Customer Reviews for

The Familiars (Familiars Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(199)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

49 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

A Fantastic Adventure For Boys and Girls!

My daughter picked this out when she saw the cover - she enjoys The Warriors and Harry Potter - and we read the book together over the course of several evenings. We absolutely loved it. But to my surprise, my 11 year old son, who isn't much of a reader, "borrowed" the ...
My daughter picked this out when she saw the cover - she enjoys The Warriors and Harry Potter - and we read the book together over the course of several evenings. We absolutely loved it. But to my surprise, my 11 year old son, who isn't much of a reader, "borrowed" the book when we were finished and read it himself in a few nights! I can see why it appealed to both of them - there's lots of humor, great action and adventure, and in this parent's opinion, some excellent lessons as well (friendship, loyalty, believing in oneself). I know this family is eagerly looking forward to the next book in the series.

posted by thefantaseer on October 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Um

I think it was a little boring in the middle, but it was good everywhere else

posted by 7638883 on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 199 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    A Fantastic Adventure For Boys and Girls!

    My daughter picked this out when she saw the cover - she enjoys The Warriors and Harry Potter - and we read the book together over the course of several evenings. We absolutely loved it. But to my surprise, my 11 year old son, who isn't much of a reader, "borrowed" the book when we were finished and read it himself in a few nights! I can see why it appealed to both of them - there's lots of humor, great action and adventure, and in this parent's opinion, some excellent lessons as well (friendship, loyalty, believing in oneself). I know this family is eagerly looking forward to the next book in the series.

    49 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    The Familiars

    The Familiars was a very good book. I read it before I got my NookColor. It's about a stray alley cat who find himself getting chased there and doing magic here. First, he is a sneaky alley cat. Then he finds himself getting chased into a very weird lookig pet shop. Then he gets adoped and soon find himself away from home. He gets new magical friends and soon find their selfs saving their new home. Will just a regular alley cat save his magical home? Read this book to find out...

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    KIDS WILL LOVE THIS BOOK

    heck, I love it and im twelve years old! trust me, this is an EPIC book. and there is a movie coming out!

    21 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Loved it

    If you are looking for a magical fable about adventure,freindship, and loyalty, then the familliars is your book.
    I have read it once and liked it so much it is my new fave book

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    4th Grade Teacher Highly Recommends

    My school librarian suggested this as a read-aloud for my class of 4th graders, and my kids were hooked from the opening chapter. You know it's a good sign when they beg and plead with you to put off a history or science lesson to keep reading. They hardly ever do that (maybe once, when I read them Percy Jackson). This is a really fun story about the magical animal companions to wizards and witches -- think Hedwig from Harry Potter on an adventure of his own. Here, we follow Aldwyn, an orphan alley cat who gets mistaken as a familiar and has to pretend to have magical powers. He's a great character, scrappy and clever. There's also the comic relief, Gilbert, and the smart know-it-all Skylar (for the girls). I recommend to teachers and parents with reluctant readers, as this is a sure pleaser.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great read for all ages

    I’d have to say this is one of the best Middle Grade novels I have ever read so far. Not only does it provide a very interesting and different point of view (this book focuses on familiars, not the magic users), but the book also provides illustrations - which were well done and nice to look at to provide a good visual picture for the story. I absolutely loved the plot. From the start of the book you could already tell this was going to be a book filled with adventure and action. This is definitely a book that you won’t stop reading until you are done. The bits of humor also makes this book a great light read (Gilbert happens to be the great comic relief in this book) for readers of all ages (but mostly geared towards younger readers). I thought it was an interesting and different approach to have the story told through the point of view of the familiars and not the magic casters - which is what is usually seen throughout fantasy books. The magic system is simple and easy to understand but it’s also interesting to see the Familiars themselves also having to cast and deal with magic as well. I loved the characters in this book! Aldwyn of course, is my particular favorite because of his underdog status and he’s a great character overall. The Familiars themselves are great characters and are fun to read. Gilbert is there for the comic relief, and Skylar - she can be annoying, but she’s also quite intelligent and has her uses throughout the book. What stands out is Aldwyn and his clever ways to attempt to pretend he’s a magical familiar, although this does have serious consequences, you’ll find it only gets better as Aldwyn finds his true talent deep within. I am definitely going to get the second book of this series. There’s lot of questions that haven’t been answered and there is so much more to look forward to! It’s really not until the final chapters of the book where the real plot was just about to begin. Yes, you were taken on a journey with three Familiars, but that was just a great big introduction to what looks like a very interesting storyline. This was a wonderful read, geared towards children, yet I think it’s a fun read for adults as well. Filled with lots of action, fun, you’ll find it’s a great read for those that want a light fantasy, with no complicated plot hooks, magic systems, and worlds. It’s a light fast read that will keep you turning the pages, and wanting to look forward to the next book in this series.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    This book was cool!!!!

    I thought that this was an interesting book and also could not stop reading it! I reccomend this for people who love adventure and animals

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Great read

    Always hooked me and could never put the book down!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Great read

    A cat a bird a frog and one big quest

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    GREATEST BOOK EVER! I have never read a book this far! I ABSOLUT

    GREATEST BOOK EVER! I have never read a book this far! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS BOOK! OMG! GREATSY GREAT GREAT. GET THIS BOOK NOW ! IF YOU'R NOT GETTING THIS BOOK ................................................................................................................................................................................................ YOU NEED TO NOW! GET IT! GET IT! GET IT! GET IT! GET IT NOW!THIS IS THE GREATEST BOOK EVER!JUST GET THIS BOOK! YOU"LL BE WANTING TO GET ALL OF THESE BOOKS!I GIVE THIS BOOK 5 STARS! IF I COULD PUT INFINITY STARS I WOULD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Harry Potter with animals

    I love this book. I know there's a sequel but I couldn't find it in my library. I read it because I love Harry Potter and fantasy. It is definately a book I would reccommend, so if your reading this and haven't read it BUY IT NOW!!!!!!! It's not as good as Harry Potter or the Hunger Games but it's still really good!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Awesome

    Love it i would recommend it!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    PLEASE READ IT NOW!!!

    So....... I'm sorry to say i am still reading it but its super cute and very enjoyable!!!! You should read it

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    The best book EVER!!!!!!!

    This book is about a cat that becomes a familar accidentaly. He really dosent have any powers. He goes on an epic journey. That is the best book ever

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    love it

    it is filled with humor and action

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    My son loved it!!

    I picked up this book for my almost 8 year old son because it was long (voracious reader)and was about animals. He devoured it in two days!! He absolutely loves this book and can't wait for the next one to come. Think I may have read it mself now...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    I heard it's going to be a 3D animated movie

    I saw that this was being made into a movie by a Pixar director and the guy who made Spider-Man so I picked it up. It was a very cool story. Kind of like that movie How to Train Your Dragon but with these three animals who have magic talents. I really liked the cat, Aldwyn. He's just an ordinary alley cat, but he pretends he has telekinesis. There's a lot of action and some really funny parts too. I can't wait to see the movie. I love anything in 3D.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    read this in one day

    I got this book and started reading it when I got home from bookstore. I went to my bedroom and couldn't put it down. My mom had to bring me lunch because I wouldn't come out of my room. I ended up finishing it by dinner. It was so good. I loved Skylar. She's a really really smart blue jay who can cast illusions and knows about tons of stuff. And Gilbert it really funny too. I liked how all the familiars worked together as a team and became friends. I hope there's a second book because I would read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Make a movie!!!!!!!!

    Suriously

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    To wow blew my mind.

    Hey I read your review and you and me are reading the same books I am on the 2nd book of the "Warriers" series. I have read all of the "Familiars" series. I KNOW there is another one coming out it is going to be the 5th one. I think that is the one where Aldwyn finds his sister Yeardly. I can't wait to know what it is like to know Aldwyn has been reunited with Yeardly. Isn't it wierd that Aldwyn can read minds AND is telekinetic? But still I love the "Warriers" series almost as much as I love the "Familiars" series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 199 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10