Customer Reviews for

False Witness

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 34 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    A Twisting Thrill Ride

    Oh what a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive. That was my thought as I finished this whirlwind twister of a book! The book begins with the story of a man, Clark Shealy, whose job requires him to push the limits of legality in order for the good to overcome the bad in the world. He is good at his job-too good in fact and that draws the attention of some very bad men who kidnap Clark's wife in order to make him do their bidding. Before he knows it, Clark is in over his head and is forced to go against everything he believes in to save his wife. During the second part of the book we are introduced to three law students, a former trial lawyer who is now their professor, several FBI agents, and the Chinese mafia, as well as the Shealy's with their new identities under the witness protection program. Thus begins the weaving of the tangled web I mentioned earlier.

    There was nothing I didn't love about this book. It was very fast paced and kept me riveted and guessing to the very end. One scene would play out only to reveal later that it didn't happen that way at all. Trust was built and then broken to the point that I felt betrayed myself by some of the characters, and was left wondering who could be trusted. Many thoughts of government corruption were addressed that you don't want to believe but deep down you know really exist. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Who Can They Trust?

    Randy Singer's book, False Witness, starts out with the gritty, hard scenes of a bail bondsman's detective work. It's raw, it's real, and it's believable, especially when we find out the Chinese mafia are involved. Clark Shealy is the bail bondsman doing the detective work, and the bond is the release of his wife after he finds the abacus algorithm and the Indian Professor, Kumari, who created it.

    Four years later in the time warp of the book, the story turns into a legal thriller when three young law students, Jamie Brock, Isaiah Haywood, and Wellington Farnsworth, under the tutelage of Professor Walter Snead, are approached by David Hoffman in the legal aid clinic for the poor who need representation. Hoffman and his wife, Stacie, are in the witness protection program, and are accused of endangering national security by the government as they have possession of the algorithm and won't hand it over to them. So now the FBI and the Chinese mafia are threatening them.

    Some, as did I, may recognize parts of this book from a previous writing with the same title. However, this new version appropriates the original plan Randy Singer had in regards to the Dalits ministry. The greater portion of the book has such substantial changes that it will pique your interests in the typical manner of Singer's books.

    The legal thriller portion of False Witness will have you gripping your seats, as the pace and twists of the scenarios turn in rapid succession, with ever-increasing danger. The palpable danger of each character is just as raw, real and believable as the detective portion of the book. Randy reaches into the psyches of the law students, as they feel like they are out of their realm, not knowing who to trust. It reaches into your own emotions and fears. The faith of Jamie and Stacie helps keep them stable through prayer, trusting that all will turn out in God's way and timing, and that Professor Kumari's wish will be upheld.

    As usual, you will find the ending to be as astonishing as his others books. You still won't know who is telling the truth or who can be trusted. It's just the nature of the FBI beast. But it will still bring you back to reading his next book regardless. It's what makes for a Randy Singer book!

    This book was provided by Audra Jennings, Senor Media Specialist, The B&B Media Group, in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.

    All profits from False Witness will be donated to the Dalit Freedom Network, which works to provide Dalit children a first-class education and free them from the bondage of human trafficking. For more information about the Dalit Freedom Network, visit here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    An Awesome Political Thriller!

    This is the first book I have read by Randy Singer, and, wow, is it an awesome thriller! I loved every second I spent in this book, breathlessly reading and unable to stop. (And, yes, it is now a favorite thriller!) I was a bit confused how this book would be, since the synopsis has Clark going through something, and then Jamie goes through another thing four years later. I didn't understand how the time-lapse would work into the story, so just decided to start reading. And I am glad I did! It all made sense in the end and made for a totally awesome book!

    There are many characters in this book and Randy brought each of them to life through his book. Clark and Jessica were amazingly strong people. I can't imagine going through what those two did. And seeing the love they had for each other was very sweet. My heart bled for Clark as he tried to rescue Jessica because the mafia could bring her harm. That first part of the book was so intense! And when Jamie entered the picture with her law student peers, Isaiah and Wellington, the plot continued to thicken and build. Jamie was fun to get to know and I liked her strengths and independence. Isaiah was just plain cool! He was one of my favorites. All the characters in False Witness were amazing and unforgettable.

    If you didn't know, suspense/thrillers are my all-time favorite genre. So I love a plot that will take me for crazy spins, unexpected turns, keeping me on the edge of my seat, and my fingers gripping the pages. And that is what I found in False Witness. The plot was amazing. I haven't read a book before about people going through the Witness Protection Program, so really enjoyed that angle and what it added to the story. Randy did his homework on this book and it shows in every aspect of this plot. There is a lot of violence and torture in this book, so younger teen readers might not be comfortable with that--which is pretty heavy in this book from blowing out kneecaps to threatening to do surgery on a victim without any pain medication. I didn't find this a problem for me, but others might.

    Randy's writing style is unique and vivid. There wasn't as much dialog and a lot of telling. I like books with a lot of dialog and more showing, but this is the author's style. And the adventures and peril that the characters went through-and the awesome time I had just reading the book-made me not even notice it after a while, I was so caught up in the story!

    What else can I say about this amazing book? It was just awesome! This is the first book I have read by him, and it will not be my last. He is an author worth looking out for as he continues to write. And when I flipped through the last few pages at the back of the book after I finished the story, I was ecstatic to find out that Jamie Brock's story will continue in The Last Plea Bargain that comes out next year. How cool! I loved getting to know Jamie and, hopefully, I will get to know more about Isaiah and Wellington as well! False Witness is a rip-roaring adventure that you need to experience! I highly recommend it!

    I reviewed this book for the B&B Media Group. Special thanks to Audra Jennings for sending me a review copy. It was not required that I give a positive review, but solely to express my own thoughts and opinions of this book, which I have done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best Thrill Ride I've Been On This Year!

    If someone you loved was taken from you, how far would you be willing to go to get them back unharmed?

    Would you be willing to do whatever it takes even if it means breaking the law, lying, cheating, blackmail, and even taking someone's life?

    Clark Shealy is a bail bondsman/bounty hunter, who finds out himself just far anyone would go, when his wife it kidnapped. The Manchurian Triad, one of the biggest Mafia organizations in China has kidnapped his wife and will begin removing her teeth without anesthesia in 48 hours unless he can locate Professor Kumari and return him to them.

    It seems Professor Kumari has been able to develop a mathematical formula known as the Abacus Algorithm, which can decode any number into it's two primes. This is priceless because all internet security is based on deciphering prime numbers as the key to unlock any website. They call it the key to unlock all keys.

    Only these men will stop at nothing until they get their hands on this formula. When he pushed to his limits, Clark will know just how far he will go to risk getting his wife back. Will he be able to locate the professor in time before the torture of his wife begins? Or will he use his skills to locate those that are holding his wife and enact his own form of revenge on those he holds responsible?

    In the latest suspense thriller, False Witness by Randy Singer, the reader is faced with a fast-paced, adrenaline pumping, non-stop thrill ride from the first page. This has to be one of the best suspense fiction books I have read in quite some time. For readers that enjoy those unpredictable suspense thrill rides in reading, then this is just the book for you. Hands down it rates a 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to see what else this author has up his writing sleeve in the future.

    I received this book, compliments of B & B Media Group for my honest review and LOVED every single page!!! Like a combination of Mission Impossible and Die Hard, this one will keep your heart pounding and your pulse racing. You'll need a road map just to figure out all the twists and turns in this one, you didn't see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Loved this book!

    Is the book worth taking the time to read? My answer is a resounding, yes! The tagline for the book hints at the secrets in this fascinating story: "The government can change an identity, but it cannot change a life."

    The action centers around bail bondsman Clark Shealy, his wife Jessica, and law student Jamie Brock. These characters are brought together by Clark's association with a brilliant Indian Christian man, who created a powerful equation called the Abacus Algorithm. Federal agents and the Chinese Mafia also have a strong interest in the equation. The novel is part thriller and part courtroom drama with the deeper issues of faith, such as, Christian ethics, true justice, and mercy, thrown into the mix.

    As a reader, I really appreciated how Randy Singer took a Grisham-esque plot and invested it with Christian characters whose choices reflect eternal values. And I loved seeing people of faith face down realistic contemporary villains with strength of purpose and hope for the future. False Witness and Randy Singer are high on my list of favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    You won't want to put this one down

    Author Randy Singer has been called the Christian John Grisham. He lives up to this moniker in his new release, False Witness. Clark Shealy and his wife Jessica are professional bounty hunters. Repossessions and chasing down men and women who skipped out on bail are a way of life for the two. Then one day, during what should have been a routine pick-up, the rug is pulled out from under Clark. He is hired to track down an elusive professor for the ultimate price: the life of his wife. Using his limited resources and connections, Clark is in a race against time, a race which can only end in death. The question is: whose? Fast forward four years. Third year law students Jamie Brock and Isaiah Haywood spend part of their time working for a free legal aid clinic. Each are approached by clients with a hidden past and a perilous future. Who are these clients? Who betrayed them? and just as important Who is after them? The course Jamie and Isaiah start will take them (and the readers) on a dangerous adventure. At the heart of the matter lies a seemingly impossible math equation with unprecedented value. The federal government, the Chinese mafia, the witness protection program and a law professor with a checkered past all play roles in this must read thriller. False Witness was previously released under the same name several years ago. This new (and improved?) version includes changes geared at bringing a certain group of people to the minds of his readers: the Dalits of India, the lowest in an unofficial caste system. Just as his some of his characters do, Mr. Singer is seeking to aid these people with profits from sales of False Witness. Included in the book is information pertaining to the Dalits and their situation, as well as ways in which to help. False Witness is a legal thriller with a subtle, yet present religious overtone. The nature of the book goes a long way to prove that a good story can be accomplished and published without the usual coarse language and sex present in most popular thrillers of today. Readers will also appreciate the fact that at the end of the book no questions are left remaining, no loose ends are overlooked. The story is complete, and readers will find themselves waiting in anticipation for Singer's next release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting and fast paced

    I enjoyed this book, stayed up most of the night to read it. It was fast paced although I did not care for the graphicness of the torture scenes even though most of them were what Clark was imagining in the first part. I also didn't feel that the first part moved smoothly into the second part. There was quite a jump from the bounty hunter's life to the law students' lives. Other than those 2 problems I enjoyed the book. The good guys weren't necessarily good and the bad guys were totally bad. I questioned the idea that a Chinese Triad would hire some Russian mafia thugs but I suppose this could happen. They just didn't seem to mesh. This Christian suspense novel did not preach, the characters had basic real life decisions between good, bad, and different shades of grey. I did learn some background things about the Dalit children and the persecution of Christians in India that surprised me. It was helping these children that motivated Professor Kumari and kept the bounty hunter and his wife involved in the algorithm case. The three law students were so different that I am looking forward to meeting them in another book with more character development. I could visualize them as legal aid volunteers encountering the rather mundane routine paper work that is it's prime occupation and their frustration with how the courts and the police worked in real life as opposed to TV land.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    False Witness by Randy Singer ~ book review

    That was the problem with the witness protection program. To convict the Satans of the underworld, you had to hold your nose and cut deals with Satan's demons. ~ False Witness

    False Witness by Randy Singer was originally published on June 28, 2007. Because of the many recent historical events and advances in technology, the author believed it was necessary to make substantial changes. False Witness is a Christian version of the best James Bond movie and John Gresham novel all rolled into one book. I could not put this book down. With twists and turns sharper than a mountain road, the author grips the reader with a skillful mix of faith, suspense, legal drama, and grit. The story line is so fantastic that you'll need to remind yourself to breathe!

    Clark Shealy is a bail bondsman when his wife, Jessica, is kidnapped by the Chinese mafia. He has forty-eight hours to find an Indian, Professor Kumari, now pastor among the Dalit's, India's lowest caste, who has invented the Abacus Algorithm - an equation so powerful it could crack all internet encryption. Should this code fall into the wrong hands, all privacy would be gone forever.

    Four years later, a law student, Jaime Brock, is working in legal aid when a routine case takes a vicious twist: she learn that her new clients, David and Stacie Hoffman, are members of the witness protection program, and have the algorithm. When Jaime is kidnapped, the couple are on the run again from federal agents and the Chinese mafia, who both know the formula's power and will do anything to get it. But Professor Kumari hid the code so deeply, in the most unlikely place. Based on an event in the author's life, the best line and theme of this book is this statement. "The government can give you a new identity. But only Christ can change your life. "

    This book brought many moral questions while reading.

    ?Is torture acceptable when trying to gain information to save another's life?
    ?How much should the government know about our personal lives?
    ?Is it acceptable to lie to promote the greater good?
    ?Could we be doing more to physically and spiritually help those who are in slavery around the world?
    A few years back, the author developed a new passion, He went on a trip to India and met the Dalits, saw firsthand the oppression, and was astonished by the fact that the world's largest democracy was also a breeding ground for the world's largest human-trafficking operations, that exploit 15 million children in bond labor, prostitution, and other forms of slavery. Pastor, author, and attorney Randy Singer, is donating all royalties of this book to the Dalit Freedom Network, which works to provide Dalit children a first-class education and free them from the bondage of human trafficking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An incredible action-packed thriller

    The CEO wanted the algorithm that will change the Internet especially if it is exclusively sold to him for about $50 million. Professor Dagan watched via computer from his apartment as his protégé Chow Zhang completed the negotiations.The other side, once they were assured only two people had seen the formula, abruptly ended the deal by killing Zhang.

    After a failed repro in Vegas followed by a drugging, bounty hunter Clarke Shealy receives a portentous call from the Chinese; they allow his beloved wife Jess to come on, but she begins to mention a name so he hears what he knows is bone on bone. He is warned to do their bidding in a timely manner if he wants his wife returned alive. They order him to locate a vanished Chinese mathematician, who created an algorithm that will change Internet protocol.

    The above two paragraphs are only the first third of an incredible action-packed thriller that proves Christian action tales can be exciting and inspirational without being intrusive. The story line starts with the deal, switches to Clarke's frantic efforts to rescue Jess, and finally changes into a legal thriller starring a professor and his three legal aid students. The two key elements are the switchovers are so smooth that the audience will realize how good Randy Singer is and the invocation of Christianity is lightly fitted into the plot without slowing down anything. This reprint of a 2007 tale is especially timely as the Federal and State governments debate ripping Grand Canyon holes into the safety net. Fans regardless of faith will sing the praises of the author.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    This is a thriller!

    I could not put this book down. Not only was it a thriller it hooked me from the very beginning. The story line had me focused and kept me wanting more. I can't wait to read all of the titles by this incredible author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Thriller fans regardless of faith will sing the praises of the author

    The CEO wanted the algorithm that will change the Internet especially if it is exclusively sold to him for about $50 million. Professor Dagan watched via computer from his apartment as his protégé Chow Zhang completed the negotiations. Only the other side, once they were assured only two people had seen the formula, abruptly ended the deal by killing Zhang.------------- After a failed repro in Vegas followed by a drugging, bounty hunter Clarke Shealy receives a portentous call from the Chinese they allow his beloved wife Jess to come on, but she begins to mention a name so he hears what he knows is bone on bone. He is warned to do their bidding in a timely manner if he wants his wife returned alive. They order him to locate a vanished Chinese mathematician, who created an algorithm that will change Internet protocol.------------------ The above two paragraphs are only the first third of an incredible action-packed thriller that proves Christian action tales can be exciting and inspirational, yet not biblical and without being intrusive. The story line starts with the deal, switches to Clarke¿s frantic efforts to rescue Jess, and finally changes into a legal thriller starring a professor and his three legal aid students. The two key elements are the switchovers are so smooth that the audience will realize how good Randy Singer is and the invocation of Christianity is lightly fitted into the plot without slowing down anything. Thriller fans regardless of faith will sing the praises of the author.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 34 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2