Customer Reviews for

The False Prince (Ascendance Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 272 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(214)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

87 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

OMG

Omg I loved this book but WHEN WILL THE NEXT BOOK COME OUT!!!!!! Gosh I wish somebody would tell me!! Click *Yes* if you agree with me.

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

!

Too many plot spoilers. They ruin the book. And before some snarky poster pops off 'dont read them' i dont. But i do sight read, and when i have to scroll past looooooong posts i usually end up seeing something that ruins the book. The only resolution is to ban plot spo...
Too many plot spoilers. They ruin the book. And before some snarky poster pops off 'dont read them' i dont. But i do sight read, and when i have to scroll past looooooong posts i usually end up seeing something that ruins the book. The only resolution is to ban plot spoilers from posting their uber long spoilers that reveal every detail of the story.

posted by 8888649 on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    OMG

    Omg I loved this book but WHEN WILL THE NEXT BOOK COME OUT!!!!!! Gosh I wish somebody would tell me!!




    Click *Yes* if you agree with me.

    87 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Great

    Please read. Great ending

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Zdabeast

    Starts slow and confusing, gets really good, id give it 4.5/5 but i cant

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Im still reading this book , its really good.

    Im still reading this book , its really good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Love

    This is a great author, interesting text, with a couple of zingers hidden throughout. Like others I cant wait for the next book to come out I'm already looking forward to next april!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great start to a new series! A book for boys, sure, a

    This is a great start to a new series! A book for boys, sure, a book for the middle grade group, OK; but I’m an adult (and a female) and I loved it. Yes, this is one that I will be pushing on the rest of my family to read. No, it doesn’t have any magic going on, but it does follow the story of a young orphan boy and the trials and tribulations he faces in his life. Sage is definitely the problematic orphan, the one who talks back and does things his way no matter the result, and while that could make a character annoying or despised, these actions make him wonderful and I wanted to know more and more about him.

    The other characters are written so I felt something for them, one way or another. Their personalities were all distinct so there was no confusion on who would do or say what. I didn’t realize upon starting the book that this was the beginning of a series. The book tied up neatly at the end, but I definitely want to continue reading to see more of these characters and what else can happen.

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    Great plot

    The fact that the book created all of these characters, lands, and plot makes you truly feel like you are in the land of Carthya. This book was overall very interesting and fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This book will take you to another world, and you wont put down

    This book will take you to another world, and you wont put down the book until you finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Anonymouse

    Have to read this for BOB in middle school. Hope its good the synopsis and reviews so who knows could be good.


    Ps NO authors have come to my school the author of One for the Murphy's came to my friends school. Wish they wolud

    BTW that book rocks it a heart felt story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    OVERALL: 3 1/2 STARS (but I am putting it on my 4 STAR shelf) S

    OVERALL: 3 1/2 STARS (but I am putting it on my 4 STAR shelf)

    Story/Plot: 3 - I have a confession to make: I have always been a fan of Science Fiction and Fantasy since I was little. Tales by Lloyd Alexander, J.R.R. Tolkien, Piers Anthony, Robin McKinley (my all time favorite author), Mercedes Lackey - to be honest I can write a whole review with just authors names - litter my shelves and are stacked in boxes and holding up the walls of my home. Every year, I re-read "The Lord of the Rings". I cannot help myself, as I get drawn into the amazing worlds fantasy authors write about.

    Now, you might think because I gave this story a lower rating than 4 or 5, I didn't enjoy it. This is not true, especially since you know I measure everything against LOTR, which is a true 5!. I had some issues with the story, BUT, there were slight. I enjoyed the story and it flowed beautifully for the most part. I cannot wait to continue the story of Sage and to see what is going to happen next.

    Re-read Value: 3 - This is a 50/50, but I think it will fall a little more on the positive side of re-reading this story, for two reasons. The first is, I liked this world and wouldn't mind reimmersing myself with it. I will most likely re-read this prior to reading the second book in the series The Runaway King, but I cannot 100% say I will, so I leave it at 50/50. Second, I would highly recommend this to fellow fantasy readers - and shock and amazement - I have both a niece and nephew I plan to tell about this book. I never recommend a book I wouldn't mind re-reading or consider a really nice relaxing read.

    Continue Series: 4 - Yes. I do plan to continue the series. I have to admit it might take a while for me to get to it with my ever growing TBR list, but I am adding the next book in the series, The Runaway King to my TBR shelves as soon as I finish this review.

    Characters: 4 - I enjoyed Sage the lead protagonist in this series very much. Without dropping the ever present SPOILERS, I have to admit I wanted to give this rating a 3, but I am sure Ms. Nielsen will have the characters grow over the series and some of the things that bugged me will be ironed out.

    Cover: 5 - Well, you see the cover, right? It is a good cover for this book and this series in general. I also feel the fantasy vibe - yes, I am not an idiot and can read the word "Prince" on the cover *sigh* - when I look at it, so I know what to expect from this book just from the cover.

    Genre Fulfillment: 4 - This IS a fantasy novel, so yes. Could there are have been MORE in the book, yes. But, this is a first book in this series and it is an introduction - and as I admitted above, my standards for a "true" fantasy novel are pretty steep though. So forgive me.

    Personal Involvement: 4 - As I mentioned throughout this review, I love fantasy novels. I find for me, they are like getting into your worn and tatty clothes, you know the ones you never wear in public? It's like coming home, but each world is different - even when they are similar. The characters are similar to old friends welcoming you back, even if it's your first time reading this book or this author. There are times when you're reading you just slip right into the world and The False Prince was one of these for me. I will admit I recently read another book I had such high promises for and I struggled through the whole book and the only enjoyment I had was getting to the last page and promising myself I would not continue the next book. I mention that because I felt the exact opposite while reading this book and when I finished it, I said to myself "What's going to happen now?!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have started a new job.  The commute is about 20 minutes one w

    I have started a new job.  The commute is about 20 minutes one way.  What better time to start listening to a book on CD?!!!

    My 12 year old daughter read The False Prince this summer and loved it.  So I started with it.  The beginning was a little hard, I found it a bit slow.  However, once the story got going it was exciting and I wanted to take extra drives so I could listen to the book.  

    The story was new to me.  I didn't know what was going to come next.  I liked the plot twists.  I admit I was not a fan of the main character.  I have a hard time understanding him and why he behaves the way he does.  He makes me anxious.  Although somehow I am still routing for him.

    There is a sequel to this book called The Runaway King.  I plan on listening to it next.  Bring on the commute!

    Warnings: Murder, torture

    I would let both my 12 and 15 year old daughters read this book.  As stated before, my 12 year old recommended the book to me.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Well written and it keeps you guessing

    This book benefits from an unreliable narrator. Basically, the boy LIES lol You will often find some small pieces of time unaccounted for, or find him struggling with things he was confident about. That is because there's more going on than you think, so sit back and enjoy being fooled- because no one outwits The False Prince!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    From the thumbs of 13 year old girl

    This book is historical fiction, which i usuallly dont read, and there is no romance in it which is like two strike against it. But it redeems itself with its witty main character and many twists in the plot with lots of action. Though it could use a love interest, which it looked like one was forming but nothing happened, overall it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    A great & surprising read-

    The story pulls you in quickly and has a nice pace. The end has some unexpected twists. I would recomnend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    I so often blow through book after book and then eagerly pick up

    I so often blow through book after book and then eagerly pick up the next book as if my hunger is rarely satisfied, but this was definitely a delightful surprise to read that is guarenteed to satisfy! I really enjoyed the twists and turns Jennifer Nielsen took with the characters and the plot in The False Prince: Book 1 of the Ascendance Trilogy: Book 1 of the Ascendance Trilogy. She took you to a whole other world and kept feeding your interest the entire time. The character development throughout the book of each and every single one of the characters gave me enough to root for some, hate others and feel crest fallen when they made decisions that I wished they hadn't made but knew that if this was real life, the characters would have done the same even still.

    We follow quick-witted Sage, an orphan boy who is picked out by nobleman, Connor for a potential "false" Prince along with three other boys that might pass as the missing real Prince Jaron and then to use as a puppet for his own advantage since the royal family has all been murdered besides this once-thought-dead missing Prince.  This is a tale of missing princes, unexpected friendships and revelations!  This fast-paced, thrilling book is a must have for your kindle or book shelf!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What a refreshing fantasy book.  Yes, it follows the pattern of

    What a refreshing fantasy book.  Yes, it follows the pattern of traditional fantasy but it didn't take itself too seriously.  There was a lot of humor and wit.  The very best part of this book is the anti-hero, Sage.  He had every characteristic that a hero shouldn't have.  And somehow they all came in handy. He was very much a young Han Solo that lived in a kingdom instead of a galaxy far, far away.  Sage's character contrasted so well with Tobias, who seemed like the kind of character that would have been the hero in most other fantasy books.  Sage is the most well-written character I've read in a long time.  Just when you can't take any more snark or cheek from him, he shows an incredibly human side. I adored his character.




    Honestly, I saw the end coming.  The plot seemed somewhat predictable which I usually frown upon, but I still enjoyed the story a lot mainly because of Sage and how utterly fascinating he is.  I found as the story came to the end, it had a beautiful, bittersweet tone to it that I wasn't expecting.




    Another thing I found quite intriguing was the theme about our expectations of people based on how we label them.  Do we see certain characteristics as virtues or vices because of the label we've given them?




    I also loved the little ways that it reminded me of Annie, Aladdin and Pirates of the Caribbean like in the opening scene where Sage is running through the streets being chased by guards because he stole some meat.




    Overall, though it had a slightly predictable plot, it was a sensational and entertaining fantasy book with a stunning main character that you shouldn't miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Good

    An interesting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    I enjoyed this book a lot! Nielsens main character, Sage, is tou

    I enjoyed this book a lot! Nielsens main character, Sage, is tough, feisty, and very fun to root for. Even though the situations he is placed in are dangerous, his sense of humor lightens even the story's darkest moments. Sage is an orphan who, along with a handful of other boys, is rounded up by one of his country's top officials. His apparent savior's goal? To turn one of the boys into an impostor who will convince a nation that he is its long-lost prince, and to... ahem... dispose of the boys who aren't suitable for the task. Sage must do whatever it takes to win, and you'll very much enjoy the journey with him. Nielsen's writing is lively and engaging, and I stayed interested in the book all the way through. False Prince was definitely good enough to make me want to read the next volume in the series, and is the kind of book that just about anyone could enjoy. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Originally posted at DJ's Book Corner This book caught me off g

    Originally posted at DJ's Book Corner

    This book caught me off guard with how good it was. I'll admit, though the cover and the word "Prince" are what caught my attention, I really didn't have high expectations for it. I'm happy to say, I was proven very wrong. Nielsen's writing style was simplistic, yet engaging, and even though there wasn't a lot of action, the plot didn't drag to the point where I had to stop reading or anything. I actually couldn't stop reading!
    The False Prince was all about intrigue and less about swashbuckling action and adventure. Yes, there was some short (very short) action scenes, but the mystery and scandal are what carried this book. In most cases, this would annoy me to no end. I mean, what's a fantasy book without the adventure? But in this instance, the suspense as to the outcome of Conner's plan was almost too much to bear, and I forgot they weren't really doing much of anything. 
    Although I loved Sage's character, he drove me crazy sometimes. He was just so hard-headed and defiant and sometimes I wished he would just bow down and shut up. But I also respected his character for his mutinous attitude towards everything. He wasn't afraid to ask questions and if the answers weren't to his liking, he found different questions to ask or he sought out new answers. He was a trickster and a thief, and those had to be his most fun qualities to see explored throughout the story. Overall, he was a great main character who I became completely invested in, and actually came to care about. The other characters like Conner (the "villain"), Tobias and Roden (the other orphans), and Mott (Conner's servant), were all good supporting characters, but I didn't like any of them as much as Sage.
    The last third of this book was like WOAH. There is a plot twist that I didn't see coming and was psyched up about when it did. It was brilliantly integrated into the story, and looking back, there were tiny clues (very tiny) and things that happened that alluded to this outcome. But you won't notice any of them until you're already getting slapped in the face with the truth!
    I adored this book and read it in like a day. I can't wait to get my hands on The Runaway King (Ascendence Trilogy #2) because I've heard some great things about it. Definitely a fan of this trilogy and I'm excited to see how it all ends!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Excellent

    Excellent character. The buildup in suspense was handled very well, and I liked that the main character's secret was even kept from the reader even though we are in his head. Very much like The Queen's Thief series which I also enjoyed a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2