Customer Reviews for

False Witness

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    A legal thriller! Randy Singer has provided yet another fantast

    A legal thriller!

    Randy Singer has provided yet another fantastic legal thriller.  Clark Shealy is given 48 hours to save his wife's life by finding and providing an Indian professor, but not just any Indian professor-the one who is in possession of the Abacus Algorithm. Now four years later Jamie Brock is in law school and volunteers at a legal aid clinic and she gets the biggest client of her young career, none other then Mr. & Mrs. Shealy.  Who are both alive and well at the moment but on the run for their lives.  When Jamie and her classmates agree to help they are drawn into the intricate web of which person to trust with which secret.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    interesting

    Interesting and suspenseful. Full of surprises. Gets a little gruesome at one point, but nothing too descriptive. Sometimes hard to understand how certain parts of the story help contribute. The story jumps around a little.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Government Thriller With A Legal Flavor

    Randy Singer in his book "False Witness" published by Tyndale House Publishers gives us a thriller with an international flavor.

    The plot of "False Witness" revolves around an unimaginably valuable code, the Abacus Algorithm, which could unlock all existing Internet security systems. The creators want to sell it to an internet firm but both the Chines and U.S. Governments want it for themselves. The Chinese kidnap the wife of bounty hunter Clarke Shealy and force him to go and find the code and its author. The first part of this book is about Shealy and his hunt to get his wife back. The second part focuses on three law students and their professor as they stumble upon a couple in the witness protection program who need their help. From here the action flows intensely and it comes to a showdown at the end.

    In "False Witness" Randy Singer weaves together a government thriller with a legal flavor. This book is entertaining and will have you flipping pages as fast as you can read but, be prepared, it is also thought-provoking and will show you why truth is always the best option and a false witness is not. I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Randy Singer is an excellent writer and knows how to twist your nerve endings as he tightens the suspense. I recommend this book highly!

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What would you do for justice?

    FALSE WITNESS By Randy Singer What would you do if you had the world's most powerful algorithm? Would you use it? Would you sell it? Or would you give it away? Professor Dagan develops the Abacus Algorithm which can determine large prime numbers in a matter of minutes rather than in years. He wants to sell it and use the proceeds to help the underground church in China. What follows is a tangled web of lies, kidnappings, murder, torture, and subterfuge. Caught up in this web are three college students - Jamie Brock, Isaiah Haywood, and Wellington Farnsworth. And they are out of their element and out of their league, especially when danger lands on their doorstep. Who will survive the deadly will survive the deadly struggle between the U.S. Government and the Chinese mafia over an encrypted algorithm? When the time for answers comes will the truth come out or will a false witness step forward? False Witness is a thrilling read that shows a shady underside of life that each person must ask themselves, ''Would I be willing to do that if it was me?'' The answer if given truthfully will reveal something of yourself to yourself. What will you do for justice? I did not care for the death of Jamie's dog Snowball, that was my one big problem with the book. But otherwise it was very well written and interest grabbing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    A Masterful Legal Thriller!

    Wow, wow and wow! False Witness by Randy Singer is such a great read! Randy Singer is a great storyteller, weaving a suspense, legal thriller with truths about God and the Bible. This book is so good! Okay, I'm raving here and I haven't even talked about the actual story yet. So here it goes. Professor Kumari, an Indian Math professor and a computer genius, had cracked the code to break the world wide web's security with his Abacus Algorithm. Along with his protege, Rajat, they try to sell the algorithm to a conglomeration of top global encryption companies. They planned to use the money from the sale to build more schools for the Dalit children in India. Unknown to the two of them, the buyers whom they thought represented the conglomeration were actually members of the Chinese mafia sent to acquire the algorithm at all cost. Rajat is killed in the meeting and Professor Kumari goes into hiding. Clark and Jessica Shealy are bounty hunters and con artists. By kidnapping Jessica, the Chinese mafia forces her husband, Clark to search for Kumari. Clark finds the professor and is struck by his calm demeanor. Together they devise a plan to rescue Jessica. Jamie Brock, a law student working at their university's legal aid clinic, meets her new client, David Hoffman. David Hoffman comes in with a case of impersonating a police officer and disturbing the peace. She takes on the case not knowing that she will soon be involved in something deeper and darker than she first thought. Something that could also cost her her life. MY THOUGHTS As you can read on the first paragraph, I really, really love this book. I think Randy Singer is a master at what he does - telling a great story while expertly weaving it with the truths of God's word. From the very first page, the story moves with dynamic speed up to its explosive ending. The characters are well-developed. I got to know each character very well and there's no question to me as to the motives of their actions. The plot is very interesting and there were no boring moments within the story. A very, very great read! False Witness by Randy Singer is definitely worth your money and time. Disclosure: I received a digital edition of this book through Net Galley and B&B Media in exchange for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A review by Free Book Reviews

    I absolutely did not want to put this down. Randy Singer takes you on a wild ride of deceit, greed and good hearted people. You will spend the entire novel trying to figure out who is deceiving who and who is the good guy and sometimes that line is very blurred. If you like thriller author such as Tom Clancy or James Patterson you will love this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Thriller!

    'False Witness' was suspenseful and intriguing. The fact that if the 'Abacus Algorithm' really did exist, Internet security would be non-existent was a scary thought. There were so many interesting characters in 'False Witness', from Professor Dagan, who discovered the algorithm - that is the 'key to every lock', to bounty-hunter/repo artist Clark Shealy (a.k.a. David Hoffman), to the ambitious law students Isaiah, Jamie, and Wellington. When Clark goes to arrest a highly wanted man, he instead finds out that he has been double-crossed and gets knocked out. When he wakes up, he learns that his wife was abducted by the Chinese Mafia! They give him an ultimatum: locate and bring Professor Dagan to them within 48 hours. If he fails to do so, they will start torturing his wife. Until he had actually captured Dagan, Clark hadn't thought twice about the ethics of exchanging Dagan for Jessica. The only question had been how to do it. - Page 71 What I didn't like about 'False Witness' was how some chapters ended suddenly and the next chapter didn't continue on where the last one left off. And at one point the book jumped ahead 4 years. I was relatively surprised by how much I liked 'False Witness', because the last book I was reading by Randy Singer, I didn't enjoy that much. The concept that there could be this algorithm that could cripple the Internet, fascinated me. But the fact that the mob wanted it SO much that they kidnapped Clark's wife and demanded him to bring Dagan to them, added a lot suspense and tension, making 'False Witness' (at times) hard to put down. I found Jamie's story really sad, what happened to her and the reasons why were so unnecessary and mean (I'm not going to say what happened because that would give too much away). I enjoyed Wellington's character. He's was so smart, yet he didn't gloat about it - in fact he was somewhat shy. All in all, I really enjoyed 'False Witness'! I would recommend this if you enjoy suspense books or legal thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    False Witness-my review

    Clark Shealy and his wife Jessica are a repo team. Johnny Chin (a member of the Chinese Mafia), has a preference for blondes. Foul play is suspected when Jessica disappears suddenly.
    David Hoffman, part of the witness protection program, is also in the repo business. He is in violation of felonies and in court is represented by a team of law students, Jamie Brock, Isaiah Haywood and Davon Jones. The law students soon find out that what is at stake is more dangerous than they realized.
    A nonstop action novel that includes courtroom drama makes for an easy flowing book! The scene and dialogue work and the reader will be thrust into a novel with many twists and turns. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Epic Thriller

    Clark Shealy is a bail bondsman. One day, his wife Jessica is kidnapped by Chinese mafia. They demand that he find Indian mathematician Professor Kumari who has created the Abacus Algorithm that is so powerful it can crack all Internet encryption. If he doesn't find Kumari within 48 hours, his wife will be tortured and killed. Four years pass. Law student Jamie Brock is working in her school's legal aid clinic when a client, David Hoffman, strolls in with a case. It is all routine, until she and her colleagues learns that David and his wife, Stacie, is part of the government's witness protection program. The Chinese mafia are hunting them down for the encrypted algorithm which is supposedly in their possession. The federal government refuses to help. Sandwiched in the middle is Jamie and her colleagues. They must do all it takes not only to help protect the Hoffmans, but also the powerful and dangerous algorithm as well. False Witness is thick with actions. After all, what more can you expect from a book with federal agents, Chinese mafia and a powerful algorithm in it? Right from page 1, I was captivated by the story and could barely put the book down until I finished it. This book isn't a leisure read. It has violence (which was necessary, in my opinion), twists, turns and an unexpected ending. The characters - the law students, David and Stacie Hoffman, the federal agents, and the Chinese mafia - each have their own agendas. All of them are determined to carry out their agendas. But at the end of the day, only the true witnesses will be successful. Upon completing the book, I remembered a saying by Nollie ten Boom (Corrie ten Boom's sister): God honors truth-telling with perfect protection. After all the twists and turns in the book, the story returns to the theme of a false witness. Indeed, it is shown that God honors truth-telling with perfect protection. A thing I particularly like about False Witness is that it touches on a controversial issue. It shows a side of the federal government most Americans are not aware of. Overall, False Witness is a mesmerizing thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat with its thick action-filled plots and heavy suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Page-turning Legal Suspense at its best!

    I loved this book the first time it came out. So when I learned about the re-issue, I was curious to see if I'd notice any changes or if anything major would change. Instead, even though I'd read the book before, I found myself pulled into the plot as if I read it for the first time. Randy Singer is a master craftsman -- he creates plots that have the pacing of the Bourne Identity while being set in the legal environment. This book is really two stories that intertwine seamlessly. Clark, the protagonist in the first part is a guy who is forced to do things no one would want to in an effort to get his wife back from the Chinese mafia. Then the heroes in the next section are three mismatched law students. Boy, did I root for them as they were up against horrible odds. This is the kind of story where every time you assume the worse thing that can happen has, you learn in another few pages you were wrong. And the story twists literally to the last page. Even though I'd read it before, I could barely keep up with all the changes. A perfectly plotted legal suspense! I can't wait for the next Randy Singer novel to release!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Unpredictable & captivating!

    Normally I am drawn to chic-lit, but I decided to step out of my box and read something different when I picked up this book. Not expecting to like it, I told myself I'd read the first 2 chapters and then decide whether to continue or not. I was captivated with the first chapter! Clarke and Jessica were not exactly 'good guys' but I was immedeiately endeared to them as well as to Professor Dagan. Wondering just how far he would press the limits, it was intriguing that Clarke had to consider just how far he would go to save her life after her kidnapping. At first, my heart soared that he would do ANYTHING for her, but then I also found myself wrestling along with him as he dealt with the challenges of his conscience. Despite his deep love, there were limits. His love for her was heart-warming. This book could have been 2 separate novels in a series. I thoroughly enjoyed this gripping, suspenseful story with its unpredictable twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Unpredictable and Captivating!

    Normally I am drawn to chic-lit, but I decided to step out of my box and read something different when I picked up this book. Not expecting to like it, I told myself I'd read the first 2 chapters and then decide whether to continue or not. I was captivated with the first chapter! Clarke and Jessica were not exactly 'good guys' but I was immedeiately endeared to them as well as to Professor Dagan. Wondering just how far he would press the limits, it was intriguing that Clarke had to consider just how far he would go to save her life after her kidnapping. At first, my heart soared that he would do ANYTHING for her, but then I also found myself wrestling along with him as he dealt with the challenges of his conscience. Despite his deep love, there were limits. His love for her was heart-warming. This book could have been 2 separate novels in a series. I thoroughly enjoyed this gripping, suspenseful story with its unpredictable twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Thrilling

    "False Witness" is full of action and suspense, it has all the components of an intriguing legal thriller...mafia, FBI, attorneys, bounty hunters.

    I found it to be an intriguing book. The story starts with a deal being made to sell the coveted algorithm that would change the internet. In comes a bounty hunter whose wife is in jeopardy, and then the team of legal aides. The way Singer brings these brilliant characters together and reveals the reason the algorithm was created is amazing.

    Corruption is prevalent, sometimes people aren't what they profess to be. An exciting and biblical tale that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    You won't want to put this one down!

    Professor Wang Dagan has created the abacus algorithm, a mathematical formula that has the power to cripple the internet. The Chinese mafia gets wind of its existence, and will do anything to get ahold of it. They kidnap Jessica Shealy, wife of bounty hunter Clark Shealy, in order to force Clark to track down Dagan and the algorithm. The Shealys are able to escape, but are forced to go into witness protection. Enter Jamie Brock, Isaiah Haywood, and Wellington Farnsworth, all law students working at a legal aid clinic. The Shealys approach them with an interesting request. What will happen to the Shealys and the algorithm? What happens to Wang Dagan? I can't go into a lot of detail on this book, because too much of the plot would be given away.

    I did struggle with the intense violence in the beginning of the book. A less sensitive person may not be bothered by it, but I had a hard time not squirming in my seat at certain parts. However, I was intrigued by the age old struggle between good and evil that was represented in this book. I found myself asking myself how far I would go to protect someone I loved. Would I inflict violence on someone else? How much worth can you place on each life - is it okay to torture and kill someone in order to save another? The author did not create a Christian character in Clark Shealy. His character did have some morals, because he did experience some hesitation before the violence. But it made me wonder how differently the story would have turned out had Shealy been a Christian.

    I highly recommend this book that I could barely put down!

    **After note: I wrote this review, then went to post it on Amazon. Curious about what others had to say, I read through some of the reviews and was confused when I saw some reviews that talked about the book's treatment of the Indian Dalit Untouchables. It made me wonder if I had read the same book as them. Then I discovered that the new Tyndale edition had been revised. Professor Dagan was now Professor Kumari, and the Chinese Underground Church was now the Dalits, the lowest caste in Indian society. It doesn't appear that the storyline was changed any more than that. I do wish that I had known of these changes before I read the original, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Book of intrigue and suspense

    Randy Singer's False Witness was a fascinating book of intrigue dealing with the creation of new identities for those in the witness protection program. A question which arises is whom you can really trust in the process. If they are willing to deceive others in creating this new identity, how far would they bend the truth in other situations?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Epic - A must read

    False Witness is a trilling novel. It has you on the edge of your seat wondering what will happen next. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    have to pay attention with this one!

    This was my first read by Singer. I've heard he's a good writer so I was excited to be able to review one of his books. At first, I had a hard time understanding where the story was going - it's definitely a book you have to pay attention to. While reading it, I kept thinking if it were a movie. At times, things were happening so quickly it was hard to keep up. Overall, it was a good read. I didn't see some of the twists and some I did see coming but I definitely want to read another of Singer's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Fantastic!!!

    Fantastic! False Witness by Randy Singer is absolutely fantastic!!! I wasn't sure what to expect when I started reading, but the story immediately gripped me and I have been reading furiously ever since! Much like John Grisham, Randy Singer weaves an incredible tale in this legal thriller. I kept trying to figure out how things connected, who did what, where the connections were between seemingly unrelated characters (or sections of the book!), which characters were good guys and which were bad guys. It wasn't until the end that I finally started figuring some things out. A book that keeps me guessing until the end is certainly a winner!

    I won't go into the details of the plot because I don't want to give too much away. I will say though that there is an emphasis on the Christian church in India, persecution of believers, and ministry to Dalit children (those in the "untouchable" caste) which was an added bonus! Proceeds from this book are being donated to Dalit Freedom Network, which provides a first-class education to Dalit children and helps them escape from human trafficking.

    I think you will love this book if you like suspense, thrillers, and legal novels!

    Note: This is a repackaged and updated version of a 2003 release by the same title.

    I received a free copy of this book from The B&B Media Group in exchange for my fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Exciting!

    Awesome book. I couldn't put it down. A very exciting fast paced story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Thrilling legal novel with plenty of twists

    False Witness by Randy Singer is an update of the writer's Christian legal fiction novel about the witness protection program. The book is told in two parts. In the first, Clark Shealy is just an everyday guy trying to make a buck working as a bounty hunter when his wife, Jessica, is kidnapped by the Chinese mafia and he is ordered to find a mysterious Indian man who has a mathematical formula that could rock the world. Clark's life is turned upside down and he discovers things he didn't know he was capable of in his quest to rescue the woman he loves. The second part of the novel picks up four years later with three law students who are hired by a mysterious couple to help them renegotiate their terms in the witness protection program after someone leaks their new identities to their old enemies. Singer puts some crack the whip turns here, surprising the reader at nearly every turn. There is some brutal violence, but the crux of the story is about faith and trust. Who can we trust? How far would you go for the ones you love? And what does God excuse in extreme circumstances. There are double crosses on top of double crosses and never a boring moment. My only regret about this book was that Singer didn't use these characters again. Maybe with the rerelease of this novel, he finally will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2