertain me as well as draw me closer to Him at the same time. Enjoy this book because the 2nd in the trilogy is even better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    AWESOME BOOK!!!

    I kept wondering what depth her secret went to! It really kept me in suspense and I truly loved it!!!! Want to read more of Ms. Herman's novels! C:o)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    You will learn a lot reading this book

    It is almost impossible to put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Great suspense story with many elements

    Loved the Cajun setting and all the different threads that tied together to form the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    W

    Wonderful series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Kathy Herman does it again. You must check this one out. So glad to know about this author. You are guaranteed a good read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Secrets in the bayou will have devastating consequences in this Christian thriller!!

    Zoe Broussard and her husband Pierce have moved to Louisana to establish Zoe B's, a cajun, down home style eatery. Things seem to be going well for them including the possibility that Pierce's gumbo could possibly take first place this year earning them a well deserved place in the community.

    However when mysterious envelopes begin to appear with Zoe's name typed on the front and inside containing 5 words in cut out words from magazines saying "I know what you did," Zoe begins to wonder if her past is about to catch up with her.

    Meanwhile Vanessa and Ethan Langley have purchased the old Langley estate in hopes of restoring it into a Bed and Breakfast. However when their 4 year old son, Carter claims to have spoken to the "Candy Man" in the closet who promises him lemon drops if he keeps his presence a secret, they begin to wonder if the Candy Man is real or a figment of Carter's imagination. The police can find no evidence of a break in and when a white man is found hung just on the outskirts of their property line, they all begin to wonder if the Candy Man has anything to do with it.

    I received the book False Pretenses by Kathy Herman compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and have to say I really enjoyed the storyline. Set in the Bayou's of Louisiana, the story will unravel among the secrets that Zoe is hiding from her husband along with the mysterious man in Langley Manor. This sets the stage for showing just how devastating secrets can be, and how nothing is truly hidden that God won't use for His good. I would rate this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars and is available in paperback and eBook formats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Thrilled With This Thriller

    This is an excellent thriller with two different avenues of mystery, written from a Christian world-view. Lots of twist and turns, keeping you on the edge of your seat. Once I picked it up, I couldn't put it down! It was great entertainment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a strong romantic suspense thriller

    In the town of Les Barbes in Saint Catherine Parrish, Louisiana, a mystery comes to light. Vanessa and Ethan Langtry remodel Langtry Manor converting it into a B&B. Their son Carter says the candyman gave him lemon drops, but his parents assume this is just a child's imagination until they sees candy on the floor. Neither adult can figure out how a person entered their tightly secured locked faculty.

    Zoe and Pierce Broussard own Zoe B's brasserie, which she opened a decade ago. She has received letters saying: "I know what you did." Zoe assumes the anonymous writer refers to a ring she stole and is preparing to blackmail her. To eliminate the extortion, Zoe confesses to her former employer and offers to pay back the cost of the ring. Her ex boss is kind and asks Zoe to simply repay her what she got for it. However this proves not to be the source of the threat. Someone wants what the real Zoe Broussard parents owed him. Ironically, she is not that Zoe, but instead Shelby Siegler who fled from her abusive molesting father to reinvent herself as Zoe Benoit who lived in her hometown. Knowing the predator will kill her and Pierre, Zoe needs to tell her beloved husband the truth but fears that will kill her marriage.

    In the first Secrets of Roux River Bayou, Kathy Herman provides a strong romantic suspense thriller with two major subplots that intertwine leading to what may be the great author's best work to date. Besides the Broussard's confrontations with a psychopath and the Langtry's trepidations of an intruder, the town is in a frenzy of rage over the lynching of a white man. As the Langtrys befriend the Broussards during their crisis, which cleverly merges the two prime plots, readers will appreciate a trip into the Bayou escorted by Ms. Herman.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1