Customer Reviews for

The False Prince (Ascendance Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

78 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

OMG

Omg I loved this book but WHEN WILL THE NEXT BOOK COME OUT!!!!!! Gosh I wish somebody would tell me!! Click *Yes* if you agree with me.

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I’ve got mixed feelings about this one. On the one hand it

I’ve got mixed feelings about this one. On the one hand it has a lot going for it: very finely detailed intrigue and smart dialogue, realistic worldbuilding and (bonus) first-person POV from a boy! It’s rare to find one of these in the young adult genre thes...
I’ve got mixed feelings about this one. On the one hand it has a lot going for it: very finely detailed intrigue and smart dialogue, realistic worldbuilding and (bonus) first-person POV from a boy! It’s rare to find one of these in the young adult genre these days.

I love intrigue. No question about it. Always, there is so much at stake and there’s something fascinating in trying to figure out who’s friend and enemy while keeping in mind the grand scheme of things. The False Prince uses this idea incessantly and more than once I had to pause and reevaluate the relationship between characters because the as the story evolved, so did the characters and their relationships with each other.

The little clues peppered throughout the book so that the reader can come to their own conclusion about Sage’s identity are really smart. They’re not altogether subtle but they’re frequent enough that only a dunce wouldn’t be able to figure it out, hence the “big reveal” near the end doesn’t come as a shocker, though it does seem slightly contrived if you think about it later.

On the other hand, the majority of the story is preparing the false princes for the court and I feel less time should have been spent on that and more at the actual court. While this part certainly doesn’t drag because it’s filled with adventure on-the-side, looking back at it now I think it would have been more fitting if those scenes had been cut out to bring the main storyline to the front.

The world we see in The False Prince is the typical European-esque medieval setting seen in most fantasy. Except for the fact there is no fantasy. And that right there has me scratching my head. A labeled map does not fantasy make. Nor does an imaginary world without magic, dragons, witches, fairies, vampires, gracelings etc. If the book had had one of those, I’m sure it would have benefited and convinced me to give it four stars instead of three.

I found Sage to be a very humorous and likeable character who could have been more developed. Even though we live in his head throughout the story, I just couldn’t find myself connecting with him in the way I’ve connected with the characters in my favorite books.

All in all, The False Prince is a good read that is lacking in some aspects but makes up for it in others. It’s not the most amazing story in the universe but I have a feeling it’ll improve with future books which I’ll definitely be picking up.

posted by Natasa-WMYB on April 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    OMG

    Omg I loved this book but WHEN WILL THE NEXT BOOK COME OUT!!!!!! Gosh I wish somebody would tell me!!




    Click *Yes* if you agree with me.

    78 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Outstanding!!

    I have not felt this strongly about a book in a long time. The main character has a great "voice" and I was drawn into the story from the first page. There's a Hunger Games-ish feel to the relationship between the boys as they know only one can be chosen to play the prince - and the others will likely be killed. The story is masterfully put together.

    44 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended!

    The False Prince by Jennifer A. Nielsen is the first book in the middle grade fantasy, The Ascendance Trilogy. The story focuses on Sage. He's a resourceful orphan who is usually up to no good. He catches the eye of Conner, a nobleman, who has taken three boys off the street to try and make them into a 'false prince'. However only one boy will be chosen and the other two will be executed.
    Sage is a great character. He's clever, quick on his feet, and has a good heart. Along with the two other boys, Tobias and Roden, he does his best to be chosen as the long lost prince, Jaron. The boys' relationship is a precarious one at best. They are all in the same boat. This fact alone bonds them to each other and a friendship of sorts develops. Nevertheless they all want to be the chosen one. They are fighting to stay alive and using what ever skills they have to win which means they have to be aggressive and put whatever friendships they have aside. However Sage is astute. He realizes that things are not what they seem.
    This is a great book for middle grade and above. Nielsen writes an intriguing story with lots of twists and turns. I had a hard time distinguishing the good guys from the bad. She doesn't give much away and it left me glued to the pages to find out how it was going to end. I can't say anything bad about this book. This is a fantastic read that I would recommend. I can't wait to read the second book in the trilogy.

    40 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Amymous

    How whats the next book to come out????????




    Hit "yes" if you agree with me.

    29 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    This book was AMAZING

    This book was AMAZING

    23 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Anonymous

    Great book! The author came to my school and it was so fun!

    22 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Great book!!!

    I thought that this book was amazing and read it in less than one day! It has great characters, flaws and all, and a wonderful, interesting, and suspenseful plot with a twist that I absolutly loved.

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    The False prince review

    Sage is a poor orphan saved from his fate by a strange man named Connor. Connor has already collected two (threeish, you'll find out later) other boys, but when he learns of Connor's plan he is shocked. Connor plans to take on of them, and bring them to the royal court as the sole heir to the throne, long-lost Prince Jaron. But Connor isn't the only strange one, Sage is hiding a secret. Who is Sage? You'll find out in, "The False Prince".

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Amazing

    I am not a big reader, but i enjoyed this book very much. I finished the story in 2 days. This story is extremely well written and i cannot wait for the next book.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Myself

    Being the bookworm I am, I state that this book drew me into its devious story and held me captive. The second book, The Runaway King, has come out and I am anxious to be sucked in again. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys an intriguing plot. Sage will surpass all exspectations.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Absolutely Amazing

    This book was well written, had great characterization, and unexpected twists. This is one of the few books that i read in less than a day. The False Prince made its way to number 1 on my list with The Hunger Games in 2. Everybody should read this book at some point in time and i will be waiting desperately for the The Runaway King coming out in 2 more days.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    If you don’t have this book on your to-buy list, I urge yo

    If you don’t have this book on your to-buy list, I urge you to add it. I finished it last night and am so thrilled with the whole story that I have to restrain myself from just writing “awesome” in big, bold letters and calling it a day.
    The first and most important thing in this novel is the protagonist, Sage. He is a perfect example of an unreliable narrator, which is one of my favorite literary devices, and is, generally, one of the most fun protagonists I’ve read about in a long while. He is a fully-fledged character, with all his flaws and virtues. Sometimes I found myself wanting to throttle him, but that’s what makes him such a wonder to read. The rest of the characters are also incredibly amusing, but Sage is the one that grabs and holds on to your attention.
    The plot is an intricately crafted one, clever and full of edge-of-your-seat moments. It is the kind of book you’ll want to read again as soon as you finish it. Trust me on that. The writing is straight forward, allowing Sage’s voice to shine through at its fullest.
    This is one of the best books I’ve read so far this year, so I highly, highly recommend it.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Awesome and DEFINETELY NOT Boring

    This book is one of my favourites ( The others are Harry Potter and Percy Jackson ). There are a lot of Red Herrings and Background stories. I love the fact that it is a cross between Medival Times and The Middle age! This book will keep you on the edge of the cliff. The next books, The Runaway King and The Shadow Throne will amaze you! WARNING: I am not responsible for any depression caused by finishing this Thrilling Triology.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Great

    Please read. Great ending

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Runaway king

    The next book is called the runaway king and i belleive it comes out in the spring i wish it would come out sooner i love this book it is soo good

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Zdabeast

    Starts slow and confusing, gets really good, id give it 4.5/5 but i cant

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    The BEST book evef

    Absolutely amazing. Look no further for the next harry potter! This is what the world needs in its literature!! Filled with intrigue, suspense, and mystery this novel will have you turning pages until the end!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    This book was a joy to read and I will wait breathlessly for the

    This book was a joy to read and I will wait breathlessly for the next two books.
    A young prince dies in a pirate attack, now the rest of his family needs him to be alive. Enter the nefarious man who will find the prince, even if he has to create him. After being taken from orphanages, Sage and three other boys begin being groomed to return as the long-lost prince. Their master expects nothing but complete allegiance and will do whatever it takes to make them toe the line.
    Filled with intrigue, too many villans to count, four charming and scared 14-year old boys, servants, royals, and swordfights, this book will be a favorite of teens and adults alike.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    FUN READING

    This book completely destressed me and made me happy

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Great story that I didn't want to put down.

    Great story that keeps you reading to the end. I bought it for my kids to read, but decided to read it myself on my weekend trip. I am excited for my kids to read it so I can talk to them about it.

    I am also excited for the next book to come out. Hopefully it isn't too long to wait.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13