Customer Reviews for

False Witness

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What would you do for justice?

    FALSE WITNESS By Randy Singer What would you do if you had the world's most powerful algorithm? Would you use it? Would you sell it? Or would you give it away? Professor Dagan develops the Abacus Algorithm which can determine large prime numbers in a matter of minutes rather than in years. He wants to sell it and use the proceeds to help the underground church in China. What follows is a tangled web of lies, kidnappings, murder, torture, and subterfuge. Caught up in this web are three college students - Jamie Brock, Isaiah Haywood, and Wellington Farnsworth. And they are out of their element and out of their league, especially when danger lands on their doorstep. Who will survive the deadly will survive the deadly struggle between the U.S. Government and the Chinese mafia over an encrypted algorithm? When the time for answers comes will the truth come out or will a false witness step forward? False Witness is a thrilling read that shows a shady underside of life that each person must ask themselves, ''Would I be willing to do that if it was me?'' The answer if given truthfully will reveal something of yourself to yourself. What will you do for justice? I did not care for the death of Jamie's dog Snowball, that was my one big problem with the book. But otherwise it was very well written and interest grabbing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Thriller!

    'False Witness' was suspenseful and intriguing. The fact that if the 'Abacus Algorithm' really did exist, Internet security would be non-existent was a scary thought. There were so many interesting characters in 'False Witness', from Professor Dagan, who discovered the algorithm - that is the 'key to every lock', to bounty-hunter/repo artist Clark Shealy (a.k.a. David Hoffman), to the ambitious law students Isaiah, Jamie, and Wellington. When Clark goes to arrest a highly wanted man, he instead finds out that he has been double-crossed and gets knocked out. When he wakes up, he learns that his wife was abducted by the Chinese Mafia! They give him an ultimatum: locate and bring Professor Dagan to them within 48 hours. If he fails to do so, they will start torturing his wife. Until he had actually captured Dagan, Clark hadn't thought twice about the ethics of exchanging Dagan for Jessica. The only question had been how to do it. - Page 71 What I didn't like about 'False Witness' was how some chapters ended suddenly and the next chapter didn't continue on where the last one left off. And at one point the book jumped ahead 4 years. I was relatively surprised by how much I liked 'False Witness', because the last book I was reading by Randy Singer, I didn't enjoy that much. The concept that there could be this algorithm that could cripple the Internet, fascinated me. But the fact that the mob wanted it SO much that they kidnapped Clark's wife and demanded him to bring Dagan to them, added a lot suspense and tension, making 'False Witness' (at times) hard to put down. I found Jamie's story really sad, what happened to her and the reasons why were so unnecessary and mean (I'm not going to say what happened because that would give too much away). I enjoyed Wellington's character. He's was so smart, yet he didn't gloat about it - in fact he was somewhat shy. All in all, I really enjoyed 'False Witness'! I would recommend this if you enjoy suspense books or legal thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    False Witness-my review

    Clark Shealy and his wife Jessica are a repo team. Johnny Chin (a member of the Chinese Mafia), has a preference for blondes. Foul play is suspected when Jessica disappears suddenly.
    David Hoffman, part of the witness protection program, is also in the repo business. He is in violation of felonies and in court is represented by a team of law students, Jamie Brock, Isaiah Haywood and Davon Jones. The law students soon find out that what is at stake is more dangerous than they realized.
    A nonstop action novel that includes courtroom drama makes for an easy flowing book! The scene and dialogue work and the reader will be thrust into a novel with many twists and turns. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Book of intrigue and suspense

    Randy Singer's False Witness was a fascinating book of intrigue dealing with the creation of new identities for those in the witness protection program. A question which arises is whom you can really trust in the process. If they are willing to deceive others in creating this new identity, how far would they bend the truth in other situations?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Thrilling legal novel with plenty of twists

    False Witness by Randy Singer is an update of the writer's Christian legal fiction novel about the witness protection program. The book is told in two parts. In the first, Clark Shealy is just an everyday guy trying to make a buck working as a bounty hunter when his wife, Jessica, is kidnapped by the Chinese mafia and he is ordered to find a mysterious Indian man who has a mathematical formula that could rock the world. Clark's life is turned upside down and he discovers things he didn't know he was capable of in his quest to rescue the woman he loves. The second part of the novel picks up four years later with three law students who are hired by a mysterious couple to help them renegotiate their terms in the witness protection program after someone leaks their new identities to their old enemies. Singer puts some crack the whip turns here, surprising the reader at nearly every turn. There is some brutal violence, but the crux of the story is about faith and trust. Who can we trust? How far would you go for the ones you love? And what does God excuse in extreme circumstances. There are double crosses on top of double crosses and never a boring moment. My only regret about this book was that Singer didn't use these characters again. Maybe with the rerelease of this novel, he finally will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Who Can They Trust?

    Randy Singer's book, False Witness, starts out with the gritty, hard scenes of a bail bondsman's detective work. It's raw, it's real, and it's believable, especially when we find out the Chinese mafia are involved. Clark Shealy is the bail bondsman doing the detective work, and the bond is the release of his wife after he finds the abacus algorithm and the Indian Professor, Kumari, who created it.

    Four years later in the time warp of the book, the story turns into a legal thriller when three young law students, Jamie Brock, Isaiah Haywood, and Wellington Farnsworth, under the tutelage of Professor Walter Snead, are approached by David Hoffman in the legal aid clinic for the poor who need representation. Hoffman and his wife, Stacie, are in the witness protection program, and are accused of endangering national security by the government as they have possession of the algorithm and won't hand it over to them. So now the FBI and the Chinese mafia are threatening them.

    Some, as did I, may recognize parts of this book from a previous writing with the same title. However, this new version appropriates the original plan Randy Singer had in regards to the Dalits ministry. The greater portion of the book has such substantial changes that it will pique your interests in the typical manner of Singer's books.

    The legal thriller portion of False Witness will have you gripping your seats, as the pace and twists of the scenarios turn in rapid succession, with ever-increasing danger. The palpable danger of each character is just as raw, real and believable as the detective portion of the book. Randy reaches into the psyches of the law students, as they feel like they are out of their realm, not knowing who to trust. It reaches into your own emotions and fears. The faith of Jamie and Stacie helps keep them stable through prayer, trusting that all will turn out in God's way and timing, and that Professor Kumari's wish will be upheld.

    As usual, you will find the ending to be as astonishing as his others books. You still won't know who is telling the truth or who can be trusted. It's just the nature of the FBI beast. But it will still bring you back to reading his next book regardless. It's what makes for a Randy Singer book!

    This book was provided by Audra Jennings, Senor Media Specialist, The B&B Media Group, in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.

    All profits from False Witness will be donated to the Dalit Freedom Network, which works to provide Dalit children a first-class education and free them from the bondage of human trafficking. For more information about the Dalit Freedom Network, visit here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    You won't want to put this one down

    Author Randy Singer has been called the Christian John Grisham. He lives up to this moniker in his new release, False Witness. Clark Shealy and his wife Jessica are professional bounty hunters. Repossessions and chasing down men and women who skipped out on bail are a way of life for the two. Then one day, during what should have been a routine pick-up, the rug is pulled out from under Clark. He is hired to track down an elusive professor for the ultimate price: the life of his wife. Using his limited resources and connections, Clark is in a race against time, a race which can only end in death. The question is: whose? Fast forward four years. Third year law students Jamie Brock and Isaiah Haywood spend part of their time working for a free legal aid clinic. Each are approached by clients with a hidden past and a perilous future. Who are these clients? Who betrayed them? and just as important Who is after them? The course Jamie and Isaiah start will take them (and the readers) on a dangerous adventure. At the heart of the matter lies a seemingly impossible math equation with unprecedented value. The federal government, the Chinese mafia, the witness protection program and a law professor with a checkered past all play roles in this must read thriller. False Witness was previously released under the same name several years ago. This new (and improved?) version includes changes geared at bringing a certain group of people to the minds of his readers: the Dalits of India, the lowest in an unofficial caste system. Just as his some of his characters do, Mr. Singer is seeking to aid these people with profits from sales of False Witness. Included in the book is information pertaining to the Dalits and their situation, as well as ways in which to help. False Witness is a legal thriller with a subtle, yet present religious overtone. The nature of the book goes a long way to prove that a good story can be accomplished and published without the usual coarse language and sex present in most popular thrillers of today. Readers will also appreciate the fact that at the end of the book no questions are left remaining, no loose ends are overlooked. The story is complete, and readers will find themselves waiting in anticipation for Singer's next release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting and fast paced

    I enjoyed this book, stayed up most of the night to read it. It was fast paced although I did not care for the graphicness of the torture scenes even though most of them were what Clark was imagining in the first part. I also didn't feel that the first part moved smoothly into the second part. There was quite a jump from the bounty hunter's life to the law students' lives. Other than those 2 problems I enjoyed the book. The good guys weren't necessarily good and the bad guys were totally bad. I questioned the idea that a Chinese Triad would hire some Russian mafia thugs but I suppose this could happen. They just didn't seem to mesh. This Christian suspense novel did not preach, the characters had basic real life decisions between good, bad, and different shades of grey. I did learn some background things about the Dalit children and the persecution of Christians in India that surprised me. It was helping these children that motivated Professor Kumari and kept the bounty hunter and his wife involved in the algorithm case. The three law students were so different that I am looking forward to meeting them in another book with more character development. I could visualize them as legal aid volunteers encountering the rather mundane routine paper work that is it's prime occupation and their frustration with how the courts and the police worked in real life as opposed to TV land.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1